We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Placid Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Placid Bay Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Seminole
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a great place to stay when visiting Lake Placid! The room was spotlessly clean. The bed was VERY comfortable. The water pressure in the shower was good. There was always plenty of hot water. TV reception was great. The staff was over the top nice and responsive.

We really enjoyed sitting on the dock each evening after a long day of hiking. The friendly ducks were the icing on the cake. If we visit this area again, I will rebook at Placid Bay Inn without any hesitation.

If I had to come up with any negative comment at all, it would be the relatively weak wifi signal. Sometimes it was fine, other times, it was barely usable. Though, I wasn't too bothered by this since I was here to get away, not be "connected". It's hardly even worth mentioning but wanted to make sure my review was objective.

Just a note to travelers to the area AT&T has very spotty coverage in the High Peaks area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms clean and confortable. We are working on the wi-fi problem, but getting tech people to show up in the north country can sometimes be a challenge. Thank you again for all the positive things you had to say about our Inn. I hope we can see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    95
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
81
174
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Searched B&B's and this is not. My bad for trusting a search to tripadvisor. The "Lakeside with Fireplace" gives the impression that it is actually lakeside. Well, its not. Maybe lake facing but separated by a pool, or "The Mallard" cottage which is the only lakeside spot here. Sights are ruined by small windows (talking 4 x 4 when an 8 x 4 would fit). Bed has a horrible sway in the middle. The staff is over the top nice which saved the rating from being a 1.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, and the nice things you had to say about the staff. I'm very sorry you thought we were a B&B, which we are not. Trip Advisor put us in the B&B/Inns category because we do not have a 24 hour front desk person. I have called and written and spoken to a representative numerous times about this, but they refuse to create a category for smaller properties that are not B&B's. They justify it by saying, "The category says B&B and INNS. Next time please go to a property's individual web site. Our site has numerous photos of all the rooms, and cottages, and no where does it show a restaurant, or menu for any kind of food, or state we are a B&B.
The room you were in is 75 feet from the Lake, and the one window is 6' X 5' and the other window that adjoins that is 3' X 5'. We have a very large backyard with Adirondack chairs for lounging by the Lake with beautiful views of Whiteface Mt., which you can also see from the room you were in. We have flower gardens every where to enhance the views, and make things nice for our visitors. I'm sorry I truly do not understand the comment about the bed. The bed is a top of the line ($2,000) Serta Beauty Rest pillowtop firm king bed that is only 3 months old. It is a softer sleep, but should not have a "sway". We have numerous customers that email us asking where we got the bed, because they loved the sleep quality. Maybe you are used to or like a firmer bed. I am truly sorry that your weekend getaway was spoiled because you were looking for a B&B, and you didn't get what you were looking for. I will take the time this weekend, and write something in our description on Trip Advisor stating- "We are not a B&B," so that others are not "mislead" by the category they put smaller properties in. Thank you again for staying with us, and if you need assistance finding a B&B in Lake Placid, just give us a call, and we will give you some names.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My girlfriend (now fiance) and I were the last guests to be arriving at Placid Bay Inn on Thursday, June 19, 2014 and were addressed by our names upon arrival which gave me a good impression right from the start of our stay. After talking with the very nice lady at the front desk, we went up to our room (16) and were surprised at how nice and clean it was. Also, the view of Whiteface Mountain from our room rendered us nearly speechless. Besides the view, one of our favorite parts of our stay was the free use of Placid Bay Inn's canoes; we used them every chance we got. I was sad to say goodbye to Placid Bay Inn, but I know we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 16 has the best view of Whiteface Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. I checked you in on Thurs. and was happy you arrived while it was still light enough to see our tranquil backyard and the view of Whiteface Mountain. We are delighted to hear about your engagement!! We look forward to having you back as our repeat guests; its guests like you and your fiance that make our "job" so enjoyable and rewarding! Thank you for sharing your glowing review with everyone!- Tyra Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Denise the owner is so friendly and will answer any questions you have and give you pointers where to eat!! She runs a great business but treats you like a family member at the same time!!
The room we stayed in had a king size bed and was VERY clean!!!!
The property itself is manicured to perfection and the Adirondack chairs on the docks are great to sit in and enjoy a beverage or two while gazing at Whiteface or watching the ducks and geese.
I can honestly say this is a great place to stay and I highly recommend it !!!

Room Tip: any room is great just pick one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luand2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you had such an enjoyable stay and got a chance to take in the peace and quiet of the backyard, down by the lake- its definately my favorite way to start and end my day:) WE look forward to having you visit us again and enjoy our property and Lake Placid. All our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Lake Placid was our final stop after 3 weeks on the road, driving from Ontario to Newfoundland, and back. We spent 2 nights at Placid Bay Inn with the specific intent of climbing Mount Marcy and drinking some local beer. The hotel was simply meant to be a place to sleep. As it turns out it was much nicer than expected, and the perfect distance from the main strip: the walk from dinner to the room was just enough to get the digestion started.
Walk-in closet, kitchenette, roomy bathroom and powerful A/C system were all welcome perks. Staff was friendly, and room was clean. My only (and admittedly trivial) complaint is that the wifi was spotty: signal did not reach all parts of the room. We did not take advantage of the grounds or included canoe access, maybe next time when we have more time :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank addicted2palm_trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and writing a review. I hope you will be able to return sometime to enjoy lounging in an Adirondack chair by the Lake and taking in the beautiful views of Whiteface Mountain. Canoeing on Lake Placid can be a wonderful experience, too. We truly appreciate your kind words, and you letting us know how you enjoyed your stay. We have a couple of rooms that the wi-fi is not as strong, and we are working to address that. Thank you, again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We rolled into Lake Placid around 6pm one night and chose the Placid Bay Inn. A great choice! Tyra was very nice and set us up with a 2nd floor room with a view of the water and the mountains. We stayed for two nights and it was very comfortable, quiet and a nice location (about a mile from the main drag). You can borrow a canoe or just sit outside on chairs by the water and relax. Tyra was fun to talk to and also gave us some good advice on what to do (and what to stay away from). We definitely recommend staying here and glad we did.

Room Tip: We had room 12, 2nd floor. Water and mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We are so glad you decided to stay at Placid Bay Inn, and greatly appreciate your taking the time to write a review. I am also happy to hear that Tyra was helpful during your stay. We are about 1/4 of a mile from downtown Main St. and a mile to the Olympic Arena. After a big dinner, it may seem like a mile to Main St. :-) Again thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The owner and her daughter are very helpful and provided good tips (Denise found us a good restaurant where we could bring our own wine), the hotel was clean (we took the room 16, queen bed & lake view), located in a perfect area. Good service, we recommend it.

Room Tip: The room 16 was just big enough. The hotel owner said there were bigger rooms... according to me sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Manager at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We are so happy to read your quick trip to Lake Placid was enjoyable. We look forward to having you back as our repeat guests and will most certainly have even more tips for your next adventure in the Ad'ks:) Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. Till next time, all our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#25 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Placid Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Placid Bay Inn

Property: Placid Bay Inn
Address: 2187 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1182
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Placid Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adirondack ambiance surrounds you in our picturesque Inn located right on Placid Lake with magnificent views of Whiteface Mt. Relax in a comfortably appointed room, suite or cottage. We have updated & remodeled our accommodations including: upscale towels, bedding, and bathrooms, many with deep soaking tubs. Our Inn offers free Wi-Fi, canoes, outdoor pool, and Adirondack chairs for lounging by the Lake. Enjoy a leisurely stroll to downtown shops & restaurants. Visit our web site for details on our numerous year-round packages and online reservations.Please Note: We are a small hotel not a B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Placid Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Placid Bay Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing