We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Resort Overlooking The Town and Lake.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delightful Resort Overlooking The Town and Lake.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

For nearly 15 years we have stayed at this hotel and feel it is a home away from home. Our room was clean and pleasant, great view from the balcony and food was good. We have found the staff to be friendly and the environment very pleasant. Love the Great Room as always. I recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway or a chance to recharge your energy or for a business meeting destination.

Room Tip: 3rd floor with balcony-- the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busteron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesseQuonce, Media Director at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you very much for your continued patronage! We are pleased to hear such terrific compliments. In the future, I hope we can continue to provide the high level of service and satisfaction you’ve experienced these past fifteen years. Thank you again from everyone at the Crowne Plaza Lake Placid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    481
    200
    63
    26
See reviews for
421
493
15
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Would not reccomend staying here. Very expensive for just a room. Pool was ok, hot tub was not worth chanhing into a suit for. Service was terrible - staff was not helpful, nor outgoing. Room was clean and the view was magnifficent. many other nice hotels with great views to chose from. Suggest staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesseQuonce, Media Director at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thank you for your honest review of your stay this September. I am sorry you did not find our hotel to your liking. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and will use some of the feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. I hope you will consider us again when in Lake Placid. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Eleven of us (variety of ages) went to Lake Placid and had three rooms at the Crowne. We all agreed we'd stay here again. The rooms were clean and very nice looking. They had a little fridge which is always helpful. I would stay here for the view alone. Make sure you get a lakeview. I would have been happy simply sitting on the balcony all day. The lounges/lobbies are all beautiful too. The pool/hot tub were great. The hotel is right on the main street, so you can simply walk to most things. I suggest grabbing lunch and bringing it back and eating it on your balcony or at one of the tables out front. The breakfast buffet was fair. That would be my only complaint. Great value for such a gorgeous place. Would post pix, but it's not working.

Room Tip: Ask for lakeview. We were on floor 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaltimoreBigmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesseQuonce, Media Director at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thank you very much for the complimentary review. I am glad your group enjoyed their stay in our beautiful Lakeview Rooms. We appreciate the kind words about our rooms, views, balconies, and location. We very much look forward to hosting your group again. Thank you for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We recently visited the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club in Lake Placid. Overall, we thought the hotel was very good - walking distance to town, lovely view, clean, nice breakfast buffet, indoor pool, and lake access (via shuttle). Most staff we dealt with were very nice, however Isaiah's consistently rude treatment will forever taint my (and my family's) opinion of the hotel. Sorry, too many other choices to come back to your hotel where we don't feel welcome...

Room Tip: Ask for room with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToVacation67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesseQuonce, Media Director at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thank you for writing about your recent stay, and pointing out some of the finer points of our hotel. I am sorry you had a bad experience with one of our staff. Providing a positive experience for our guests is our goal, but we do appreciate feedback when we hit bumps in the road. I hope you will reconsider and stay with us again in the future. Thank you for the honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

My wife and I decided we needed a getaway for a couple of days and we had not been to Lake Placid for quite a few years! My wife Karen discovered your amazing golf package on line and we readily booked it. this whole experience was truly amazing! Upon arrival the friendly and courteous front desk staff set the mood for the rest of the visit! First of all we had stayed in the Holiday Inn before and the transformation was breathtaking. We stayed in the back part of the hotel and the balcony view was spectalular, the room was comfortable, modern and far exceeded our expectations for the the price That was just the beginning. We had dinner in the great room, Mary Quinn and her staff especially Ali and bartender Phil are some of your greatest assets, they truly made us hate to leave and eagerly look forward to returning soon. We played the mountain course for golf it was changelling yet fun and the golf package was a phenomenal deal! I could go on but this was truly an experience we will remember for ever Thank you,
,

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calaway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesseQuonce, Media Director at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thank you for choosing a play and stay golf package for your last-minute getaway. I love your choice of adjectives: amazing, courteous, breathtaking, spectacular, phenomenal; I couldn’t have described our hill-top location better myself! Your compliments of our staff are greatly appreciated, and I will be sure they are shared with management. We are grateful for your return to us, thanks for keeping us in mind. I hope you can stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Checked in close to 5pm and my pregnant fiancé noticed several clumps of hair in the washroom floor (yes clumps). We then passed by the front desk prior to dinner at 6:40pm and informed the front desk clerk (who seemed annoyed) but did say someone would be right up to clean it. Returned from dinner and these same clumps were still there. *** took several pictures w/ my blackberry and plan on emailing them to IHG this week***

Returned to see the same clerk, and explained to the gentleman I am dealing with an upset pregnant gal who expects, at the minimum, a clean bathroom, to which he rudely replied "well what do you want me to do about it?" At this point, I actually considered leaving and returning home. If am being charged over 200$ for one night, the least I could reasonably expect is a clean room without the attitude. I plainly told him to either have the room cleaned or to give us a new one (which we did). However, maybe it was his way of getting back as us, or just for his own amusement, but he gave us a room right at the end of the hall *** Good job in making an 8 month of pregnant lady walk down a long hallway at 9pm Crown Plaza***

We knew going in the Crown Plaza LP listed a 3 ½ star, but the least you’d expect is a clean room and friendly front desk.

I only have 2 regrets about this experience: 1- I didn’t book it through my company travel department because then I’d have someone to yell at and 2- I didn’t stay somewhere else. .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CandiacJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesseQuonce, Media Director at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
I am sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. At the family owned and operated Crowne Plaza Resort - Lake Placid, it is our goal to provide an outstanding experience for our guests. In this case, it sounds like we did not accomplish our goal. I can assure you that these occurrences are not the norm of our hotel, and will be heavily scrutinized by management and ownership. I apologize for the troubles you experienced during your stay. Thank you for your candor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We were looking for a modern, clean, centrally located hotel and this hotel was ideal. We had a mountain view room and were happy with not having to pay extra for a lakeview, as we didn't spend much time in the hotel room. The view of the ski jumps and the mountains was just as pretty as lakeview. The swimming pool is a great feature. Pool area is bright and clean and there wasn't an overwhelming smell of chlorine, as some other reviewers have complained. The restaurant in the Great Room has beautiful woodwork and a nice stone, wood-burning fireplace. Wait staff are friendly and provide fast service. We had two meals, a lunch and dinner, in the restaurant and both were very good and not overpriced.
The front desk staff very kindly reimbursed us for the first of our 4 reserved nights due to travel delays from Hurricane Irene. The housekeeping staff were friendly and cheerful. The room was spotless.

Room Tip: If you reserve online call to confirm accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodirox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesseQuonce, Media Director at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for your complimentary review. I am sorry to hear that you had to reduce the length of your stay with us, due to Hurricane Irene. However, it sounds like you had a wonderful time, and enjoyed your Mountain View room. Thank you again for the kind words, I hope you can stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.8 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Property: Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing