We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lounge was great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Lounge was great”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Stopped by after a day of touring. Staff was great and view amazing. Drink priced well at 13.50 for 2 drinks. Staff was fun and even let us borrow a firelog for our condo! Nice spot and great lounge. Not sure why I have to write 200 hundred characters.....but regardless was good. Didnt stay here - pool looked nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryCari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our great room. It sounds like you were staying in one of our 3 bedroom condos or our 3 bedroom Grandview Cottage. I was glad to hear that we were able to assist in getting your fire started as well as providing you a great experience in our Great Room. The name is a wonderful description of that area as it offers some of the finest views in Lake Placid and the ambiance in the room gives off a wonderful and relaxing atmosphere. Thanks again for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    488
    207
    63
    28
See reviews for
429
506
15
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I was surprised with a last-minute trip to Lake Placid the weekend after Thanksgiving. With no pre-planning, we pulled up to the Crowne Plaza. It was obvious there was a hockey tournament going on in town, so we were expecting to hear that there weren't any available rooms. We were pleasantly surprised to get one, on the lakeside, with an absolutely gorgeous view. Yes, there were hockey kids and their families at the hotel... but it was all good. It was nice to be able to walk down to the shops. Definitely an awesome stay - I would absolutely go back there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaM3741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Thank you for joining us over the Thanksgiving Holiday. We are glad that you stopped in and stayed with us. I love your picture from your lakeview room and we are hoping to get more of that wonderful snow that you have pictured here in the near future! We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This was our 1st stay here. For the positive - Hotel is cozy & rustic. Room decor feels a little 'old', but it's not offensive, because it fits in with the 'cozy' feeling of the hotel. Front desk staff & bartenders are very pleasant. Towels are plentiful & thick. Lots of pillows on the bed. Location is ideal - situated on a steep rise that overlooks Main St. It's a great location to wander down to the boutiques & restaurants on Main St for a fun day of shopping. No need to get in a car. Also, dogs are welcome!! And, for the outdoor crowd, this is a great base for day hikes - lots of trails nearby.
For the less than positive - the Lake Placid Hockey Center is next door, so if there is a children's hockey tournament, the hotel will be filled with excited, rambunctious kids (read, screaming, running halls, etc). Not sure where the parents were at 2 am while these behaviors continued, which makes for an unsettled night; especially if your dog views these behaviors as a threat. We planned to stay 3 nights, but checked out a day early, so we could get home to get a peaceful night's rest. I do recommend this hotel, with the caveat that you check if there is a children's event taking place at the Skate Center next store. We plan to return at a time when there are no events at the Skate Center.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view or you might look out over the roof to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
I would like to that you for staying with us for your first time here and your wonderful comments about parts of your stay at our recently awarded Torchbearer Resort. We were recognized as one of the top 5 Crowne Plazas in the US in terms of overall satisfaction. I apologize for kids running around that late at night and we have 2 employees that roam the halls during these times to try to make sure that all kids are in bed.
Please give me a call to book your next reservation so that I can make sure that we exceed all of your expectations. 518-523-2556, Ext 498 or ask for Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This was our second stay at this Hotel, becuse the views from any room are good. The rooms at the front of the Hotel will give you the view of the Lake and Mountains, plus you get a balcony. You also see Mountains from the back rooms, which is fine. If you like excersize, the walk down the steep driveway to the main street, will look after that for you. The Bar and Dinning room are great, as well as all the staff. If you like to ski, the season starts at around Thanksgiving. We had snow during our stay, the first week of November. We will be back, but this time it will be in the summer, to enjoy all the activities that are available.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the Hotel are the best, to see the Lake, Mountains, and the main street, plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thank you for staying with us for your second stay and thanks for the detailed review of your stay. Whiteface Mountain will be open on Friday, November 23rd for the season. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

This is a good property to stay at while in Lake Placid. It sits on a hill and has great views of the area. We enjoyed sitting outside the lounge at all times of the day and night, very relaxing. Parking was further away than I prefer. If you walk to town climbing back up the big hill can be painful; we saw people of all ages stopping to rest on the way up.

Room Tip: Get a room with balcony on the lake side - you can't really lose but the first floor seems too l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GulfSider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and review and all of your wonderful pictures. I really enjoy the first picture with the beer as the focal point with the beautiful views behind. The patio at our Great Room as you mentioned offers the best views to enjoy a beverage or a meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Just returned from Lake Placid. The hotel is beautiful. Excellent staff.
We had a beautiful view of the lake.The room was very comfortable. The hotel is located on top of a hill. The dining room has a beautiful view. The location is great. We are looking forward to return during the summer or fall. Excellent stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. Thank you for your comments on our staff and the views. We look forward to seeing you next year and give us a call when you book your reservation so that we can tailor a room to exceed your expectations!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

Great location with friendly staff. The corridors and rooms are a little dated and we had to air our room for a while. We paid extra for the lake view and it was definitely worth it. The bed was very comfortable and an HD tv was a plus. breakfast was plentiful and good quality with nice waitresses. Overall good value.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RichieEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your lakeview room. Thank you for also mentioning the HDTVs as we are just finishing up the installation of the HD signal to all of our rooms to compliment the flat screen TVs that we offer in our rooms. We were also happy to hear that you received a good night’s sleep and a good start to the morning with a great breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Property: Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing