We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome ski and stay package”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome ski and stay package”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Our family went skiing over Christmas at Whiteface (9 miles outside of lake Placid), and the package offered through this hotel is fantastic - I am almost hesitant to write about this deal less the secret get out.

We paid $228 a night which included the room, two adult lift tickets (retail $84/ea) and two adult buffet breakfasts.

First of all, the hotel is great. It sits atop a hill above the quaint town of Lake Placid. it has a commanding view of the town and the lake, and the main drag is a quick two minute walk down the hill. The staff for the most part were wonderful. They were all friendly, particularly in the dining area; however, the desk staff were not very flexible - but don't read too much into that - it was Christmas, and the hotel was full. The buffet breakfast was excellent. On top of the staples it included an omelette chef, fruit, real porridge, etc.

I don't know for sure, but I suspect this is the premium hotel of Lake Placid. Considering that, and the inclusion of breakfast and lift tickets, the price is killer. Before finding this hotel I was looking at motels without lift tickets and only a basic continental breakfast for $50~$100 less.

My one complaint is the hot tub is too small. The indoor pool is decent, I had fun in it with my wife and kids. But for a hotel which appeals to sports enthusiasts, a good sized and preferably outdoor hot tub is a great way to end the ski day. Most days we couldn't get into the hot tub because it was packed.

I hope to come back later this year and/or next year and we will definitely stay at the same hotel with the same package.

Room Tip: We paid a small fee to upgrade from two double beds to two queen beds. As there are four of us I app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Thank you for the great recap of your recent ski trip. We continue to get more snow and almost all of the trails on the mountain are open. Your review shows all of the great things that we offer here especially for the wonderful ski packages that we offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    488
    207
    63
    28
See reviews for
429
506
15
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Every year we come to Lake Placid, NY for 4th of July. Each time, we stay at the Crowne Plaza Resort and found it very nice. We get a room up on the second floor with a balcony and watch the beautiful fireworks on Mirror Lake. It has always been clean, and everyone is always very nice. Great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGH4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
4th of July is a magical time to come to Lake Placid and stay at our hotel. Sounds like you know how to get the best viewing of the fireworks by booking a lakeview room. The lakeview balcony or patios provide a perfect area to watch the fireworks. Thank you for your stay and review and we look forward to hopefully spending many 4th of Julys with you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza six times over 2011-2012 planning a conference. The staff was awesome and treated me like family. Very attentive and rooms comfortable and stylish. Location was a walk away from shops and eateries. When I brought my son the wait staff remembered his interest in dog sledding and had articles sent from their family in Alaska to give him. Food was wonderful and loved the lodge feel with fireplace and bar. Th pool was okay and hot tub not excellent but did not spend much time there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moppiesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stays with us. All of our staff works hard to make sure that our guests feel home away from home. The Great Room, as you mentioned, is truly a wonderful lodge type experience with the stunning fireplace and even the better views from the large windows. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Breathtaking view of Mirror Lake and background mountains. Walking distance to restaurants and Mirror Lake. Very nice and knowledgable staff.
Great pool, fitness room has nice and new equipment. Huge sundek, overlooking the mountains and forest.
Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay with us this past summer. Your wonderful pictures remind us of the grass and the patio in front of the Great Room underneath all of the snow. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Lake Placid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed over Christmas time and the hotel was very pretty. It has an old lodge style feel. It is also in a good location so you can walk into town easily. The service and food etc. at the hotel was adequate. On Christmas morning we had to wait 10 minutes to be seated for breakfast at 10am, and then line up with lots of people to get fresh cooked eggs, so that was a bit disappointing. Overall I would recommend staying there as it seemed much nice than other places that were within walking distance to the town.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us over the Christmas Holiday. We were extremely busy in our restaurant on Christmas day as everyone was taking advantage of the great breakfast buffet and the made to order omelets that we offer. I apologize for the delays and I hope that you were able to enjoy your breakfast that morning. We appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umdloti
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Great hotel, no hesitation in recommending to others. Friendly, helpful staff. Good breakfast buffet and excellent Christmas dinner. Beds very comfortable. Complimentary wifi but very slow in the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MStry55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and review of our hotel. Thank you as well for your comments on our breakfast buffet and our wonderful Christmas Dinner. I was glad to see that we were able to show you why we were awarded a Torchbearer Hotel, which is one of the top 5 Crowne Plazas in the United States in terms of overall satisfaction. I apologize for the issues that you experienced with our WiFi as we had just finished upgrading our hardware to improve our signal strength throughout the hotel. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Stayed with young family and had a wonderful experience.

Service - was excellent. Staff always acknowledged you in the hotel and were eager to answer any questions. Everyone was also great with the kids - thank you!

Room - was spacious and clean. Had a great view of the Lake. The heating unit was a little loud when it came on and scared the kids a couple of times through the night.

Pool - was a little chilly for young children but overall a really nice space. Lots of towels always available.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view. And the view towards the Village is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. I was glad to see that you were able to enjoy our beautiful hotel located in the heart of Lake Placid. Our front desk staff loves to help all of our customers try to maximize their stay by being knowledgeable about all of the items that guests love to do in our area. I apologize for the heating unit in your room being a little loud. I apologize for the pool being a little chilly for the kids as we keep our pool temperature between 82 and 85 degrees. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Property: Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing