We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, overlooking Mirror Lake and village of Lake Placid” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful, overlooking Mirror Lake and village of Lake Placid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We asked for a quiet room that was animal free. We were accommodated with a fantastic upgrade as Platinum Elite members in the Adirondack Wing. We had a fantastic room with a fireplace and a great view, Room had a balcony and jacuzzi tub plus a shower. Made our weekend. King bed was comfortable and the wing was exceptionally quiet. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leaann419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of our property! We here at the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club in Lake Placid, NY are ecstatic to hear that your stay was fantastic! Make sure to keep an eye out for our ski and stay packages offered for Whiteface Mountain. Thank you for your loyalty with our IHG brand and we look forward to hosting your stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    477
    199
    63
    26
See reviews for
417
493
14
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here on a long weekend while doing some climbing. It was perfect. The location is great. It’s a bit above town so you have a great view of the main street and the lake. The walk down is very easy and you are right in the heart of town. The hotel has a big log cabin feel and the staff was great. We wandered around the whole lake checking out the other hotels and no question we will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeanFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you so much for the great comments about the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club in Lake Placid, NY. We here at the resort are glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoy our property! The Crowne Plaza brand prides itself on being an upscale brand and we’re glad to see that it shows. Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niskayuna, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We brought visitors from the west Coast up to Lake Placid for a mid-week visit and stayed at the Crowne Plaza for one night. We've stayed at this hotel previously and enjoy the location and the pool. The hotel is walking distance to the main tourist street in Lake Placid and has a wonderful pool for children. We haven't tried the restaurant at the hotel. The decor is rustic and the double rooms are fine. The bar area overlooking the town is impressive. Great place for a Lake Placid stay.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very pleased to hear that your stay is a wonderful experience each and every time you stay with us. Thank you so much for your loyalty to our hotel and we look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Both my wife and I loved the room, the view of Mirror Lake and the main street from our 4th floor room was spectacular. The only issue we had was that we heard what sounded like hammering coming from above (the roof) at around 08:40AM, when we questioned the staff at the desk, one said it was from a tub being removed down the hall, and the other staff person said that she had heard that complaint before (which nullifies the first answer we received), then a couple who was checking out on the 2nd floor said they heard the same thing............maybe ghost hunters should pay a visit. Other then the hammering, everything was in place for a romantic get away.

Room Tip: upgrade to the front of the hotel on site instead of doing it from the web, it is cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSyracuse_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you so much for the review of our property. I am so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our spectacular views from your room! I deeply apologize for the hammering sounds and I personally will make sure to look into where the sounds were coming from so that no other guest is bothered by this. Again, please accept my apologies and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was my first time in Lake Placid and this was the perfect hotel to take in the view! It was really close to Main St. (a steep hill but the ambiance made it a little more bearable). The service was great. The lodge atmosphere made the stay enjoyable and the beautiful lounge overlooking the lake was a group favorite. The rooms were clean and comfortable, although my only complaint was that the room temp. at 73 was a bit warm. When I tried to put on the AC for a bit I found the fan to be a bit loud but it cooled off fast. Other than that though, I have no complaints and would definetely recommend this hotel to others. The Crowne made my stay really enjoyable. Perfect hotel to stay at to experience Lake Placid.

Room Tip: My room faced the indoor pool area and was fairly quiet, but I would have preferred a room facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dollysueop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you so much for your loyalty and excellent review of the Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club in Lake Placid, NY! Our staff here at the Crowne Plaza takes a great amount of pride in being a part of an upscale brand. We make it our number one job to make sure our guests’ stays are unforgettable. Thank you again for your loyalty with us and we can’t wait to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Alberta
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel is located on top of a small hill overlooking the lake. It is an easy walk also to main street to restaurants and shops. Free parking on-site, which makes it handy. The lodge is spacious away from busy roads. The beds were comfy but the bedroom suite is not very well appointed by its shape. The two bedrooms are separated by the bathroom and a narrow darkish hallway, but only one bedroom has a window. For the others that are not by the window, it feels rather austere during the day time without natural light. There is also a noisy furnace shaft that runs in the room. We visited a couple of rooms and they appear to be laid out the same way. Each room has its own flat screen tv. We had breakfast coupons so we did not do the buffet. The portion of fruit platter was amazingly large, enough for 2 people. The lounge by the main lobby is very pleasant for enjoying the scenery.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPR1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for your review and giving us the opportunity to learn from your feedback. We really appreciate our guest’s opinions because it helps us grow further into the upscale brand that the Crowne Plaza represents. First of all I’m glad you enjoyed our views from up on the hill, they truly are breathtaking. Second, I will definitely be sure to pass along your recommendation about the room type you were in to higher management. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Plaza stay at the Crown Plaza .Stayed in the Adirondack wing newer rooms. I was a little concerned at first being on the first floor close to the entrance , but no problem , never heard people coming or going and the hotel was sold out due to a conference. Enjoyable stay. Ask for a room facing the lake that was the only problem room was facing the parking lot but if the weather was nicer I would have loved to enjoy the patio

Room Tip: stay in the Adirondack wing if possible facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamdog1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments about our Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club in Lake Placid, NY! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room location to be suitable for your needs. Also, the next time you are staying with us definitely inquire about our lake view rooms. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.8 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#25 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Property: Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing