We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“three nights during presidents week.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was a busy time and I think the hotel was likely full. The hotel is up a steep hill, that can get icy and some of the front desk staff could be friendlier. The 2 queen bed rooms are spacious and beds are very comfortable. Bath products are of good quality unfortunately water pressure in the shower was weak. The great room is very comfortable and views are spectacular. Several other areas with couches to lounge on. The pool was greatly enjoyed by all of us, as was the jacuzzi. There is onsite laundry. Views in general from this property are spectacular. I feel the staff could be more friendly and outgoing. Overall though we had a great trip!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drasifali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent visit to Lake Placid, NY! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to enjoy our spectacular views we have to offer from being located on top of the hill. I apologize for the service from our front desk. As a Torchbearer Award winning resort we take pride in providing top level customer service and I apologize that this was not presented to you. However, I am glad that they rest of your stay was delightful and we hope to see you back soon and look forward to hosting your stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We've just returned from our second stay at this hotel, and are so impressed with all that it has to offer. The views and decor are outstanding; the Great Room and bar are so comfortable and welcoming! The entire staff - from the people at the reservations desk, to the bartenders, to the waiters and waitresses, to the cleaning staff - are pleasant, friendly, helpful, and attentive. The cleanliness of the entire hotel is remarkable; everything (including carpets,plants, old skis and bobsleds used as decor, windows, you name it!) is dust-free and sparkling. The room was comfortable and quiet, with a lovely view, and the location of the hotel is perfect. Will definitely look forward to our next stay there!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllieoNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you so much for the excellent review of the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club in Lake Placid, NY. We are thrilled to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and everything was to your satisfaction! I am glad to hear that you are excited to come back and we are glad to have the opportunity to make your stay even more wonderful the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Relaxing clean and comfortable.We decided to come to Lake placid for the weekend of our Anniversary for a quiet get away. While checking in we were told that our room had been upgraded to a Lake view suite. We had just booked a king room with a fire place. So that was a nice surprise!! Our room was awesome! Clean, quiet , comfortable and relaxing. Great view. All of the staff were friendly and helpful with anything we needed. Room service was fast and the restaurant and bar staff were also great. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you so much for the excellent review and for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent visit to Lake Placid, NY! I am very glad to hear that you appreciated the upgrade given to you by our front desk staff upon check in and found the room to be clean, quiet, comfortable, and relaxing! We are looking forward to hosting your visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the tower suites in the Adirondack Wing. The room was beautiful - very clean, great views of the surrounding area and nice amenities with the full kitchen and two bathrooms. The staff was friendly, the location in the center of town was perfect and there was plenty of free parking. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza for your recent visit to Lake Placid, NY. We are thrilled to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent visit with us! I am glad that you felt our staff is friendly and that the location was perfect! We look forward to seeing you back in the area again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel is beautiful & very clean. We had booked a deluxe fireplace lake view room, when we got there they had upgraded us to a 1 bdrm. suite with mountian views. At 1st we were really hesitant because we wanted to over look the village & the lake. Boy were we surprised!!! The view from our suite was INCREDIBLE! It had west views so watching the sunsets was beautiful. The size of the 1 bdrm. suite was impressive. The Empire Winter Games was going on & the halls were full of kids, but when we got up to our room in the Adironack Wing & it was a romantic peaceful getaway. The bar/lounge area was very comfortable & also had wonderful veiws of the lake & village.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent visit to Lake Placid, NY! I am very pleased to see that you fully enjoyed your upgrade given to you at check in and were able to have a romantic and peaceful getaway! It is really nice to hear how we helped to make your stay memorable. Again, thank you for choosing us and we look forward to hosting your next visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We are a hockey family, and when we heard we were going to Lake Placid to play in the "American Cup Tournament" we were thrilled. We have been on many trips to play in tournaments, but were espeically excited about Lake Placid. We were also excited that we were staying at the team's hotel of choice the Crown Plaza

After a 5 hour drive we finally arrived, and our trip took a negative turn. The Front Office Manager that checked us in Cindy Buell, clearly was not enthused to have young hockey players coming to the hotel. There was no smile, no welcome what so ever, just went over the rules of the hotel. During our stay we actually received a V/M from her stating we signed an agreement that we would not have parties in our room. This was so insulting as we NEVER had anyone in our room except our 2 children. I was in the room most of the trip. There were kids running around on the floor, but I am not sure how that could have been prevented as the elevator went to every floor. During our stay another manager, not sure his name but had glasses. I saw him yell at kids right in their face as well as my son told me that the same employee was at the elevator waiting for kids to come off and swore at them when they got off. I know the kids were running around and there were several that were not following the rules, but an employee (Manager) screaming at kids?? Is that the right way to handle it?

When we checked out there was Cindy again, never how was your stay, hope to see you again. Nothing

I understand these tournaments are tough with kids running around, but we paid good money to stay there, and should have been treated like any other guest. If the hotel did not want the business then they should not have taken it. I work for a large hotel chain in a large city, and we have student groups all the time, and NEVER would someone from our staff especially a Manager treat guests this way. We welcome each and every guest the same, and understand that some groups/Guest could be challenging but we as Hoteliers disscuss this prior to arrival and make sure we are ready and prepared to make sure our guest have the best stay that they can, as we always want them to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Debra M,

Thank you for your review about your stay. It is truly unfortunate to see that you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We take comments such as these very seriously. We have sent you a private message addressing your concerns.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed here over MLK weekend. Excellent location right next to the Olympic museum. The lobby area is very nice, feels like a winter lodge. The room was standard but very clean as was the bathroom. Had both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant and both were above average. Overall a very nice place to stay with a reasonble rate.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steveski11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property! I am thrilled to hear that your stay was wonderful! Hopefully you were able to explore the town of Lake Placid, NY and enjoy everything it has to offer. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#12 of 31 in Lake Placid
246 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
0.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
122 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Address: 101 Olympic Drive, Center Of Village, Overlooking Lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: £86 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing