We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,447)
Filter reviews
1,447 results
Traveller rating
580
552
215
66
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
552
215
66
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adirondack wing great room hill overlooking steep hill boathouse restaurant in town boat house new wing hockey tournament breakfast buffet family suite an upgrade the main street the hotel sits private beach front desk staff the hotel offers
Filter
Updating list...
708 - 713 of 1,447 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Enjoyed our stay here. Picked the hotel for the location and views.

Location - Easy to walk to main street, shops and places to eat. Also very close to the Olympic Center. Keeps you in shape as the hotel is on top of a hill and it is a hike to get up.

Views - Being on top of the hill gives great views of the surrounding lakes and mountains. Loved seating on the outside patio with the fire pit, enjoying the views and drinks.

Rest of the hotel - Rooms were comfortable. Outside balconies were very, very small. Did not sit out there. Did not eat in the hotel - more choices and better prices on main street in town. Indoor pool was large as well as the whole pool area. Hot tub was a little too much chlorine. Staff was very friendly and helpful

* One tip: if you come to Lake Placid in May/June beware of the black flies that bite. My kids and I got lots of bites. Bring bug spray!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiscoMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent trip to Lake Placid, NY! I am glad to see that everything was perfect during your stay and you were able to enjoy the activities town has to offer and our breathtaking views of the High Peaks! Thank you so much for the great review and we can’t wait to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a beautiful property with a wonderful view of the lake and mountains. The bar area has beautiful large windows that overlook the lake. The rooms are a little outdated but we found the beds to be very comfortable. This hotel is well situated and within easy walking distance to restaurants and shopping. We had a very nice stay and we'll definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sazzycat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write some feedback about your recent stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club in the beautiful Lake Placid, NY! We are always glad to hear of our guest’s great experiences. It is wonderful that you were able to enjoy our breathtaking views of the High Peaks and our gorgeous GreatRoom Bar and Lounge area. I will definitely pass along the concern with the room being a little outdated to higher manager. I appreciate your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights June 13 & 14th. The property is beautiful. Rooms are average, beds are comfortable but the balconies are quite small, just enough room for 2 small chairs. The great room and bar overlooking the lake are beautiful. The breakfast buffet was well worth the price. The only down side is the walk to town down the steep steps and walkway that are in need of repairs. Then again the hotel does offer a shuttle to town. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank looney62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback from your recent stay with us. I am glad to see that your stay was enjoyable and you were able to enjoy our gorgeous GreatRoom Lounge area. The views from that room are spectacular! Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club, Lake Placid, NY and we look forward to hosting your stay again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Just left a two night stay at the crowne plaza in Lake Placid. Had a lovely stay and the four of us would definitely go back. The rooms are typical hotel rooms, with very comfortable beds, which is most important to me. Hubby did miss his duvet pillows though :D The hotel has a wonderful Great Room and lobby, a nice patio with firepit, a nice heated indoor pool with cozy hot hot tub. With its central. Location close to lots of restaurants and shops, it was a perfect location. ..with fabulous views. While we didn't have dinner there, their breakfast buffet was nice and very hot and tasty - not always the case with a buffet. And their simple lunch menu in the great room had a nice selection of soups and sandwiches. Overall...recommended, especially if you get the rates we got during our stay!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KBT-Ott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for the excellent review and recommendation! I am ecstatic to hear that your stay was outstanding and everything went perfect. We love to hear about our guests thoroughly enjoying their time with us! Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent stay in Lake Placid, NY and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Really nice location, central to the town and the lake. Very scenic, rooms on first floors have patio and a view. Pool is very large and pool area is perfect for a party. Only complaint....they need to refurb their walkway/stairs that lead to the town.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slepski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for the excellent review! I am thrilled to hear that your stay was amazing and you enjoyed our convenient location and breathtaking views! Unfortunately, the stairs that lead into town are part of the town’s property and because of the hard winter we had this year our roads and sidewalks got a beating. However, rest assured they are out in heavy force getting the roads cleared up for the townspeople. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent trip to Lake Placid, NY!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews