We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice. Great Value. Would return/recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay. Cindy at the front desk was particularly nice, friendly, helpful, professional. Our room was very nice, but you do need to know that the least expensive rooms may either have an interior view of the pool area or may look over an unattractive roof to a not-so-distant brick wall. (I would guess only 20 of the hotel rooms have that view).

They have free coffee in the lobby at breakfast time, in case you don't want to eat in the restaurant or brew in your room.

As others have noted, the view from many rooms and the really-nice great room is fantastic. The location is very convenient to town activities.

Overall, it was a good stay and I would gladly return if the rate continues to be reasonable.

Room Tip: The least expensive rooms may either have an interior view of the pool area or may look over an unat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank takingahike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent visit to the beautiful Lake Placid, NY. I am glad to hear that your stay was fantastic and you got to enjoy the views from our GreatRoom bar and lounge! Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge one of our front desk managers, Cindy! She will be so thrilled to hear that she got a great review! Our staff strives to stand out in such a manner that guests feel that they went above and beyond expectations. Thank you again for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club and we can’t wait to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 1,339 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

The room was dated and run down. The bed took up most of the room. The bath room needed to be grouted. The bath tub was old. There was no outdoor pool. The way the hotel was set up it was hard to find the right elevator that would take you to your room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truthtellerNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback from your recent stay with us. We appreciate all feedback since it only helps us to improve. To the concern of our rooms being dated we are constantly in the process of updating the furnishing is the guests rooms to help keep that modern Adirondack feel. I am sorry that you feel that our resort did not meet your standards. In regards to not having an outdoor pool, we offer an indoor pool. That way our guests will be able to use it all four seasons. We do have private beach access on Mirror Lake for the summer season. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Eat elsewhere and be comfortable with minimal customer service. I'll start with location it's perfect. You are on top of a hill overlooking Mirror Lake on the front and the amazing Adirondacks around back. You can walk anywhere in town in minutes. Getting back up the hill will take your breath away but it's a great workout!
The rooms could really use an update. Everything is well worn and worn out. Basically clean. We stayed in the adirondack wing overlooking the lake with a small balcony that I really enjoyed. It was a suite with two rooms. One with two full sized beds and one with a king. We had trouble with our tv the first night and the maintenance guys was quick to fix it. They provided a lot of towels which I appreciated and the toiletries were nice. The balcony could have used a good sweeping lots of spiderwebs.
Some of our experiences:
We decided to go down one evening to sit next to the fire pit on their restaurant patio over looking the lake. We grabbed a beer and sat for a few minutes with our two boys around the fire and oddly the flames were turned off. We laughed and decided to go in and have dinner. Big mistake.
We were sat at a table once the group of employees were done with their conversation. The gentleman who was waiting on us was very nice as was the restaurant manager/host but the restaurant had deep issues. The kitchen staff seemed to greatly dislike the waitstaff. Anything special you would ask for would be ignored. My kid asked for no mayo on his sandwich it was ignored and dripping off his sandwich we sent it back it took at least 20 minutes for it to return. My ranch dressing came out blue cheese. The 'grilled' chicken for my salad came out White and Ice Cold. I'm fairly positive it came out of one of those Tyson precooked bags in the freezer section of the grocery store. It was disgusting. Our meal of salad, sandwich, and hamburgers took an hour and half. It was ridiculous! The staff was having many issues, would disappear for a long time.

We also had breakfast in their breakfast room. The staff was having a blast! With each other and completely ignored us. I had to ask for water, when it was time to pay the check I had to go the host desk and ask for it.

When we had our room cleaned it was half cleaned. Not as many towels as before, the bed was half made, no tissue was replaced. It was as if they ran out of time and walked out.

When we checked out I accompanied my husband to the desk to respond to the inevitable question of "How was your stay?". Oddly we got no such questions. When we walked up there was a young women who was behind the desk and the hostess from the breakfast room. The hostess turned and looked at us, up and down, turned back to the woman behind the counter to finish her conversation. She was making the woman look through the guests names as she "wanted to see the if name of the person saying those things matched a guest". Apparently it didn't and she walked away.
The young woman asked "checking out?" Yes and I'd like to share my experience. I told her everything, she smiled, only when I complained about housekeeping did she ask what room number and wrote a note. She said it's only her second day and provided no manager. Sorry.

So as my title states Stay for the view and don't expect any service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback on your recent visit with us. I would like to extend my apologizes for the way you feel you were treated by our staff. As a TorchBearer Award winning resort I can assure you that we take customer service very seriously. I understand your frustrations and will be speaking with our Food and Beverage manager about this occurrence to ensure that this gets addressed. This is not our standard practice of customer service and I’m sorry that you had to encounter such disarray. I do hope that you choose to stay with us again so we can prove that we are the right resort for your visits to Lake Placid, NY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We booked five nights as the middle-swing of a long golf vacation in the Berkshires, the Catskills, and the Adirondacks. As it turned out, we left Lake Placid two days early and the change in our plans did not faze the front desk. They logged me out and confirmed to my email address that we were good to go early. No fuss.

When we first checked in, about three hours early, they acknowledged my Platinum membership and upgraded us to a Suite. It was highly unexpected. The room was remarkable. A view of the lake, a full size sink, marble counter top island, stove top, refrigerator, living, dining and enormous bedroom and en suite. There was a fireplace and balcony that made everything quite cozy.

We ate some light meals in the great room, but with all the great restaurant choices in Lake Placid, we didn't rely on the hotel's facilities. The hotel is very large, spreads out over a large area and it appeared that even with some large groups in attendance, the place can handle the crowds. Similarly to what we see in top notch hotels elsewhere, the housekeeping supervisor was spotted with her clipboard and communication device, making sure the rooms were cleaned correctly and on time. That marks a good facility in our view.

Room Tip: Even if you are not a Club member, ask if there are any free upgrades available; our experience is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RFWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you so much for both your loyalty to the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club, Lake Placid, NY and to our IHG brand. I am so glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! As a Torchbearer Award winning resort customer service is high on our list of priorities. Our staff makes it their number one job to ensure every single guest is having a great experience. Thank you again for your loyalty and we look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay. You have an unobstructed view of Mirror Lake and the high peaks from the top of the hill the resort sits on. Olympic ice rinks are next door, stopped in to watch a Can-Am hockey practice. The great room and patio are great places to enjoy a drink and watch the sunset over the mountains. The rooms are good sized and clean. Plenty of common areas to meet people. Only drawback is the walk up the hill after a day on Main Street, but the LP Xpress shuttle bus gets around that issue. I will be staying there again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you so much for the awesome review! It is great to see that you had an outstanding time on your getaway vacation! Lake Placid, NY is such a beautiful place to visit and offers so many activities for both families and individuals. We can’t wait to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Enjoyed our stay here. Picked the hotel for the location and views.

Location - Easy to walk to main street, shops and places to eat. Also very close to the Olympic Center. Keeps you in shape as the hotel is on top of a hill and it is a hike to get up.

Views - Being on top of the hill gives great views of the surrounding lakes and mountains. Loved seating on the outside patio with the fire pit, enjoying the views and drinks.

Rest of the hotel - Rooms were comfortable. Outside balconies were very, very small. Did not sit out there. Did not eat in the hotel - more choices and better prices on main street in town. Indoor pool was large as well as the whole pool area. Hot tub was a little too much chlorine. Staff was very friendly and helpful

* One tip: if you come to Lake Placid in May/June beware of the black flies that bite. My kids and I got lots of bites. Bring bug spray!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiscoMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent trip to Lake Placid, NY! I am glad to see that everything was perfect during your stay and you were able to enjoy the activities town has to offer and our breathtaking views of the High Peaks! Thank you so much for the great review and we can’t wait to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a beautiful property with a wonderful view of the lake and mountains. The bar area has beautiful large windows that overlook the lake. The rooms are a little outdated but we found the beds to be very comfortable. This hotel is well situated and within easy walking distance to restaurants and shopping. We had a very nice stay and we'll definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sazzycat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write some feedback about your recent stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club in the beautiful Lake Placid, NY! We are always glad to hear of our guest’s great experiences. It is wonderful that you were able to enjoy our breathtaking views of the High Peaks and our gorgeous GreatRoom Bar and Lounge area. I will definitely pass along the concern with the room being a little outdated to higher manager. I appreciate your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
0.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
125 reviews
1 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 31 in Lake Placid
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Address: 101 Olympic Drive, Center Of Village, Overlooking Lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: £85 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing