We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, great for families”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Crowne Plaza is located in the heart of Lake Placid - easy walking to the shops and restaurants on Main Street and a 10 minute or less drive to any of the tourist attractions in Lake Placid. The Olympic Ice rink is literally a 2 minute walk. Rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful in answering our questions about the area. The indoor pool was a huge plus and well maintained. Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in Lake Placid, we loved our 2 day stay here and next time we come back will definitely stay here again. Actually recommended the Crowne Plaza to a friend today!

Room Tip: try to get a room with a lake view, the mountains and lake are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RochesterDan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much for recommending us to others! I am thrilled to hear that your stay was fantastic. Our location is so convenient to everything in town and like you had mentioned is only a short drive to all of the other Olympic venues. I am glad you were able to head over our way and enjoy our beautiful views of the High Peaks! Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent trip to the gorgeous Lake Placid, NY and we can’t wait to see you and your friends again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    484
    204
    63
    28
See reviews for
424
500
15
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We de-toured here for one night en-route from NYC to Toronto. It was a little out of the way but definitely worth a visit. The Crowne Plaza is set on a hill overlooking Mirror Lake I believe, and the views are beautiful! The beds are sooo comfortable and rooms big; after many hours on the road following a 6.5 hr flight into NYC, they were just what we needed.
We felt relaxed immediately on entering the lobby.
We arrived at 10pm and unfortunately room service had just ended, but apart from that, we had an extremely restful stay. Breakfast was delicious and included in the booking.

Room Tip: choose a lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 781Pinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for the fabulous review! I am thrilled to hear that your stay was fantastic and extremely relaxing. Lake Placid, NY is definitely the location to come and relax whether for just the night or for an extended stay. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your short visit and we hope to see you back our way again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We spent
the first night of a week long road trip at the Crowne Plaza having booked it online and this was the best hotel we stayed in during our trip. Clean, modern, friendly, great location, great view from the balcony! Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Two types of rooms, front lake view and rear mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenrosem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for the excellent review! I am thrilled to hear that your stay was amazing and found everything from the room cleanliness and staff friendliness to be right on par. It’s great to see you were able to take full advantage of our breathtaking views of the High Peaks and we hope to see you back in the area again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here July 4th weekend with the family. We have been vacationing in Lake Placid for 20 years. We usually rented camps on the lake but recent years have been staying in hotels in town.

This hotel's location is both a blessing and a curse. Perched high atop a hill above the Olympic center the views are breathtaking. Absolutely the best views of any hotel in town. But that hill...

The other hotels we have stayed at in town allow you to walk out and you are right there on Main St. Great convenience in being able to enjoy the village with ease. The Crowne Plaza is so far up this hill that it is an effort to walk anywhere. And walking back UP that hill?!? Forget about it.

So, like I said. The location is both a plus and a minus.

Aside from that, this is a beautiful hotel with a great outdoor patio overlooking the lake and mountains where you can sit and enjoy a cocktail or cup of coffee. Nice pool area. Great decor. It is very large and the rooms are fine.

I would stay here again, but only if I couldn't get a room in the other two hotels that we have enjoyed that are right on Main St.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for sharing some feedback from your recent stay. Being located on top of the hill truly allows us to offer the best views of the area and views of the Mirror Lake and mountains surrounding the entire resort. We understand that traveling up and down the hill can be a challenge. The free town trolley does make frequent stops up at the front of the resorts and there is plenty of parking in town incase our guests would like to drive down rather than walk. So while the hill can be a challenge to some there are plenty of ways around it so that you can still enjoy the amazing views we have to offer! Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent trip to Lake Placid, NY and we hope to see you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We held our wedding ceremony and reception at the Crowne Plaza Lake Placid Golf House on June 20th, and it was absolutely wonderful. Our wedding coordinator, Catherine, was amazing to work with and so incredibly helpful. We were planning a wedding from over 2,000 miles away, and she was always quick to answer any of my 1,000 questions and made me feel so at ease with the process. The ceremony was held under the pavilion, which has a breathtaking view, and the Golf House was the perfect location for our dinner and reception. The food was delicious, the staff did a great job helping us decorate, and the room took my breath away when I walked inside. Following the wedding, all of our guests headed back to the Great Room bar at the hotel, and it was kept open for us until the last guest left! I was so incredibly happy with the entire experience, Catherine was a joy to work with, and we couldn't have chosed a more perfect spot for a beautiful wedding. Weeks later, our guests are still talking about how it was the best wedding they've ever been to!

Room Tip: The Adirondack suites were beautiful and had an amazing view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kesley77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for the amazing review. First of all congratulations! I am thrilled to hear that your wedding day was a huge success! We all know how nerve racking the days leading up can be with all the last minute finishing touches. Our team really works hard to make sure that the planning process is as stress free as possible. I will definitely pass along the compliment to Catherine. She is one of our most seasoned wedding coordinators and really put in 100% into each and every wedding we host. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your wedding destination. We hope to see you again soon, possibly for your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hotel staff are very pleasant and friendly. Nice setting above the town, easy to walk up the hill. Nice views from the front of the hotel especially. We had a room in the older part at the back and had decent view to surrounding mountains. Clean hotel.
Only complaint was that the doors slammed up and down the halls all night long. Nobody's fault, but the doors are heavy and slam shut and most people don't close them gently enough so made for a loud night.

Room Tip: Hopefully the hotel can do something about the doors! On our floor, 4th floor, in old motel-ish area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfdsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback from your recent trip to the beautiful Lake Placid, NY. I am glad to see that you found our staff to be both pleasant and friendly. As a TorchBearer Award winning resort our staff take customer service very seriously. We strive to make every guest’s stay a memorable experience. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club and we look forward to hosting your stay again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Generally a nice room, but not one of the more comfortable beds...mattresses were too plush, with too much bedding. Everything in the room worked fine, but I had to find ways to dim all the LEDs and external street light for adequate darkness to sleep. Everything was going fine until a puddle seemed to form out of nowhere in the bathroom while I was seated. Couldn't figure out where it was from, but it forced me to change some of my clothes. Occurred again the following day, on the morning of my departure resulting in the same issue, and I concluded water was seeping up from under the floor, but had to be due to a leaky toilet. The room had a very nice view of the lake and mountains, but the balcony was so small from front to back that there was barely enough room to sit in the small chair provided.

Dinner restaurant receptionist seemed absolutely horrified when I asked to see the menu; same re-action when I repeated myself...and no verbal response. Finally, the maître d' came over with the menu and stood a foot away waiting for me to make a decision. I was already heading out with other dinner plans and had clearly indicated that I just wanted to get an idea of what they serve in case I wanted to stay there for dinner the following night. Otherwise, staff was good and attentive.

Breakfast was the highlight of this hotel, although it was not included in the rate. It was, however, inexpensive as a paid breakfast...and the quality was very good to excellent. It was a sit-down buffet, and there was a very good omelet station with a wide choice of fillings. There were hard-boiled eggs and good scrambled eggs, and at least two very tasty meat choices. The orange juice tasted fresh and delicious and they refill your glass by surprise. Plenty of breads, cereals and pastries, and a fresh fruit cocktail (although this wasn't their best thing). Nothing was not good, so for $12.95 I thought it was a great deal. And being that this hotel was half the price of the Hampton Inn nearby, it would have scored higher were it not for the unacceptable problem of a leaky toilet.

I would recommend staying here if it could be trusted the toilet won't leak.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for sharing some feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast buffet! In regards to your leaky toilet, in the future please notify our front desk staff of this issue so they can send a staff member over to fix it. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent trip to Lake Placid, NY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
200 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
5 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Property: Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing