We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Placid is the Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Hotel was ok, the rooms are looking a little dated and tired. But we didn't stay in the room too long other than to sleep as Amazing Lake Placid is right outside.
The patio bar offers an amazing view and shouldn't be missed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RunninAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for sharing some feedback from your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our GreatRoom Bar and Lounge area and its outside patio! Its views are simply breathtaking! I am sorry to hear that you thought our rooms are looking a little dated and tired but I can assure you that we are constantly updating our furnishing throughout the entire hotel to make sure it keeps its modern Adirondack ambiance. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel has probly the best views in lake placid... The hotel is definitely worth the money , the hotel offers a shuttle to there private beach. I stayed with my two kids and is a nice hotel for kids , the pool is a big plus .. We will stay here again ..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmh1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you so much for the great review! I am thrilled to hear that your stay was excellent and you got to enjoy our private beach and indoor pool! Lake Placid, NY is such a beautiful area. We love seeing our guests enjoying our town! Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club and we hope to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The good.....This is was very nice hotel located on top of the hill in Lake Placid. The views were awesome! The rooms were clean and I loved the little arrival pack you received in your room for "refreshment and relaxation", it contained a nice spray that smells like aveda products!

The Bad....I am a single mom and I came here with my 2 teenage daughters. Upon checking in, the couple ahead of me received a coupon for 10% of the Boat House restaurant which belongs to the crown plaza. I get it, this is an upscale place for dinner...but I do make very good money and do like to treat myself and my daughters to nice dinners. Long story short, I was not given a coupon or even told about the boat house.

The bed was very hard and I woke up sore each morning of my stay.

The worst...We went to breakfast and it was awful! There is one chef making omelets and the line was very long and crowded...maybe poor placement of the omelet station...I dont know. The food was awful..cinnamon french toast was cold and seemed like it was frozen. The pancakes were definitely frozen and must have been warmed up in a microwave...gross! Coffee was cold...just not worth the money.

There is complimentary coffee in the lobby...when I went to get a cup...there wasnt any "to go" cups...I heard a man asking the reservation desk for the cups to be refilled...during this time, I went to my room to grab a few things. When I came back down, the cups still had not been refilled and just took myself to starbucks!

I have read previous reviews and many people complained about the walk up and down the hill. It is a very steep walk. It is not the fault of the hotel!!! Despite the location of the hotel, it does offer awesome views. I would stay here again but I would not eat breakfast here!

Room Tip: Definitely spend the money and get a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mauicrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback from your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our Temple Spa products put in each guest room! We get great reviews about them all the time and hear they work great! In regards to your check in process I apologize that you were not given a Boat House coupon or even a mention of the Boat House Restaurant. I can assure you that it was nothing personal and I will definitely notify the front desk of this and make sure it is mentioned to every single guest at check in. Thank you for making us aware of this so we are able to fix it. I appreciate your feedback from your dining experience during breakfast. I will speak to the Food and Beverage Manager about your concerns and make sure it is all fixed for the next time you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Wow, we were pleasantly suprized when I pulled up to the place. Nice staff, great room. Restaurant, outdoor patio with a great view of Mirror Lake. This place has it all. I would go back. It was also reasonably priced for a Sunday night at $125 for two queen beds.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daviddQ8181ES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you so much for the outstanding review of our property! It is always great to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your recent venture to the beautiful Lake Placid, NY and we can’t wait to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a long weekend with my family the hotel was great. excellent location a short walk to Main Street and the Olympic center. Rooms were very good one side had a view of the mountains the other had a view of the lake. Got up early and walked around mirror lake every morning. Great place I would highly recommend this hotel when stating in Lake Placid

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you so much for the excellent review! I am thrilled to hear that your family trip to the beautiful Lake Placid, NY was outstanding and you were able to enjoy our fantastic views of the High Peaks Region! Also, the 2.7 mile walk around Mirror Lake is such a nice way to get your day going! Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club and we look forward to hosting your stay again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family and I stayed at this location while my son was attending CAN AM hockey camp right next door. We did not have reservations and only decided to stay here after the rental we rented on VRBO turned out to be a dump. We explained our story and the person at the desk, I believe his name was Issac, was able to give us a great deal and we booked the room for the entire week. The view was stunning, the rooms were clean and neat and we had everything we needed for the whole week. Housekeeping was incredible and very friendly. The breakfast buffet had something for everyone and was reasonably priced. The restaturant for dinner was not very good, each of us (four total) did not enjoy the food we ordered and its a tad overpriced compared to what is available in town. This hotel is close to everything. The hill that is sits upon is HUGE, but a great walk to burn off ice cream! The kids loved the indoor pool. Will stay here hands down next time we come back. Good job Crowne Plaza!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the lake, its stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our staff’s hard work and great attitudes. We take a great amount of pride in delivering top notch customer service and love hearing about everyone’s great stays! I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our amazing views of the High Peaks Region. In regards to your dining experience I will definitely notify the Food and Beverage Manager to ensure it is fixed for the next time you come and visit. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Crowne Plaza in Lake Placid is fantastic especially if you're traveling with dogs. Great staff, great rooms, great location, great pool and workout facilities short very convenient trails for walking your dogs.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Lake Placid Village and Mirror Lake are worth the $30 upgrade fee. The higher the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lgallery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you so much for the outstanding review! We appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge our hard work and great attitudes. Our staff takes pride in make every guest’s stay a memorable one. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our hiking trails behind the hotel. It really is great if you bring your pets! Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza for your trip to the beautiful Lake Placid, NY and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#12 of 31 in Lake Placid
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Address: 101 Olympic Drive, Center Of Village, Overlooking Lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: £94 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing