We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel Fantastic Location Mixed Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average Hotel Fantastic Location Mixed Review”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel but we wont go back. Not for the price we paid if it was less then we would consider it. Our stay included a breakfast package and the food and service were excellent. The room was clean and comfortable however the bathroom could have been cleaner. We were not impressed with the dining room the food choices are limited and expensive. It was very busy at the bar so we had to shout through dinner and I don't think I have ever been told it may take a long time to get a drink with dinner because the bar is swamped. Perhaps they should consider separate areas for large parties of people. Check in and out was quick and easy but don't expect a smile. The location is fantastic and the views are amazing. I would like to rate this resort higher but for the price we paid it's not possible. The location is excellent, the wait staff are excellent, the parking is great and the views are spectacular but for the cost the restaurant should be top notch, the room should be spotless and the reception should be professional.

Room Tip: Definitely a lake view and the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshiremanOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you taking the time to write a review of our property. We value your feedback as it only helps us to further improve. I am glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable! Summer time is our busiest season (June, July, August) and rates do tend to be higher during this period. Please feel free to contact our resort directly to inquire about future reservations and when the rates go down! Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    497
    207
    63
    29
See reviews for
445
513
15
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel is average but blessed by location. The views around the property are amazing and the Lake Placid area itself is lovely. The rooms need serious updating. Furniture is very dated, bed pillows were very uncomfortable, and in our room at least, the ac and fridge were very loud.

There's no other justification for the excessively high rates except for the location. Next time in Lake Placid will try somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carriesil11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback from your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and will be putting it to good use. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location in town and hopefully got to take in our breathtaking views of the High Peaks! In regards to your loud fridge and A/C unit, if you are to stay with us again please notify the Front Desk staff of this issue since it is usually an easy fix. Thank you, again, for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North America
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

On a hill overlooking Mirror Lake, the hotel offers many spots to enjoy the beautiful village of Lake Placid. Just up the hill from Main Street with restaurants and shops, Mirror Lake, and the Olympic Training facility, it's a very convenient location as well. The great room has tremendous views, comfy furniture plus tables for light meals, a spectacular stone fireplace, and a patio with a fire pit facing the lake. Breakfast was included and was a very high quality full spread. Made to order omelets and oatmeal with fixins were especially good. Guest rooms in our section were slightly dated but comfortable and clean. I would stay here again. It's a very pet friendly hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneLouise65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you so much for the excellent review! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay! It is great to see that you were able to enjoy our amazing views of the High Peaks and Mirror Lake! Being located on top of our hill really allows us to offer some of the best views in town! Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your trip to the beautiful Lake Placid, NY and we can’t wait to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forestburgh, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The location is excellent and the view is spectacular. The room was very clean and very simple.
Parking was ample and easy.
The hotel offers a free shuttle to their beach and Boathouse Restaurant.
The room was very expensive,but we were there while Iron Man participants were in town.
We did not use the pool but it appeared very nice with a super view of the Adirondacks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for sharing some feedback from your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club in Lake Placid, NY. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed everything from our complimentary shuttle to and from our other properties to our breathtaking views of the High Peaks Region! Thank you for choosing us for your getaway and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemptville
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a very nice and relaxing 3 days visit. The hotel was very clean and met all our needs. The breakfast was great. We enjoyed sitting on the patio which overlooked Mirror Lake. It was close to downtown and we could walk everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekman20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you so much for the excellent review! I am thrilled to hear that everything about your stay with us was perfect! I’m also glad to hear that you were able to sit out on the patio overlooking Mirror Lake and the High Peaks! The views out there are simply breathtaking! Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club, Lake Placid, NY and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for a week. The hotel was clean and very picturesque. It was well located with ample parking. Only downside was that it was on top of a hill. Not bad to walk down, but a bit of a chore to walk up. Restaurant was OK. Our kids loved the pool and hot tub, they were a good size. Location was versatile as it was within walking distance of nearly everything. We'd stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you so much for the excellent review! It is great to hear that your kids loved the pool and hot tub area and you found our resort to be both clean and picturesque. I am glad that you found our location in town to be convenient for your family! Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your vacation to Lake Placid, NY. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great location, lots of free parking with a very nice view of the area.
Rooms could do with a bit of updating but they were nice enough and very clean.
Would stay again for sure.
Nice restaurant with an amazing view. Very easy walk to the main street.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honestly-2-U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah C, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for sharing some feedback from your recent stay with us! I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and are planning on coming back! Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club for your trip to the beautiful Lake Placid, NY and we can’t wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.0 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
14 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Property: Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing