We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, location, and view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value, location, and view”
Reviewed 18 July 2010

The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were a little dated but clean. I like the fact that there was a fridge and microwave in the room. It was also nice to be provided with linen spray as one of toiletries. The hotel is at the top of the hill in front of the lake so it provides you with a great view. The breakfast buffet was a good value. Parking is free and there is also a free shuttle that runs by the hotel. There is also free internet which is great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajes001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    481
    202
    63
    28
See reviews for
421
497
15
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Located on a hill above the town, the hotel has great views of the lake and is within a comfortable walking distance to shops and restaurants. The interior is a bit dated, but the rooms are spacious and the wireless connection was good. Great location - slightly above average hotel quality.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank thelarsleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

I travel a lot for business and have had the opportunity to stay at a lot of different hotel chains in many locations. Like most hotels room rates vary dramatically based on when you book, time of year and type of room. Our room (in the west wing) was very reasonably priced for a July 4th weekend in Lake Placid and considering this is a resort facility. The hotel/resort is actually very roomy, if you have kids I think this is an excellent family location.

Resort and family style hotels, in comparison to business hotels, get a lot of heavy use by kids etc. So I expect to see a little wear and tear in these type of hotels, not that I could see much so it was pleasing to see some ongoing remodeling/refreshing work being carried out.

Pros:
Value
Views over the town, Lake Mirror and mountains from the Great Room Lobby
Facilities - pool, bar/lounge, library
Plenty of free parking
Free wifi

Cons: Steep (short) hill to walk down to or up from town (hill provides the views)

In summary I would highly recommend the Lake Placid Crowne Plaza Resort and look forward to returning in the near future....maybe this fall.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiki_touring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

This was our first trip to LP for the skating camp and we picked the CP for it's location , pool and we hoped room quality. We rented one of the chalets and it was ok... Spacios, clean, but dated. The location is great and you get some exercise walking up and down the hill, the pool fantastic -
many days we were the only ones there. I would recommend the hotel as long as u know it is somewhat dated. Next year we may just rent a room and not the chalet.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stayed at the Crowne for the first time for the 2010 half marathon. Very impressed on the renovations on the property, the great room with wonderful views no matter what the weather. Not impressed with the staff. We stayed for 5 days and 4 nights and normally we get more engaged staff members who ask us what we are there for, etc. Not here, very combative when asking for simple requests like if you can get a coffee at the restaurant. First day we got a free coffee, the next day we were told we were told it was $4.95 and we never should have gotten it. No towels at the pool and when we asked to get a shuttle over to the property's Beach Club restaurant we were asked in a very demanding way "do you have a reservation" rather than being helpful and saying let me see if we can get you in for the time you want. The shuttle driver was the nicest on the staff. Just not a very welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virtualmh1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Stayed there last weekend and was very pleased with the service and facilities.

Granted the rooms are dated, you will find a fridge and microwave! All is clean, which is key. Great facilities! Great view of Mirror Lake and the mountains. And when so many places charge you for internet, it's great to know it's included in the price.

The staff is very friendly. We were supposed to stay 2 nights but left 1 day early due to sickness and we were not charged.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2010

It's a great place to stay, we had a room with the view of Whiteface even though we were on the first floor, and it was quiet, but it was too expensive compared to the other.

The only part I didn't like was that it was up a fairly steep hill from the main town. It's not a big thing if you're sober, but if you've had a bit to drink it's not the most pleasant walk back to your room.

Staff was great and very helpful. It was very clean. Very nice inside and outside. Great view.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nibas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.8 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Property: Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Address: 101 Olympic Drive, center of village, overlooking lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing