We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Nearby Hotels
Lake House(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Adirondack Inn(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$860
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Whiteface Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$392
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$373
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cobble Mountain Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,371)
Filter reviews
1,371 results
Traveller rating
539
526
212
64
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
539
526
212
64
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadirondack winggreat roomsteep hillhill overlookingin townboat housenew wingfamily suitehockey tournamentbreakfast buffetan upgradethe hotel sitsthe main streetprivate beachfront desk staffbeautiful viewthe hotel offers
Filter
Updating list...
1,150 - 1,155 of 1,371 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The web site looks fantastic but is misleading. This is not a resort by our standard and the "two bedroom" room was a normal room with extra beds stoved in. The golf course is a 5 minute drive and it is definately not on the lake. Our room was on the ground floor near the lift and you could hear the lift bell all night. The free internet was a plus. We had to ask for our romm to be cleaned at 5 pm! While Lake Placid is beautiful, overall this hotel was very disappoiting for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

My husband went to a conference for his work and I accompanied him. We upgraded to a king room w fireplace and jacuzzi. It was definitely not worth it. Our friends had a "regular" room that also had a "big tub" and the fireplace didn't work. The only DAY I could use the jacuzzi, the room had NO HOT WATER!! The staff were nice, however no one offered a discount or anything. I thought for all the money we wasted on the room, we could have had a better dinner. The food? LOUSY! It looks nice but not worth it. Stay somewhere else and save your money.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
2  Thank loozermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This was a lovely hotel in a great location just up the hill from the Olympic skating rinks. Check in was easy and the size of the room was great for the 4 of us (and had a beautiful sunset view). We opt'd out of the offered breakfast (extra price) in order to eat graham cracker bagels from Soulshine Bagels on Main Street.

Pool was warm and clean - lots of towels available. The Great Room was beautiful and welcoming. We did not take advantage of the beach or golf or fancy dinner portions of the hotel this trip. We will definitely stay here again for our next visit to Lake Placid!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ligers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We have stayed at this hotel several times, but may look elsewhere next time we are in Lake Placid. The hotel is beautiful and looks like it has just undergone a rehab. We checked in on 8/28 about 1:30 and our room was ready early, which was nice. However, the gray haired man and the younger lady weren't that friendly and didn't make us feel that welcome. They gave us the bare information and that was it.

When we inquired about there Boat House Restaurant, they simply said "It's full for tonight." When we asked about a possible cancellation for a reservation, they again said, "It's full for tonight." When asked if they take walk ups, again it was, "It's full for tonight." She sounded like a disgruntled robot and the gentleman just gave us dirty looks. We took our keys and were on our way. No other information was provided about the hotel, etc.

Later we went to the private beach that is part of the hotel where the Boat House Restaurant is located. I asked a staff member if they had any reservations available. She politely said they were closed due to a wedding. Why couldn't the folks at the front desk just told us that.

To make it worse, when we got back to the hotel, I overheard an elderly couple asking the front desk staff (different people this time, but just as unfriendly) about the Boat House Restaurant. They had made a reservation at the restaurant 2 weeks ago. The young man only said "They're booked tonight." The elderly lady was confused because she had made a reservation. All he kept saying was "They're booked tonight." She was very confused. The clerk then rudely said, "I don't know what to tell you, maybe you made it for the wrong day." Then he told the lady she could try calling over there to try and make a reservation. Knowing he was wasting this lady's time and making her very upset, I walked over and told her I was just there and they were closed for a wedding and the front desk didn't tell me either. The elderly woman looked at the man and just asked him why didn't he just tell her instead of having her call, etc. The young man got very defensive and sarcastically said, "I wasn't lying, they're booked. We're not supposed to say there is a wedding."

I don't know why they just couldn't have been truthful and more polite with me and the older couple. What is the big secret? Ironically, I later saw they had the wedding posted just a few feet away.

In the hot tub later, I heard other people complaining that they didn't think the staff was that friendly either. There was a very nice young man named Gregory working at the pool that deserves to be complimented.

Having said that, the property is very nice looking and up to date. It's lacking an outdoor pool and the towels by the indoor pool aren't much bigger than a dish towel.

IF YOU HAVE ALLERGIESBE AWARE THIS HOTEL ALLOWS PETS AND DOGS ARE WALKING AROUND. I WAS TREATED TO ONE GOING THE BATHROOM IN THE FRONT GARDENS.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-Passat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Traveled here w/ my husband & 4 yr old son. Booked our stay a few weeks out through a 3rd party site @ a discounted rate after reading reviews here on Trip Advisor.
One of the best looking hotels in Placid & offers incredible views as it sits atop a hill overlooking mirror lake. Welcoming, curtious staff, pleanty of pillows & towels & clean indoor pool & hot tub. Downside was the room service~ $50 for breakfast and the food sucked.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate3821933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews