We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel if you stay in the Adirondack wing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We stayed at the Crown Plaza in October - it is a tale of one hotel with two different characters. The Adirondack Wing were we stayed is what you expect from a Crown Plaza and a little more - the wing is contained from the the older wing by a key access door, it also has a separate car park. The older wing approached from the main reception has seen better days and seemed to house the residents from large conferences, or whilst we were there, the kids from the AmCan Hockey event.

Our room was modern, clean, spotless, spacious with a fireplace and balcony overlooking the mountains and ski jump. The bathroom had a large walk in shower and double jacuzzi (only negative is that there was too much clutter on the bathroom counter ie. coffee machine and other sundries - on a green note - is it necessary to have 4 sets of towels in one bathroom!).

The swimming pool we didn't try out as it was full of kids - the gym wasn't much cop - probably better off going for a run outside or do a few reps of the hill leading up to the hotel.

The Reception staff were exceptional and so helpful - the lounge and bar area had excellent views of the mountains and lake beyond. We didn't eat at the hotel as we tend not to do so, but ate in town.

If we had to go back to Lake Placid we would definitely book in again in the Adirondack Wing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arewereallythere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakePlacidBizOwner, Owner at Crowne Plaza Lake Placid, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2010

Thanks for your helpful comments. I have passed along the details of your stay to our staff. I have great news to share with fans of the Crowne Plaza: a beautiful new fitness center will open next summer - on the main floor adjacent to the pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,106 - 1,112 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2010

We booked a room in the Adirondack Wing and got a free upgrade to a suite! Can't beat that! Pool was a little rough, but the view from the room was great!

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
Thank xraystephosbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

This is a nice facility with beautiful views. A hockey tournament was in town and the hotel was filled with hockey kids. The front desk staff was very patient with all the kids who lost their keys and are obviously use to dealing with a high volume of guests. We stayed in the Adirondack wing, which had a beautiful view of the mountains. The room was spacious, inviting and top notch. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud, very comfortable. I was sorry that our stay ended. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dedede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

The location of this hotel is great. It sits up on a hill overlooking the town with an absolutely beautiful view. The hike up the hill can be a bit much for some, but at the bottom is everything you'll need.

The room was clean, but a bit dated. Not outrageously so, but it hasn't been updated in awhile. True to the brand, the bed was comfy and more importantly, it was very quiet. We were never disturbed by the hallway noise or the family next door.

The kids loved the pool- but the hot tub is a joke. It is warm at best and the jets were really non-existent.

If there was a knock on the place it had to be the restaurant. We ate there the first night out of convenience and that was a mistake. The service was horrific (1.5 hours for 3 kids meals??) and the food was mediocre at best. Sadly, they weren't that busy. We did look at the breakfast buffet, but for that price... not gonna happen when there are tons of little cafe's right down the hill.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyogiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We have stayed 3 nights at the Crown Plaza and really enjoyed our stay there. The hotel is well located, just some minutes and you are in the city center. And yes, the view is phantastic. We did not eat in the hotel as there ae many nice restaurants around. We took the advantage of the private beach and spend a relaxed afternoon there. Its a good place to relax in the nature.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anjab82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Crowne Plaza officials should review this property because it is not up to standards. Unless you are in the new part called the Adirondack wing it's very much like a LaQuinta Inn at a Crowne Plaza rate. The room was dirty upon arrival -- food crumbs beside chairs were never removed, and room very musty and old smelling, mattresses are old and uncomfortable, sheets were never changed during a 3 day stay, towels were like thin sandpaper and access to the tub or shower was via hurdling the toilet. The view was fantastic, I was in a first floor room and while there were two plastic chairs outside I was unable to sit in them due to the dirt and how flimsy they were. Parking is a long way away from the rooms so plan to walk a long distance hauling your luggage. No one was available to help with luggage. Lake Placid is a beautiful place to visit and I will be back but not to this hotel - it's certainly no resort.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The web site looks fantastic but is misleading. This is not a resort by our standard and the "two bedroom" room was a normal room with extra beds stoved in. The golf course is a 5 minute drive and it is definately not on the lake. Our room was on the ground floor near the lift and you could hear the lift bell all night. The free internet was a plus. We had to ask for our romm to be cleaned at 5 pm! While Lake Placid is beautiful, overall this hotel was very disappoiting for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.2 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#12 of 31 in Lake Placid
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.5 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lake Placid

Address: 101 Olympic Drive, Center Of Village, Overlooking Lake, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: £93 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Lake Placid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center of village, overlooking lake, adjacent to Olympic Center. Family owned & operated. Quality & Meetings Service Excellence award winner. Highlights: 245 guest rooms and suites, many with Jacuzzis & fireplaces, 45 holes championship golf, 6 tennis courts, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room, extensive meeting space, private beach with paddle & row boats at the Lake Placid Club. Restaurants: MacKenzie's, Great Room Lobby & Bar, The Lake Placid Club Golf House, (year round weddings/special events, and seasonal for lunch) and The Lake Placid Club Boathouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort And Golf Club Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Lake Placid Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing