We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Jungle Monkey is the most lovely backpackers I have been to in SA, our stay was very memorable and had a great time.
The room we stayed in was perfect and clean and the view was beautiful.
All the staff we met all were so friendly and fun, especially on our hikes and trips.
I cant wait to go back again and again!
Thank you to Jungle Monkey for making our stay so great.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daisy656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

Whenever I am in the neighbourhood (which is not as often as I would like) I always pull in to Jungle Monkey. Great place with heaps of live music, stunning hikes and awesome ocean boat rides. Plenty choice in accommodation types great deck with ocean view and a very lively bar.
TIP: go during the Sardine Run and watch the oceanic madness from their viewing deck!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GKlungers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annaknb, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Monkey Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

thank you :) We are looking forward to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Well, to start of with the photo's which are on the internet is not the same as for the place!!!Our booking was confirmed by jungle monkey, but we dide not get our rooms we booked for, but still paid the same amount of money of a little crammy place,which was covered with the ants!!! The hygiene of the place is terrible and we didn't even receive a receipt for payment nor where there any activities as advertised and that the barman and owner or manager did not organise anything for the guests. It seemed that these people were smoking illegal seeing that they were on trips the entire time. We paid for the entire weekend, but only slept for one night seeing that the beds was not cleanly covered nor was the room clean. We were never refunded, seeing that management was a sleep and didn't even wake up when trying to wake them up. My advise to every one!!This place is a dissaster area and there is no ocean view!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't go to Jungle monkey!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hadlow518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annaknb, social network administrator at Jungle Monkey Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

We are very sorry you were not happy with your stay at Jungle Monkey, which is situated on the Wild Coast, between Ocean, Mountain and Jungle. In this area you will find geckos, spiders, snakes, bugs and even ants. Clearly our cleaners will try to avoid having them in your room at check- in but since we live where we live you will find them every now and again. Receipts and Invoices are not automatically handed out on payment but can be requested from the reception, no problem. The pictures we put on the internet are pictures of our beautiful place as well as pictures of our activities...as you can see, the oceanview from the deck, the bar- and poolarea is beautiful :) WE DISTANCE OURSELVES FROM TAKING OR PROMOTING ANY ILLEGAL DRUGS!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

During our holiday in SA we came to PSJ and so to Jungle Monkey(JM). At first sight the property looks cool and clean but when you come to the rooms and the shared kitchen, ants are everywhere, even in the broadtoaster. During our holiday we are keen on doing daytrips organised by the hostel. We asked JM several times for activities but JM did not organise any(only when guests(!) gather 4 or more persons). We had to book our trips at another backpackers(Amapondo). JM is close to the citycentre what is really nice but far away from the beach, 2nd beach where you can swim. The staff is not very friendly and does not understand what hospitality is for most of the time.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kortewegjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Hi travellers,
we have been to the jungle monkey backpackers for two nights during our journey through SA this November 2012. In our opinion a well kept and clean accommodation that is worth to be visited for a stay in Port St. Johns. The room called "monkey view" with a great view to the jungle and the surrounding mountains from the appendant spacey veranda was amazing. The own open air shower under banana leaves was breathtaking. The owners Mike and Hennie were so friendly, helpful and really cared. They take you up every evening to an airstrip and to the cliffside of mount thesiger to enjoy a sundowner with a perfect overview to the river and its mouth. We also did a halfday-trip with their inhouse-guide across the river and along the beautiful beaches to a nearby xhosa-village - very nice and funny !!
This accommodation deserves really a great recommendation. Thumbs up.
Many greeting from Germany from Uli & Gerhard

Room Tip: Room "monkey view" is really worth to stay !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franken-Uli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Jungle Monkeys was our third backpacker. After great experiences in Chintsa and coffee Bay we met a new kind of backpacker on our route. We stayed in a unacceptable dirty and disgusting room. It was a tiny shed in the garden, there was gecko [--] everywhere, it seemed that the last cleaning was a long time ago. Now we are not surprised that we had to pay the accomodation in advance. The pizza was not good at all, they used old cheese. BUT: The staff was very friendly and we had a really cool guide on our hiking tour.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellangelo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annaknb, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Monkey Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Our ensuite garden cabin has been renovated in the meantime and is all nice and shiny now :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Coolest place in PSJ come at weekend nights for live music , fire , beer and good time
Very friendly stuff and owner.
Don't forget to check out the great massage by aiisha,
Enjoy local beer and dance with great people

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank IssyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port St Johns hotels
2.0 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
213 reviews
2.5 mi away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#2 of 14 in Port St Johns
30 reviews
2.1 mi away
Port St John's River Lodge
Port St John's River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port St Johns
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#5 of 14 in Port St Johns
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Umzimvubu Retreat
Umzimvubu Retreat
#4 of 8 in Port St Johns
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Monkey Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Monkey Backpackers

Address: 3 Berea Road, Port St Johns, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Port St Johns
Price Range: £15 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Monkey is situated in the rugged and untouched heart of the Wild Coast, in South Africa’s Eastern Cape. Here, we are still impressed by what nature brings forth patiently and by the result of its rejuvenation. Port St. Johns is home to many rare species. Watch the parrots or go on a boat trip to see whales and dolphins during the sardine run.The stunning views and tranquil surroundings invite to go exploring. Stroll through the traditional Pondo villages or climb the rolling hills with our guides. We offer light hikes as well as adventurous full day trips.Enjoy a swim in our pools, sleep in our comfortable doubles, triples, the safari tent, dormitories or camp in the garden.Our restaurant offers a broad selection of hearty meals and the vibey bar invites to settle down after an adventurous day. Enjoy regular live performances by local artists or jam together on our fully equipped band stand. Use our instruments or bring your own.Just remember when the Pondo Fever strikes, you might never want to leave again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Jungle Monkey Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Monkey And The Island Backpackers Hotel Port St Johns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing