We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but still so lala”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice, but still so lala”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

TOPS:
The main room is really beautiful and all the walls amazingly painted, so that's definitely a highlight here! Another highlight are the animals living on the property (geese, st. bernad, ...), the bar prices are absolutely ok and the rooms and bathrooms clean. I really liked the campfire in front of the bar, though we had to care for it, in order to keep on burning.

FLOPS:
I always had to wait at least 45 minutes for my food, though it didn't seem crowded or busy at all, that's a bit of a shame, because actually the food was really nice! In the dorm my matress was really bad, very small and uncomfortable. A change here would be nice!

Btw. Who want's to stay away from weed, this is NOT the place to go. Though they have "no drugs" signs on their entrance EVERYBODY (including staff) were stoned most evenings. This doesn't make them seem very serious. But still the staff are all very nice and kind!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blownfaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    19
    7
    9
    3
See reviews for
5
26
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
201 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here after spending a week working in the Transkei so that might have colored our view somewhat. We really enjoyed the relaxed vibe of the Jungle Monkey. Very enjoyable live music in the evening at the bar and a fabulous breakfast in the morning. The room was decent enough. The Wild Coast is a beautiful place! We would stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank honase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Fantastic vibe and relaxed atmosphere. Staff friendly and helpful. Good food good bar and great trips. A must for anyone visiting South Africa. The surrounding area is stunning and the guys here really know how to highlight the best port st johns has to offer. We will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisonke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

If you like the slow lane you might enjoy it here. We did a very nice waterfall hike. It was a pretty place. The issue was figuring out who was working there and who were backpackers. The staff were high most of the time, which might be the reason they forgot to drive us to dinner as they had promised. everything is a little uncertain. You never know if you will get what has been promised for you. But we had a nice time anyways, but if you can't stand the slow lane, don't go!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Jungle Monkey is the most lovely backpackers I have been to in SA, our stay was very memorable and had a great time.
The room we stayed in was perfect and clean and the view was beautiful.
All the staff we met all were so friendly and fun, especially on our hikes and trips.
I cant wait to go back again and again!
Thank you to Jungle Monkey for making our stay so great.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daisy656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Whenever I am in the neighbourhood (which is not as often as I would like) I always pull in to Jungle Monkey. Great place with heaps of live music, stunning hikes and awesome ocean boat rides. Plenty choice in accommodation types great deck with ocean view and a very lively bar.
TIP: go during the Sardine Run and watch the oceanic madness from their viewing deck!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GKlungers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annaknb, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Monkey Backpackers, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
thank you :) We are looking forward to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Well, to start of with the photo's which are on the internet is not the same as for the place!!!Our booking was confirmed by jungle monkey, but we dide not get our rooms we booked for, but still paid the same amount of money of a little crammy place,which was covered with the ants!!! The hygiene of the place is terrible and we didn't even receive a receipt for payment nor where there any activities as advertised and that the barman and owner or manager did not organise anything for the guests. It seemed that these people were smoking illegal seeing that they were on trips the entire time. We paid for the entire weekend, but only slept for one night seeing that the beds was not cleanly covered nor was the room clean. We were never refunded, seeing that management was a sleep and didn't even wake up when trying to wake them up. My advise to every one!!This place is a dissaster area and there is no ocean view!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't go to Jungle monkey!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadlow518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annaknb, social network administrator at Jungle Monkey Backpackers, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
We are very sorry you were not happy with your stay at Jungle Monkey, which is situated on the Wild Coast, between Ocean, Mountain and Jungle. In this area you will find geckos, spiders, snakes, bugs and even ants. Clearly our cleaners will try to avoid having them in your room at check- in but since we live where we live you will find them every now and again. Receipts and Invoices are not automatically handed out on payment but can be requested from the reception, no problem. The pictures we put on the internet are pictures of our beautiful place as well as pictures of our activities...as you can see, the oceanview from the deck, the bar- and poolarea is beautiful :) WE DISTANCE OURSELVES FROM TAKING OR PROMOTING ANY ILLEGAL DRUGS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port St Johns hotels
2.0 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lodge on the Beach
The Lodge on the Beach
#5 of 8 in Port St Johns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.5 mi away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#7 of 14 in Port St Johns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Port St John's River Lodge
Port St John's River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.2 mi away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#2 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Umzimvubu Retreat
Umzimvubu Retreat
#4 of 8 in Port St Johns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Monkey Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Monkey Backpackers

Property: Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Address: 3 Berea Road, Port St Johns, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Port St Johns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Monkey is situated in the rugged and untouched heart of the Wild Coast, in South Africa’s Eastern Cape. Here, we are still impressed by what nature brings forth patiently and by the result of its rejuvenation. Port St. Johns is home to many rare species. Watch the parrots or go on a boat trip to see whales and dolphins during the sardine run.The stunning views and tranquil surroundings invite to go exploring. Stroll through the traditional Pondo villages or climb the rolling hills with our guides. We offer light hikes as well as adventurous full day trips.Enjoy a swim in our pools, sleep in our comfortable doubles, triples, the safari tent, dormitories or camp in the garden.Our restaurant offers a broad selection of hearty meals and the vibey bar invites to settle down after an adventurous day. Enjoy regular live performances by local artists or jam together on our fully equipped band stand. Use our instruments or bring your own.Just remember when the Pondo Fever strikes, you might never want to leave again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Jungle Monkey Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Monkey And The Island Backpackers Hotel Port St Johns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing