We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“so beautiful”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

a great place in a beautiful setting. lotsa stuff to do in the area like hikes and sunset views. the kitchens/loos/chill areas were good and the camping finds you woken up by roosters in the morning, quite quaint :) the bar is great and everything is decorated with cool murals, quite a fun atmosphere

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yolande D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henriette E, Owner at Jungle Monkey Backpackers, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Good good day Yolande

We're glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and for sharing the magic of this beautiful untouched place. Know that you are always welcome anytime you need to kick off your shoes and breath in the fresh air from the trees, mountains and ocean, whilst sipping on a delightful cocktail.

All the best
Regards
Jungle Monkey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    19
    7
    9
    3
See reviews for
5
26
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

nice place to sink a few beers after a day out on the surf chasing sardines. Good food and nice atmosphere. Didn't stay there but accommodation looked like it best catered for back-packers (you get what it says on the tin)

Room Tip: even if the accommodation isn't for you the bar, music and food make this a nice place to chill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry_rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibrina Czech republic
Level Contributor
144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have been there just for a one night but we enjoyed it very much.Very nice place on a top of Port St.Johns with amazing wiew to a mouth of Umzimbuvu river from nice terasse above the bar.Rooms are very simple furnished just a bed,table and lamp but the living room was very comfortable.Also comunal kitchen was perfect,showers and toilet clean.We met with a lot of people there en we felt like with the old friends on our common hollidays.Absolutelly perfect atmosphere with the live music in the evening.If you travel like backpacker this must be a place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ludek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

TOPS:
The main room is really beautiful and all the walls amazingly painted, so that's definitely a highlight here! Another highlight are the animals living on the property (geese, st. bernad, ...), the bar prices are absolutely ok and the rooms and bathrooms clean. I really liked the campfire in front of the bar, though we had to care for it, in order to keep on burning.

FLOPS:
I always had to wait at least 45 minutes for my food, though it didn't seem crowded or busy at all, that's a bit of a shame, because actually the food was really nice! In the dorm my matress was really bad, very small and uncomfortable. A change here would be nice!

Btw. Who want's to stay away from weed, this is NOT the place to go. Though they have "no drugs" signs on their entrance EVERYBODY (including staff) were stoned most evenings. This doesn't make them seem very serious. But still the staff are all very nice and kind!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blownfaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
201 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here after spending a week working in the Transkei so that might have colored our view somewhat. We really enjoyed the relaxed vibe of the Jungle Monkey. Very enjoyable live music in the evening at the bar and a fabulous breakfast in the morning. The room was decent enough. The Wild Coast is a beautiful place! We would stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank honase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Fantastic vibe and relaxed atmosphere. Staff friendly and helpful. Good food good bar and great trips. A must for anyone visiting South Africa. The surrounding area is stunning and the guys here really know how to highlight the best port st johns has to offer. We will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisonke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

If you like the slow lane you might enjoy it here. We did a very nice waterfall hike. It was a pretty place. The issue was figuring out who was working there and who were backpackers. The staff were high most of the time, which might be the reason they forgot to drive us to dinner as they had promised. everything is a little uncertain. You never know if you will get what has been promised for you. But we had a nice time anyways, but if you can't stand the slow lane, don't go!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port St Johns hotels
2.0 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
203 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lodge on the Beach
The Lodge on the Beach
#5 of 8 in Port St Johns
44 reviews
2.5 mi away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#7 of 14 in Port St Johns
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Port St John's River Lodge
Port St John's River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port St Johns
64 reviews
2.2 mi away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#2 of 14 in Port St Johns
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Umzimvubu Retreat
Umzimvubu Retreat
#4 of 8 in Port St Johns
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Monkey Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Monkey Backpackers

Property: Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Address: 3 Berea Road, Port St Johns, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Port St Johns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Monkey is situated in the rugged and untouched heart of the Wild Coast, in South Africa’s Eastern Cape. Here, we are still impressed by what nature brings forth patiently and by the result of its rejuvenation. Port St. Johns is home to many rare species. Watch the parrots or go on a boat trip to see whales and dolphins during the sardine run.The stunning views and tranquil surroundings invite to go exploring. Stroll through the traditional Pondo villages or climb the rolling hills with our guides. We offer light hikes as well as adventurous full day trips.Enjoy a swim in our pools, sleep in our comfortable doubles, triples, the safari tent, dormitories or camp in the garden.Our restaurant offers a broad selection of hearty meals and the vibey bar invites to settle down after an adventurous day. Enjoy regular live performances by local artists or jam together on our fully equipped band stand. Use our instruments or bring your own.Just remember when the Pondo Fever strikes, you might never want to leave again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jungle Monkey Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Monkey And The Island Backpackers Hotel Port St Johns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing