We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An oasis”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nice people, the cooking was great, tasty and healthy, the view from our house was great, forest and beach! Had a fun couple of days at Amapondo!! And Very much enjoyed the inhouse-donkey and inhouse-dogs.
We forgot to get our passports from the safe before leaving and Amapondo were Very Very helpful in this matter..... trying to get it to our next backpackers and in the end sending it by post to us! Thank you so much!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ambassade-Uffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Glad you enjoyed yourselves. Our food is indeed yummy. Home cooked, lots of good veggie options, and the finest of meat from a great butcher. And cheap too!

Thanks for mentioning our lovely animals. 3 friendly dogs, 3 sweet cats, and 1 very cheeky donkey!

Of course we couldnt ignore your passports - and I am glad you got them quick enough.

Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    51
    21
    10
    9
See reviews for
13
71
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We first visited Amapondo for the food, and kept coming back for the awesome staff and cool environment. There are tons of guided tours and cool things to do and their burgers are no joke. It's a short walk to the beach and it's got an awesome view. Check it out.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kari_c323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
I have just ordered a halloumi and mushroom burger after reading your review. We have chicken, beef, lentil and bean burgers too. Yip - no joke!!!

So glad you had a good time. Please come again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

we camped and in the garden and had a great time, just wished that we could stay longer.
There is a pooltable, tabletennis, and pretty funky jungle right next to u. A donkey as a pet and a few dogs. Very chilled out place , very easy to get stuck here. All the best to the staff!
Lasse and Jenny from Malmö, Sweden! Peace!

Room Tip: Bring your own tent - great spot in the garden and deadcheap and then u can use all the facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lars A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We have really great camping facilities. There are lights and plugs near where you camp, and the views are really incredible.

Our bar and restaurant is fully equipped with a great menu, a pool table, a tabletennis table, a Fooz Ball table, and even a Poker Table. We also have lots of other fun games to play. And of course you met our friendly pets and silly donkey.

And we are extremely well priced - thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

When you arrive at amapondo you get a verry warm welcome, we stayed at the spanish reed dorm, it was a nice room and the beds were good. We did a 3 hour horse riding, we saw amazing things, great views and it was nice to meet some people from the village.
Thanks amapondo for this lovely experience!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for the great review. I actually went on that horse ride with you Daphne, and throgoughly enjoyed myself. Thanks for a great visit and I hope you make it back here one day...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jansenville, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Friendly people. Short walk to the beach. Clean facilities. Good value for money! A little slice of paradise at Amapondo... Quirky decor and jamming tunes in the bar. Peaceful spots when you need some down time.
All in all: AWESOME.
Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SarahRobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We are super friendly. Amapondo is not just a backpackers - its our home. Most of the staff live on site and we love it here.

Hope you make it back on day...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Loved to be there and it was really awesome i really liked it and it was nice. Definitely a place to visit so go there, its amazing. I didn't like the sharks, though. Anyway, it was awesome and I'll come back for sure

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
So glad you had a good time. Its a great place. The sharks are an issue, but there are plans to develop a tidal pool in the ocean. Until they do that, there are still great places to swim. I go spearfishing often and know where is safe, so please ask me or our tour guide where is good to swim. There are loads of deep rock pools - one that is 5 metres deep and you can jump from some rocks into it or just wade in from the beach side. There is also a waterfall with an 11m high jump, and two dams. So we have no shortage of good swimming spots.

Please come again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

There is a few places in this world you can go to and don't want to leave. Amapondo is one of those places. Everyone is friendly and calm. I loved it. It was an amassing experience for me and my girlfriend getting away from the city life and all that. There is so much scenery that you should stay for a long time because there is always something to do ! Thanks to all the staff over there, they really made us feel comfortable and close to them. Thanks guys :) All the best.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Van j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Home away from Home. Without the Rat Race. The only thing you will race with here is our Donkey along the beach, or the guy next to you feasting on his yummy meal and downing his ice cold beer faster than you can.

Please come again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port St Johns
2.0 mi away
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
#4 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge on the Beach
The Lodge on the Beach
#5 of 8 in Port St Johns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#6 of 14 in Port St Johns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#3 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.3 mi away
Port St John's River Lodge
Port St John's River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 5 in Coffee Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amapondo Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amapondo Backpackers Lodge

Property: Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Address: Second Beach Road | Wildcoast, Port St Johns 5120, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Port St Johns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Amapondo Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amapondo is Ama-azing. Amapondo is nestled on a hill on the verge of a tropical rain forest and only 2 minutes walk from a beautiful beach. Head down to sunbathe or plunge in the clear warm waters of the deep rock pools nearby. The African-themed rooms and deluxe private self-catering cottages all have their own unique design and style. The quirkily designed cottages have incredible views, are really comfortable and come at a price that you'll find hard to match. Turtle Cove has one of the best views on the Wild Coast from its upstairs bubble bath, whilst Crystal House, with its glass frontage, offers classic panoramic ocean views. Whether you want a quiet, relaxing break in your own piece of paradise, a base from which you can explore the natural beauty of the area, an adventure on one of their many tours, close interactions with locals, genuine cultural experiences, yoga lessons, a deep tissue massage, or a thumping all-out party at their buzzy bar, you'll find it at Amapondo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Amapondo Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amapondo Hotel Port St Johns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing