We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs maintenance and a proper cleaning”
Review of Umzimvubu Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Umzimvubu Retreat
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Nice views and friendly staff but the place is very old and dirty. Some window glasses are broken, others don't work. There is even one glass back door with no glass anymore and a piece of wood instead that doesn't close the hole properly (ideal for mosquitoes and thief). Way too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACL_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

On arrival we informed for the price: 450R/night they said. On check-out this turned out to be per person, which is way too much for a dirty, old room. The view and the breakfast are very nice though. Furthermore it says à la carte menu restaurant openend Mon-Sat, but we found it closed on Fri and when it was open it was some kind of very small buffet, but definitely no à la carte. I would not recommend a stay in this B&B

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anoniempje138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UmzimvubuRetreat, Manager at Umzimvubu Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

I am sorry that "anoniempie 138" had a bad experience. Sometimes misunderstandings do occur with the rate per person or per room. However, that cuts both ways; we could have made a honest mistake or anoniempie could have honestly misunderstood.
Looking at the date I must say that at that time our chef's child died so our restaurant could have been closed on that evening as we didn't expect any clientelle for that evening. Also bear in mind that two other good restaurants is within 200 meters from us.
Dirty old room? Why did anoniempie not complain when booking in? Especieally about the "dirty'! We are three star graded by SA Tourism: That means that our most basic room carry the three star grading. Our best rooms is certainly even a higher rating but, as we are graded on our "worst room", it means that our worst room fulfill in three star requirements.
As we still get a three out of five from anoniempie, and without knowing in which room she stayed, I will keep my response to all the above.
Once again, sorry for the fact that for whatever reason, you didn't enjoy your stay fully.
Regards.
Dries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The place is nice and the family house (which looks like a real family was living there up until recently). The grounds are nice as well and the views of the river meeting the ocean. Breakfast is basic.

Room Tip: The big family house is separate from the rest of the rooms and has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eligingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We arrived here having had nowhere to stay as we had been let down by Lodge on the Beach who had not honoured our bookings. We were welcomed and shown to a self catering cottage which was clean and comfortable. We had breakfast in their dining room which was very good and one night we had dinner which we all enjoyed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed here by default as where we had booked had re-let our rooms so we had nowhere to stay. Thank you for helping us out and we enjoyed the self catering cottage you let us have for two nights, which had lovely views overlooking the sea. We had breakfast in their breakfast room the two morning we were there and very nice they were, and one evening we ate in their A-la-Carte Dining Room, which we all thoroughly enjoyed. The cottage had three bedrooms and was well equipped for self catering should you have wished. It all worked out better for us in the end in what easily could have been a tricky situation had we not found accommodation as we are all in our 60's, and sleeping in a car is not an option in Port St.Johns.

Room Tip: The self catering cottage is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 450kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank spawntm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kies een kamer met zicht op de baai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulLut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port St Johns hotels
1.5 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
213 reviews
2.3 mi away
Port St John's River Lodge
Port St John's River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port St Johns
69 reviews
2.0 mi away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#3 of 14 in Port St Johns
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#4 of 14 in Port St Johns
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
#2 of 14 in Port St Johns
75 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lodge on the Beach
The Lodge on the Beach
#5 of 8 in Port St Johns
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umzimvubu Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umzimvubu Retreat

Address: Erf 380 | Golf Course Dve, Port St Johns 5120, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Port St Johns
Price Range: £30 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Umzimvubu Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umzimvubu Retreat Guest House is situated on densely forested dunes overlooking the Umzimvubu River Mouth and Indian Ocean on First Beach. The Guest House’s beautifully restored woodwork finish, extends a subtle charm to the warm atmosphere.We are within comfortable walking distance from the town center. We guarantee unmistakable South African hospitality … whether for a holiday, business trip or just passing by, we pledge satisfaction, value for money and fond memories. Experience the incredible scenic beauty of the Wild Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Umzimvubu Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing