We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port St Johns
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed in the honeymoon suite. Best view of both lagoon and sea, lovely room and private. Separate breakfast lounge for dedicated few chalets - very good idea. Service was excellent and the dinner arranged by Nico in wine cellar was superb!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Andre & Ronelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Andre and Ronelle,

Thank you so much for writing this wonderful review and of course for choosing Umngazi River Bungalows to celebrate your anniversary!

It was great to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you had time to relax and enjoy just some of the facilities we have available here.

I do hope we get to welcome you both back for the next celebration!

Best wishes,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

831 - 837 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

What a fantasit experience. They treat you like royalty and feed you like Kings. Great family resort with lots to do for all ages. Love the wild coast. I wanna go back. I recommend this resort to anyone who doesn't want to be bothered by all thing urban. Umngazi is off the beaten track and a place where you can really connect with yourself.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ross A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Ross,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and of course your recommendation, we really appreciate this as well as you choosing Umngazi for your holiday.

It was great to read how much you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed all that is on offer here at Umngazi.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The only reason that Umngazi River Bungalows is only "Nearly Paradise" and not the full version is the sorry state of the potholed access road which is about 8km of an obstacle course. This we understand is an issue with the local municipality, but it does detract from visitors enjoyment of the visit. The resort itself is outstanding with accommodation consisting of thatched cottages/rondavels with views of the gardens, lagoon, river or Indian Ocean. As is normal the more you can see with the view the more you pay - but all aspects are very pleasant. We choose one of the Emlonweni units with wonderful views of lagoon, river and ocean and the small increase in cost is well worth it. It is so nice to be lulled off to sleep each night with the sound of the waves breaking onto the beach. Although you can reach the beach by wading across the river or swimming the lagoon, most guests use the small boat which is on constant call to ferry them to or from the beach. The beach itself is lovely as it gently slopes into the sea and is long and wide - other than the resort guests and some local fishermen (and cows) the beach feels deserted. Food quality is excellent and we recommend prospective visitors to try to include a Saturday night in their stay as the Saturday fish buffet is justifiably famous. We were treated to clam chowder, crayfish, tiger prawns, calamari, oysters, mussels, line fish etc and all dishes were cooked to perfection. Other than the pot holed roads our only complaint is that we could only stay for four nights - 7 would have been so much better. Ancient Travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DenisWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Denis,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review and of course choosing Umngazi River Bungalows as part of your holiday.

It was great to read you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you could have stayed longer! Our seafood evening on Saturday is legendary, I am not sure if it can be matched anywhere else in South Africa, many of our guests try and book so they get to enjoy two Saturdays so as to have two Seafood evenings in their stay!

My apologies for the road, Umngazi does try its best to keep up with the potholes whilst we wait for the Roads Department to upgrade it.

I do hope we get to welcome you back to Umngazi, and longer next time, until then.

Best wishes,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had the most amazing time! I had been to Umngazi many times but hadn't been in the last 12 years. I was worried when I went back this time it wouldn't be as good, as a lot of these resorts do seem to get 'run down'. Well I was so impressed - the rooms were nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. The food was exceptional and the sea food buffet was amazing. We have booked for next year already, can't wait!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robyn & Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Robyn and Richard,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review and welcome back! It was great to read that Umngazi was the same enjoyable resort that you stayed 12 years ago. We do make a great effort to keep on looking at ways of improving on what we offer and of course making we maintain the property to the high standards our guests deserve.

I hope it doesn't take another 12 years for you to return!

Kind regards,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Great for families - plenty for the kids to do
Management appeared lax about small kids in dining room in the evening - this should be closely monitored as part of the appeal of Umngazi is that the adults get to have some quiet time too

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jennifer & Gran... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Jennifer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, thank you for your kind comments and feedback.

Just to clarify, we do intervene when children are misbehaving in the adult areas but there is also an expectation that the parents will also make sure their children are behaving as well, after we have spoken to them about it. We do like parents to have their children join them for meals if they so wish, but have also asked that the children remain in the Children's diningroom if they are unable to behave in the main diningroom.

I hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

need to stay at least 3 nights, nothing shorter than that! kids have plenty of entertainment and adults can enjoy delicious meals and relaxing views. deffinetely worth waiting for an opening to get there!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bausilic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Umngazi Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this super review, we are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay with us and of course look forward to you returning in the near future.

Your comment about keeping on trying is quite right, we are fortunate to have extremely high occupancies due to the popularity of the Resort, but you mustn't give up as there is always the chance of getting in.

Wishing you all the best,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Our recent stay at Umngazi was all and more we expected it to be It is a children's paradise with all sorts of activities on the go all the time. Wonderful to have a nanny to keep an eye on the children so that the parents can have dinner in peace. Food was first class. Decor absolutely fantastic - fresh cotton sheets and clean towels everyday. The rooms were beautifully cleaned. Staff extremely friendly and efficient. In particular I asked for the loan of a pushchair and no amount of trouble was gone to to get me one. They even came and pumped the tires of the pushchair which was borrowed from the manager.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Christopher & Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Christopher and Christine,

Thank you so much for your kind review, it was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us here at Umngazi and that the Team made sure you were constantly looked after. Just to make sure there is no misunderstanding the pram belonged to my son who is now no longer needing it, just in case anyone thought it mine.

We hope you will be visiting us again soon. Thank you for choosing Umngazi for your family holiday.

Best wishes,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port St Johns
4.3 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
213 reviews
3.9 mi away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#5 of 14 in Port St Johns
30 reviews
6.7 mi away
Port St John's River Lodge
Port St John's River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port St Johns
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
169 reviews
6.2 mi away
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
#2 of 14 in Port St Johns
75 reviews
6.8 mi away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#4 of 14 in Port St Johns
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa

Address: I, Port St Johns, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Hotel Class:4 star — Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the Wild Coast, in the heart of Pondoland, and encompassed by a rocky coastline, indigenous forests, secluded coves and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean, lies the award winning Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa - an award winning family resort & spa. The thatch-roofed bungalows are situated amongst the indigenous gardens which provide the perfect setting for a totally relaxed holiday. Weekly fly-in packages are available Friday to Friday from Durban where you fly at 500 feet above sea level along the beautiful coastline - a wonderful way to start your holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Umngazi River Bungalows Hotel Port St Johns
Umngazi River Hotel
Umngazi River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing