We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Famiy Holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port St Johns
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Certificate of Excellence
Durban
1 review
“Best Famiy Holiday”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Once again the most amazing holiday for us as a couple and for the us as a family. Food this year was world class and service never ceases to astound us! The accomodation was superb and the weather played its part.This is our 8th year in a row of soming to Umngazi and cannot wait for our 9th!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Kathleen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this awesome review, it is always so rewarding to read when someone has been returning as many times as you have that we still manage to impress and improve on the last stay. Thank you so much for choosing Umngazi for your family holiday, we really do appreciate the support.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    194
    54
    9
    6
See reviews for
427
412
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Howick, KwaZulu Natal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was our first visit to Umngazi. Enjoyed every single minute from the moment we arrived. Stayed for six nights which is a perfect length of stay, including the seafood buffet on the Saturday night. Rooms were lovely and spacious and 'private' dining room serving breakfast for certain rooms was lovely. Enjoyed the fact that the resort is suitable for families but was good to be able to have some quiet time away from the children when required.

Room Tip: Choose rooms carefully depending on your requirements e.g. closer to the facilities if you have chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirleyBenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Shirley,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review about your recent stay here at Umngazi. It really is fantastic to read that you had the opportunity of enjoying the family as well as some alone time. Umngazi does offer so much so it is always great to read when people managed to fit so much in during their stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had a really enjoyable two days at Umngazi River Bungalows. What a special place with wonderful staff. Good food, family fun & enjoying the beach and river. The food was really lovely and good value. We felt safe at Umngazi. Two days was way too short so we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew & Kirste... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you so much for the great review, it was wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your family holiday 'together', you are so right, two days is far too short, but thank you for choosing Umngazi for those two days!

We do look forward to your return visit, a longer one next time.

Kind regards,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Food - fantastic! Service - exceptional. Our room was lovely with a gr8 view. However would have liked a fridge in it! Liked the least - at times, children in the bar surrounding & fingering the snax!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Tina,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, it was great to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us. With regards to the children in the bar we are now enforcing that no children are allowed in the bar area after 6pm and that they are able to get drinks served to them on the deck outside after this time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Umngazi and thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination!

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Umngazi River Bungalows and I am sure will not be our last. What a great place to unwind! Very comfortable rooms, beautiful location, and outstanding food and service. Wonderful Spa, with the most lovely rooms overlooking lagoon and sea. Can't speak more highly of this place. Frequented by lots of family groups and lots organized for kids.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room - lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Catherine,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, it really is fantastic for the team to get such great feedback and to read how much you had enjoyed your 2nd stay with us. It is so important to us that each trip is more memorable than the next, and it sounds like we achieved just that.

We look forward to your next stay with us soon.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hi,
Once again everything was great. We had a wondeful stay. The food seems to get better every year and the rooms and gardens are in perfect condition. We are already looking forward to next year. Just one thing, some of the potholes on the approach road are huge and could so with some patching

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris & Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, great to read the holiday was everything that you had hoped it would be. With regards to the road we are currently doing some repairs after the rains that we had, it will be smoother for your next drive in.

Keep well and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Another fabulous week at Umngazi....just keeps getting better! Food fantastic, weather was perfect and plenty to keep the whole family busy - walks, spa treatments, boogi boarding, swimming, tennis and more!


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael & Georg... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you for this amazing review, great to read you managed to squeeze in so much fun with the family and even some quiet time at the Spa. Thank you for choosing Umngazi River Bungalows for the family holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port St Johns
4.3 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lodge on the Beach
The Lodge on the Beach
#5 of 8 in Port St Johns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
6.2 mi away
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
#4 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.9 mi away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#6 of 14 in Port St Johns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
6.7 mi away
Port St John's River Lodge
Port St John's River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa

Property: Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
Address: i, Port St Johns, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Hotel Class:4 star — Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the Wild Coast, in the heart of Pondoland, and encompassed by a rocky coastline, indigenous forests, secluded coves and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean, lies the award winning Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa - an award winning family resort & spa. The thatch-roofed bungalows are situated amongst the indigenous gardens which provide the perfect setting for a totally relaxed holiday. Weekly fly-in packages are available Friday to Friday from Durban where you fly at 500 feet above sea level along the beautiful coastline - a wonderful way to start your holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Umngazi River Bungalows Hotel Port St Johns
Umngazi River Hotel
Umngazi River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing