We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cows on the beach”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port St Johns
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Certificate of Excellence
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cows on the beach”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed one night en route to Morgans Bay. Great stop over choice. Loved the cows on the beach and the fabulous views from our room. Only regrets was we didn't have more time to spend a few more nights

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank NoleenH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Noleen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review, and thank you for staying with us, even it was a short stay, happy you loved our cows, we are proud of them!

I do hope we get to back to stay with us soon, maybe longer next time?

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    197
    55
    9
    6
See reviews for
438
417
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We have been visiting URB for 15 years and have evolved from a young married couple to a famliy of 4. (10 and 9 yr old kids). The quality of the location, facilities, food, staff and management means it is rebooked every year without fail.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyW437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Jeremy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review about your family holiday at Umngazi. It really is such a privilege to welcome you back year after year. Thank you for choosing Umngazi for your family holiday, we look forward to welcoming you back for your 16th stay next year!

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

What an absolutely wonderful holiday, so relaxing, friendly staff and just an all round chill out. Delicious food, amazing sunsets, what more can you ask for!

Fishing, boating and relaxing

Hope to do this again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marlene & Micha... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Marlene,

Thank you so much for giving Umngazi such a wonderful review, and thank you for choosing Umngazi for your holiday.

We of course look forward to returning soon.

Kind regards,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here for three days at the beginning of November 2013 and wished we had extended our stay. The cottage (#47) we reserved was a bit outdated but was clean and comfortable. our only complaint was the upper floor sliding door was difficult to open as the track was rotted away but we managed to gain access to the upper balcony to enjoy the amazing view of the Umngazi River and Indian ocean. There were some ants in the toilet area but it was expected being in the Jungle. The outdoor shower was amazing! All of the grounds, paths, restaurant, reception were well kept and the staff were always eager to please and friendly. Some folks have complained on their reviews about the road to the resort.....yes, it is rough but we found it fun and scenic. Watch out for cows!
The food.....Always good and plenty of options. The bar....plenty of drinks offered and a good atmosphere.
There are plenty of excursions available that we did not do. we chose to walk the miles of beaches at low tide or simply relax at our cottage.
The employees sang and entertained one evening during dinner. It mesmerized both of us and it will never be forgotten.
The Wild Coast has this name for a reason. Don't let the name discourage you as this place is definately worth a visit.

Room Tip: The entrance road is hard to find off of the main highway. it has a very small sign that we missed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferret50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Umngazi Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review about your stay here at Umngazi River Bungalows last year. It is always pleasing for me to read the comment, 'could have or should have' stayed longer, as it means that we have created a happy holiday memory for you. I do hope we get to welcome you back again one day soon, for longer next time though.

Kind regards,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Ideal for parents looking for a retreat that takes care of both kids and adults. Plenty of daily activities to choose from. Be prepared to put on weight! Add 2 hrs to travel time given - bad roads. Very steep walkways, not for those with bad knees.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rowood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Umngazi Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review about your stay at Umngazi, as well thank you for choosing Umngazi for your family holiday.

We look forward to another visit soon.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I spent a thoroughly enjoyable 2 night stay at Umngazi River Bungalows. This was our first visit but definitely not the last. We left wishing that we could've for a bit longer. This is probably the best beach in South Africa. The food was in abundance and thoroughly enjoyable. Great wines and fantastic prices too!!! Staff were very friendly and really helpful. Would def recommend dinner at the gazebo, this was really special. Umngazi is suitable for couples on a romantic getaway and families with children.

Room Tip: If travelling as a couple, ask for rooms away from the kiddies areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuzT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Luzuko,

Thank you so much for writing this wonderful review as well for choosing Umngazi for your short break. It was super to read that you managed to enjoyed as much as you did in your short stay and even better to read that you wanted to stay longer and of course will return.

We do look forward to you coming back soon.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Once again the most amazing holiday for us as a couple and for the us as a family. Food this year was world class and service never ceases to astound us! The accomodation was superb and the weather played its part.This is our 8th year in a row of soming to Umngazi and cannot wait for our 9th!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Kathleen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this awesome review, it is always so rewarding to read when someone has been returning as many times as you have that we still manage to impress and improve on the last stay. Thank you so much for choosing Umngazi for your family holiday, we really do appreciate the support.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port St Johns
0.0 mi away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
51 reviews
4.3 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
212 reviews
22.3 mi away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#3 of 14 in Port St Johns
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ulusaba Private Game Lodge
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 5 in Coffee Bay
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa

Property: Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
Address: I, Port St Johns, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Hotel Class:4 star — Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the Wild Coast, in the heart of Pondoland, and encompassed by a rocky coastline, indigenous forests, secluded coves and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean, lies the award winning Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa - an award winning family resort & spa. The thatch-roofed bungalows are situated amongst the indigenous gardens which provide the perfect setting for a totally relaxed holiday. Weekly fly-in packages are available Friday to Friday from Durban where you fly at 500 feet above sea level along the beautiful coastline - a wonderful way to start your holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Umngazi River Bungalows Hotel Port St Johns
Umngazi River Hotel
Umngazi River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing