We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Honeymoon!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port St Johns
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Honeymoon!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Look no further, just book your trip and go to Umngazi! The staff couldn't do enough for us, the food was amazing, the biggest wine list I've ever seen. The setting was great, the spa treatment was the best my wife had ever been to (and she's been to a few:-) Book and go, you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon & Saman... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Brandon and Samantha,

Thank you for this amazing review and for choosing Umngazi for your Honeymoon. It really was fantastic to read how much you had enjoyed your time with us, we just hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back year after year!

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    194
    54
    9
    6
See reviews for
429
412
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had heard only positives and we were ecstatic to see how wonderful it actually is in person!!
We loved every minute and the only negative about our entire visit was the fact that we eventually had to leave.....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for this amazing endorsement that Umngazi lived up to its amazing reputation. Just to let you know that some guests have worked out that they could sell up home and live at Umngazi for a very long time, still waiting for the first person to try it.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband surprised me and took me to Umngazi as a stress reliever getaway. It was magical, very unpretentious and rustic but with everything that you need. It has wonderful women who serve as nannies to families with kids and you can hire as many as you need. The staff are super friendly and always happy to help with any requests.

It was lovely to go without kids too as the honeymoon suites are removed from families and there is a separate breakfast venue for couples who do not want to deal with loud children around. The resort also has a wonderful spa available.

We loved it and found it to be real value for money considering that all of your meals are included in the daily rate and drinks are very reasonably priced. Book early as they are full months in advance.

We will definately come back here again. A little hidden gem on the wild coast.

Room Tip: If travelling as a couple then try request one of the honeymoon suites or a room removed from the fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaba T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Zaba,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review about your recent stay with us here at Umngazi River Bungalows. It was great to read that you managed to catch-up and relax as a couple and enjoyed the facilities with have on offer here.

I do hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Overall resort cleanliness was good, but we had to request our rooms windows to be cleaned. Windows were dirty on arrival.

Our room was a honeymoon suite - and in that context, the bathroom in need of an upgrade. Very dark and felt a dingy.



  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter & Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Peter and Colleen,

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback on your Bungalow during your stay whilst at Umngazi, I do hope you enjoyed your holiday though whilst with us. Housekeeping do persevere with the window cleaning but as you will have noted from your situation, right on the seashore that it can be difficult at times to keep them clean longer than 24 hours unfortunately.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was our sixth visit to Umngazi and as always it was the best family holiday. Superb food, stunning beaches and wonderfully friendly staff (who welcomed us back with bright smiles and hugs). The kids get more and more out of the holiday the older they get, and this year their favourite things were fishing, dune boarding, crab hunting and capture the flag. If you want a really relaxing family holiday in idyllic unspoilt surroundings, Umngazi is the place for you! See you next year Umngazi!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa & Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, Front Office Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Melissa and Nick,

Thank you so much for this AMAZING review of your family holiday here at Umngazi River Bungalows, it actually read like an advertisement so great to read that a family has enjoyed everything that makes Umngazi such a popular holiday destination.

We do look forward to welcoming you all back again soon, thank you for choosing us for your well earned and valuable family time!.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed one night en route to Morgans Bay. Great stop over choice. Loved the cows on the beach and the fabulous views from our room. Only regrets was we didn't have more time to spend a few more nights

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank NoleenH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Noleen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review, and thank you for staying with us, even it was a short stay, happy you loved our cows, we are proud of them!

I do hope we get to back to stay with us soon, maybe longer next time?

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We have been visiting URB for 15 years and have evolved from a young married couple to a famliy of 4. (10 and 9 yr old kids). The quality of the location, facilities, food, staff and management means it is rebooked every year without fail.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyW437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Jeremy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review about your family holiday at Umngazi. It really is such a privilege to welcome you back year after year. Thank you for choosing Umngazi for your family holiday, we look forward to welcoming you back for your 16th stay next year!

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port St Johns
4.3 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lodge on the Beach
The Lodge on the Beach
#5 of 8 in Port St Johns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
6.2 mi away
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
#4 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
3.9 mi away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#7 of 14 in Port St Johns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
6.7 mi away
Port St John's River Lodge
Port St John's River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa

Property: Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
Address: i, Port St Johns, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Hotel Class:4 star — Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the Wild Coast, in the heart of Pondoland, and encompassed by a rocky coastline, indigenous forests, secluded coves and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean, lies the award winning Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa - an award winning family resort & spa. The thatch-roofed bungalows are situated amongst the indigenous gardens which provide the perfect setting for a totally relaxed holiday. Weekly fly-in packages are available Friday to Friday from Durban where you fly at 500 feet above sea level along the beautiful coastline - a wonderful way to start your holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Umngazi River Bungalows Hotel Port St Johns
Umngazi River Hotel
Umngazi River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing