We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOLIDAY”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port St Johns
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Certificate of Excellence
Pietermaritzburg
1 review
“GREAT HOLIDAY”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Cannot go wrong choosing UMNgazi as the staff are friendly, accommodating and absolutely wonderful. We've been to UMNgazi 3 years in a row and intend coming back for a 4th, 5th etc. Relaxing, food is great, tea times lovely, entertainment top notch, fishing, boat cruising up the river awesome and the beach is great for your daily exercise (walk) and fishing. Will definitely be our holiday destination forever.
Thanks for a great Holiday!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lesley & Vaugha... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Lesley and Vaughan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review, and thank you choosing Umngazi for your holidays year after year! It really was fantastic to read how much you managed to cram in whilst you were here.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your 4th, 5th etc. visits!

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    198
    55
    10
    6
See reviews for
443
419
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Fremantle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Thanks to the team at Umngazi River Bungalows for an outstanding holiday! We joined over 100 friends at the resort in May 2014 for a 3 day wedding which was just fabulous. Our sea facing bungalow was stunning and the general setting of the whole resort was gorgeous. A highlight for us was an evening on the sunset cruise up the river watching fish eagles swoop down to catch fish right in front of us... breath-taking!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kim & Todd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Kim and Todd,

Thank you so much for this great review, it really was an absolute pleasure having you and your friends stay with us for the wedding, as well great to read that your enjoyed your time with us enjoying some of the great activities we have here at Umngazi.

I do hope we get to welcome you back again oneday!

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Visiting Umngazi had been a years long bucket list item for me. Everything I had heard and imagined was not nearly what the reality was. I just cant wait to return! The setting, the variety of activities, or merely relaxing in the really lovely lounge - it simply has it all there, it is so hard to leave!! The food is also the biggest treat!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wendsanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Umngazi Guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, it was so rewarding to read that Umngazi had been on your 'Bucket List' and that it ended up being far more than you had expected, the team did their job then in making a friend of Umngazi!

We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Travelled by motor car from Stellenbosch to Umngazi as follows: Tsitsikamma > Morgan Bay > Umngazi. The trip through Transkei towns is slow and also the trip from Mthata to Umngazi. Leave sufficient time to arrive at Umngazi before dark. The level of service at Ungazi Bungalows, the friendliness of staff and the food are outstanding. We had a superb holiday in this wonderful environment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Allan & Helene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Allan and Helene,

Thank you so much for this amazing review as well as making the trip from Stellenbosch to Umngazi here on the Wild Coast, much appreciated!

I was happy to read that the team had made sure you were well looked after you during your stay.

I do hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Umngazi is a beautiful place with amazing food and service - just read all the positive reviews on here. We were there for a friend's wedding and the staff went beyond the call of duty to make sure everything was just right for her big day. I would like to particularly point out the wonderful help we personally received from Pierre. My bike rack got damaged by one of the infamous PSJ speed humps and Pierre took the time to repair it in the Umngazi workshop without any fuss and at no cost. Thanks so much Pierre - we made it home to Durban and the bike rack is still functional!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Saul,

Thank you for this great review and your kind feedback on Pierre our Engineer here at Umngazi. I am glad you enjoyed the wedding and that the teams efforts were appreciated, always motivates us when great service gets noticed!

I hope we get to welcome you back soon, now that you know where all the speed humps are!

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great service and wonderfully friendly staff. Will be back in Jan 2015. Wonderful place for kids and river fishing .Not reccomended for deep sea as the river mouth is a very tricky launch thru the surf.


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martin & Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Martin and Ann,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review and great to see you soon! I will show you the channel in January not easy but it is there.

We look forward to welcoming you back in January.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Overall a very good experience. As a South African it felt somewhat commercial for my liking. The staff was friendly but did not go out of their way to assist. The food was good and plentiful. Accommodation was very clean and comfortable. I had a good rest and enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Riaan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Riaan,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and thank you for choosing Umngazi River Bungalows for your stay. It was great to read that you had enjoyed your stay and had managed to relax. I have noted your comment with regards to the staff, finding the friendly but did not go out of their way, and will address the team accordingly.

I do hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port St Johns
0.0 mi away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
52 reviews
4.3 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
212 reviews
22.3 mi away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#3 of 14 in Port St Johns
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 5 in Coffee Bay
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lennox Guest House
Lennox Guest House
#4 of 14 in Dundee
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa

Property: Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
Address: I, Port St Johns, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Hotel Class:4 star — Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the Wild Coast, in the heart of Pondoland, and encompassed by a rocky coastline, indigenous forests, secluded coves and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean, lies the award winning Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa - an award winning family resort & spa. The thatch-roofed bungalows are situated amongst the indigenous gardens which provide the perfect setting for a totally relaxed holiday. Weekly fly-in packages are available Friday to Friday from Durban where you fly at 500 feet above sea level along the beautiful coastline - a wonderful way to start your holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Umngazi River Bungalows Hotel Port St Johns
Umngazi River Hotel
Umngazi River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing