We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Umngazi Honeymoon”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port St Johns
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Certificate of Excellence
East London, South Africa
1 review
“Umngazi Honeymoon”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Amazing place!!! The Ntabeni suite is too die for, the food is fantastic, staff and service excellent and so much to do! Definitely will go back, one of the most amazing places I've ever been too!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janelle & Travi... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Janelle and Travis,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, and thank you for choosing Umngazi River Bungalows for your Honeymoon, your support is greatly appreciated. I happy to read that the team looked after you during your stay and even happier to read that you will come and visit us again, hopefully sooner than later!

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    197
    55
    9
    6
See reviews for
438
417
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban SA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

did pondo pedal bike event at Mngazi - the cycling was tough but spectacular!what a place to do a cycling event - great rooms, brilliant food and amazing welcome and service. The Saturday night seafood feast unbelievabe!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank craig e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Craig,

Thank you so much for this great review, very pleased to read that you enjoyed the race as well as your stay here at Umngazi River Bungalows. I do hope we get you back for a slightly less energetic stay soon.

Thank you so much for the support.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was our first visit to Umngazi River Bungalows and we were very impressed by the high level of service. The rooms are bright and clean an the staff are friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John & Norma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear John and Norma,

Thank you so much for this incredibly kind review, it was wonderful to read that you had enjoyed your with us, and that the team had made sure your holiday was a memorable one. I do hope we get to welcome you back for a 2nd visit again one day soon.

Kind regards,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

As always, a haven of tranquility. Clean, neat and proffessional. I loved the warm friendly service, the comfy and well appointed room, the excellent breakfast and dinner. Being able to step out the front door onto a walkway through the gardens towards the seashore.


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Andre,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review about your recent stay with us here at Umngazi River Bungalows. It was great to read that the team impressed and made sure your stay with us was an enjoyable one. Also wonderful to read that you got to appreciate the beauty that is the Wild Coast.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrest, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Very good service, extremely comfortable beds and linen, gorgeous setting with river and beach, loads to do or just relax, awesome food. Was just missing aerosol in the bathroom. Been going for about 10 years and never tire of it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew & Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Andrew and Gina,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review, your support of Umngazi is greatly appreciated and it is wonderful to read that the team are rewarding you in the best way they can, that is making sure your holiday with us is a memorable one, year after year.

We look forward to welcoming you all back for many years to come.

Kind regards,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

we really had a fantastic stay. Management were excellent. the food was out of this world. Rooms great except one can't secure them (cant lock the shower door) There were instances of petty theft while we were there so guest security should be improved. The road to the hotel is terrible and should be graded. I would only book a stay in perk summer if the rooms were air conditioned.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Graham & Mery... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Graham and Meryl,

Thank you so much for this kind review and of course for staying with us here at Umngazi River Bungalows. Just to also let you know the lady with the missing running shoes has been reunited with them in the meantime. We will look at locks for the shower doors as mentioned although we have many guests that never even lock their front doors whilst staying with us, without incident! The road does have a 'pothole' invasion' think that is why the roads agency has dropped the speed down to 40kph, we have been assured they will be addressing it soon.

I do hope we will get to welcome you back one day soon, until then thank you once again for your support of Umngazi.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

So often the website looks fantastic, and the reality is way different. This is also true of Umngazi, but for once, the reality is better than any PR spin. Umngazi ticks all the boxes - it is Tranquility with a capital T, service is always excellent, room and facilities have just the right balance between luxury and rustic appeal and above all, it really is value for money. If you need to escape, recharge, relax or just indulge, go there. Be warned though, you will end up coming back - I've stayed there more than a dozen times.

Room Tip: There are 3 categories of rooms - sea-facing, river-facing, and garden. Only the view differs. You h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you so much for this amazing review, we certainly could not ask for more praise that you have given us in your feedback, what you have said is exactly what we try and achieve time after time with all our guests, so great to read we have got it spot one.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, thank you so much for your years of support!

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port St Johns
0.0 mi away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
51 reviews
4.3 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
212 reviews
22.3 mi away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#3 of 14 in Port St Johns
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ulusaba Private Game Lodge
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 5 in Coffee Bay
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa

Property: Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
Address: I, Port St Johns, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Hotel Class:4 star — Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the Wild Coast, in the heart of Pondoland, and encompassed by a rocky coastline, indigenous forests, secluded coves and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean, lies the award winning Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa - an award winning family resort & spa. The thatch-roofed bungalows are situated amongst the indigenous gardens which provide the perfect setting for a totally relaxed holiday. Weekly fly-in packages are available Friday to Friday from Durban where you fly at 500 feet above sea level along the beautiful coastline - a wonderful way to start your holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Umngazi River Bungalows Hotel Port St Johns
Umngazi River Hotel
Umngazi River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing