We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memories for a lifetime!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port St Johns
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Certificate of Excellence
Pinetown, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Memories for a lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I booked 6 night break as a special treat for my husband's 60th birthday and arranged a couple of additional activities including a private dining experience in the Riverside Gazebo and a Sundowner cruise! Absolutely amazing! The staff went out of their way their way to make the stay memorable and met my every request! The accommodation was gorgeous, and the meals were outstanding! Just want to go back as soon as possible.......

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Hatemedi0crity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Umngazi Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review, as well, thank you for choosing Umngazi River Bungalows to celebrate your husbands very special birthday. It was our absolute pleasure to make sure that the stay was made as special as it deserved to be!

Thank you so much for the support and I do hope we get to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    191
    51
    8
    6
See reviews for
417
404
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The last 9 kms to reach this place makes you start thinking where you will end up. But, ones you have arrived an impressive and beautiful paradise view is wellcoming you and you know you have not been driving in vain. The rooms are clean and nice and the food doesn't make you disappointed. There are nice walks - walk along the sea on the beach is awsome or go by boat on the river. This place requires revisiting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Anders,

Thank you so much for taking the time to reach this kind review. It really was pleasing to read that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and that you appreciated our facilities as well as the natural beauty that is the Wild Coast.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we do hope that we see you again on your next visit to the Wild Coast.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Waitpersons could have explained the process of order dinner better, found myself waiting for a while at the table to order mains after I had the cheese from the buffet.
Other than that, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Lee,

Thank you so much for taking the time of writing this kind review as well thank you for staying with us here at Umngazi whilst travelling through the Wild Coast. You comment about the table d'hote menu being explained better by the waitresses has been noted and passed onto the diningroom team for action.

We hope to welcome you back to Umngazi in the not to distant future.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent a few nights at Umngazi during June, 2014. It was a wonderful experience. The staff were extremely helpful and always pleasant. We stayed in a river view cottage. It was quiet with great views. In spite of very cold weather, we were warm and comfortable. The cottage was clean and well maintained. The dining was also great, exceptional variety and very well prepared.

It is a nature lovers paradise. Although we did not join any guided walks, we explored by on long walks every day and wish we had some more time!

Exploring the mangroves was fascinating and so were the walks in the forest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank TheDaunceys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Dauncey's,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review about your recent stay here at Umngazi River Bungalows. Thank you as well for choosing Umngazi for your stay whilst visiting the Wild Coast.

It was great to read that the team had looked after you as well that you enjoyed the beauty of our surrounds which is the Wild Coast.

I do hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a good time at Umngazi, me and my husband. it was our 5th anniversary on the 27th of june 2014. Everything was good. food was great the entertainment was awesome. in the room the bed was comfortable and the evironment , just one thing i felt cold and there was no warmer for the room at night and no television. let me now if its intentional not to put heaters in the room and televisions. except that evertything was good, staff friendly and always helping. i'm planning another trip to port st johns soon with my kids this time. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Nokwanda & Sith... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Nokwanda,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review as well thank you for choosing Umngazi to celebrate your 5th Wedding Anniversary with us. With regards to heaters we don't have the permanently in the Bungalows as usually the weather here does not get that cold, but we do have them available on request if someone does need. We have never had televisions in the Bungalows but televisions are available in the lounge, bar as well as the children's Pavilion area.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, with the family this time!

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

As a last resort for accommodation I booked in at short notice on a DB&B basis. I had a most enjoyable stay except to find my room which was quite a challenge and was unassisted by the check in staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank booysenpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Umngazi Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind and valuable review as well thank you for choosing Umngazi River Bungalows for your stay whilst on business in the area. I have shared your experience with the team, the reception team do not usually room the guests as the porter normally is available to do this, but they should have asked whether you are using a porter first to ensure you found your way to your bungalow, my apologies for this error.

We do hope we get the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

What an amazing place!! The food was incredible, the weather was amazing and the staff always friendly and helpful. Definitely one of the most relaxing and beautiful places to be. We will definitely recommend Umnagzi to anyone :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Thandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Thandi and Sean,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review and thank you for choosing Umngazi to celebrate your Honeymoon with us here at Umngazi River Bungalows. It was great to read that the team had ensured your memorable and happy stay with us.

I do hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port St Johns
4.3 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lodge on the Beach
The Lodge on the Beach
#5 of 8 in Port St Johns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
22.2 mi away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
#4 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.9 mi away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#6 of 14 in Port St Johns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
6.8 mi away
Port St John's River Lodge
Port St John's River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa

Property: Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
Address: i, Port St Johns, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Hotel Class:4 star — Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the Wild Coast, in the heart of Pondoland, and encompassed by a rocky coastline, indigenous forests, secluded coves and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean, lies the award winning Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa - an award winning family resort & spa. The thatch-roofed bungalows are situated amongst the indigenous gardens which provide the perfect setting for a totally relaxed holiday. Weekly fly-in packages are available Friday to Friday from Durban where you fly at 500 feet above sea level along the beautiful coastline - a wonderful way to start your holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Umngazi River Bungalows Hotel Port St Johns
Umngazi River Hotel
Umngazi River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing