We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a Great Wild Coast Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port St Johns
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Probably the best hotel to base yourself when visiting the Wild Coast. The facilities are great, rooms very spacious and comfortable and the setting is just stunning. Over 40 years since my first visit to Umngazi and they have kept the place up to date and its still great. No wonder its so popular. Staff are fantastic. Ideal family holiday destination.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Barry,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review, it is great to read that Umngazi is still creating happy memories for you after all these years. I believe this is why we welcome back so many guests with their families that used to come here when they were children with their parents, making new memories.

We really do appreciate your support and look forward to continuing to welcome you back for many years to come.

Best wishes,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

I would go back and back again whenever the opportunity arises!
The venue is spectacular and staff friendly and helpful.
The food is also excellent and you need to watch your weight if you stay here for long.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ajb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Umngazi Guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review and congratulations on completing the Imana Wild Ride. It really is a privilege to have you all finish this Epic ride here at Umngazi River Bungalows every year, always great to be part of the comradery.

We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Umngazi River Bungalows is a jewel along the Wild Coast. The luxury rondavels
are spread out along the banks of the Umngazi river mouth giving one a sense of privacy. Pristine deserted beaches, fantastic food, excellent service and very comfortable beds gets me back every year. This is also a very good winter destination as you can expect warm sunshine days.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Bjorn5735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Bjorn,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review on your recent stay here at Umngazi River Bungalows. I was happy to read you had enjoyed all that is on offer here and especially the food as well as the service, thank you for your feedback.

We really will look forward to your return oneday soon.

Kind regards,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Second visit, we spent 3 nights in this great getaway location, comfortable accommodation, great facilities, excellent food & service! Ideal for family holiday or couples, made use of spa facilities, river cruise and cozy bar and lounges! only challenge is the poor road when driving from Durban, may be better to fly in from Eastern Cape.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 496Cliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Cliff,

Thank you so much for this fantastic review of your recent stay here at Umngazi River Bungalows. Really great to read how much you enjoyed all the facilities we have on offer here and especially your comments on the great food, this is an massive area of importance for us as one of the biggest reasons for our loyal guest following.

With regards to flights from Durban, we do have a weekly fly-in package out of Virginia Airport in Durban, so if you would like to consider this the next time, please just ask Reservations and they will be happy to advise.

We look forward to your 3rd visit soon, until then.

Best wishes,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We honeymooned at Umngazi back in '05, and were glad to see that in 2014 Umngazi is as awesome as ever - great service, great food, and surely one of the most beautiful spots in the country. Umngazi is expensive but offers great value. They offer very good kids entertainment / baby sitting as well (from what we saw). We will definitely be back with our kids one day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Raymond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Raymond,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It really was great to read that you found Umngazi was just as awesome as ever, we do work hard at ensuring each guest goes away with great memories so that they do come back year after year.

Thank you so much for your support and we look forward to welcoming back the whole family next time.

Kind regards,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a remarkable, relaxing, refreshing, clean and well run establishment. Guests are treated to an amazing variety of dishes at breakfast, lunch and dinner. No matter your age, there are plenty of activities to keep one entertained if you don't want to explore the magnificent flat beach that seems to go on for miles! – The friendly staff is attentive and proficient. This was a wonderful place to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank GavinBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Gavin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review, it was an absolute pleasure to have you with us to celebrate this very special occasion. I was so pleased to read that the team had impressed on all aspects of your stay.

Thank you so much for your support and I hope we get to welcome you back to celebrate your 41st anniversary!

Best wishes,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The best place we have been in many years. Food excellent, staff excellent and we like the fact that it is for the whole family also, so many things to do.

None of the other visitors that we talked to while we were there had any thing bad to so about you. All were very impressed. I have recommended Umngazi to everyone I have contact with since we are back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mbezuidenhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager81, General Manager at Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Umngazi Guest,

Thank you so much for this kind review, it was great to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and found so many activities to keep yourself occupied during your stay. It was also wonderful to see that you had enjoyed our warm hospitality, service and of course the food!

Thank you so much for your support, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port St Johns
4.3 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
219 reviews
6.8 mi away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#5 of 14 in Port St Johns
48 reviews
5.8 mi away
Umzimvubu Retreat
Umzimvubu Retreat
#3 of 8 in Port St Johns
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
179 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lodge on the Beach
The Lodge on the Beach
#5 of 8 in Port St Johns
45 reviews
3.9 mi away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#6 of 14 in Port St Johns
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa

Address: I, Port St Johns, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port St Johns
Hotel Class:4 star — Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the Wild Coast, in the heart of Pondoland, and encompassed by a rocky coastline, indigenous forests, secluded coves and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean, lies the award winning Umngazi River Bungalows & Spa - an award winning family resort & spa. The thatch-roofed bungalows are situated amongst the indigenous gardens which provide the perfect setting for a totally relaxed holiday. Weekly fly-in packages are available Friday to Friday from Durban where you fly at 500 feet above sea level along the beautiful coastline - a wonderful way to start your holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Umngazi River Bungalows Hotel Port St Johns
Umngazi River Hotel
Umngazi River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing