We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
3
6
1
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
6
1
2
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2013

OK, Verani Beach gives you few mod cons, but it is still a fantastic place. This was our third visit, and we must confess some bias, as the owner and his staff have become more friends than anything else. But we really belive in the qualities of this place, and it can be wonderful - if your expectaions are right. See it as a camping holiday, not as a hotel visit. Recognize the fact that the lack of electrical power gives your fresher food - it comes straight from the sea into the pot!

The beach is one of the best in Tanzania. Excellent snorkelling waters (Njao gap) within walking distance.

The owner and his staff are super-friendly and do everything in their power to help with whatever you need.

The roofs have been leaking but are right now under serious repair, and the place is given a general fresh-up.

If you are a budget traveller, a back-packer or just a nature lover, Verani Beach is the right place. If you want mod cons, AC and swimming pools, it is not.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jens M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The one star is for the situation by a beautiful beach. We arrived at Verani Beach Hotel as it was getting dark and therefore had no option but to stay the night. It was very poor value for extremely basic accommodation. We left the next morning although we had planned to stay for five nights.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We planed to spend seven nights in Verani Beach hotel, which was refered on this website as heaven place - for reasonable price. Instaed we spent one night in what is called traveler´s nightmare. In fact we were strongly warned by taxi driver on our way from the sea port. I must agree with two recent reviews in every each point. For 100 USD (incl. full board) we got poor ( even according to local standard) cottage with broken bed,dirty bed linen, no running watter and awfully odouring toillets. We´ve never met Makamme. The only staff was recruited from 3-4 school and teenage boys with almost no knowledge of English. It was obvious that we couldn´t expect aranging of any trips,which they´re announcing on their website. The place is completely remoted, without cell phone operators available, so you are completely dependent on local staff. You have no possibility to buy beeverages or snack except of drinking watter. Our dinner( terribly undercooked fish and rice ) was prepared by school kids. As we had advanced payment for only one night, we asked for taxi in very next morning and left for the nearby Svahili Divers Lodge.
The only good thing about Verani is the location on charming beach....
Katerina + Robert

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobKat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I visited this place 12 months ago, and paid in advance for full board. There was no running water as the supply that feeds the rooms was not working.
The boys working there topped up my shower tank with water that I later found was from an open tank of standing water used to feed the cattle in the adjacent field.
I put up with this for 2 days and told the staff that if there was no running water on the third day I would have to leave. On the third day there was still no running water to my room, so I had to leave.

Bear in mind at this place you are totally isolated, with no roads or near bye village, and with no transport available I had to leave on foot.

In spite of many emails from Makame promising a refund I am still waiting. (copies of emails available on request)

DO NOT TRUST THIS MAN MAKAME, HE CLAIMS TO BE A BUSINESSMAN YET DOES NOT KEEP HIS WORD - I HAVE BEEN MORE THAN REASONABLE AND PATIENT - FOR 12 MONTHS.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
2  Thank TJ567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Booked this place through email in advance through the manager/owner Makame. but just one week before we were about to leave received an email stating that they had not recieved the deposit, which was never asked in the first place. Deposit payed, we were welcomed by a friendly taxi driver at the Pemba airport.
But on arrival it was clear that the staff had no idea about our arrival, but a room was arranged by talking to the manager by phone as he was not there, it seemed that he was never there. The staff did not speak english so we could not check the status of the activities that we were told that we could do, like snorkelling at Misali island, tour of the forest, spice tour etc.
The rooms not being directly facing the beach was pretty hot at night with barely any moving air which made sleeping impossible.
It rained heavily the next morning and the roof of the breakfast area was badly leaking.
As this place is completely cut off from the rest of Pemba we realised that no other activity would be possible on our own, we left with great disappointment as the location and the whole idea would have been great if managed better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy8284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews