We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
3
6
1
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
6
1
2
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Please do not be misled by the early reviews which rate this as fantastic and the ones that consider this a 'fantastic' place must have really very poor expectations, even out of a basic campsite. Sadly, by December 2012, things must have changed drastically in this place.

While reading this, keep in mind that THIS IS NOT A HOTEL but a piece of land with some huts passing as a camping ground, charging hotel prices.

Visited Verani on the basis that this was supposed to be quiet and secluded and been described as 'heaven on earth', yet it's run by nothing more than teenage school boys who turn on their radios at around 3pm when you want take a nap, and let's face it, there is nothing else to do at Verani at this time of day, in that heat, miles away from anything else - also no windows or anything to close so you can keep the noise out!

The bungalows must have been simple and adequate at one point in time - in December 2012, they are rundown, some of the bungalows were out of use, with massive holes in the roof, with plastic sheeting for windows to keep the rain out.

It's ok that rooms are basic and I wasn't expecting anything else - I was also prepared for the fact that there is no electricity there, but for the price we paid, was expecting at least a decent odourless toilet, with decent water for showering. We had two beds in the room but only one was kitted with a mosquito net. When you ask the schoolboys for another one, all you get is an impish reply with 'no understand'.

Another misleading aspect was that we were led to believe that we could be taken out on a boat by the 'owner' Makame and we were told we could do some snorkling off the shore. Sadly Makame was elusive as the quiet peaceful heaven as he never appeared during the days we stayed there as he was doing some other business somewhere else. So no boat, no Makame, no anything.

One thing that this place has in it's favor is the location, can be truely unique if managed well, but this place has no concept of management or taking care of visitors who actually make the effort to go there! But by far this is not the best beach anywhere on the island, but still some good scenery, though nothing spectacular. In the end, this is nothing more than a overpriced camp site with no facilities, a real missed opportunity shabbily run. Do your research before you go there.

Room Tip: If you are really with your back against the wall, just stay one night here with the option to get away if you want to. This is NOT a hotel but a camping site with no facilities.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarcoItaliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

OK, Verani Beach gives you few mod cons, but it is still a fantastic place. This was our third visit, and we must confess some bias, as the owner and his staff have become more friends than anything else. But we really belive in the qualities of this place, and it can be wonderful - if your expectaions are right. See it as a camping holiday, not as a hotel visit. Recognize the fact that the lack of electrical power gives your fresher food - it comes straight from the sea into the pot!

The beach is one of the best in Tanzania. Excellent snorkelling waters (Njao gap) within walking distance.

The owner and his staff are super-friendly and do everything in their power to help with whatever you need.

The roofs have been leaking but are right now under serious repair, and the place is given a general fresh-up.

If you are a budget traveller, a back-packer or just a nature lover, Verani Beach is the right place. If you want mod cons, AC and swimming pools, it is not.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jens M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The one star is for the situation by a beautiful beach. We arrived at Verani Beach Hotel as it was getting dark and therefore had no option but to stay the night. It was very poor value for extremely basic accommodation. We left the next morning although we had planned to stay for five nights.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We planed to spend seven nights in Verani Beach hotel, which was refered on this website as heaven place - for reasonable price. Instaed we spent one night in what is called traveler´s nightmare. In fact we were strongly warned by taxi driver on our way from the sea port. I must agree with two recent reviews in every each point. For 100 USD (incl. full board) we got poor ( even according to local standard) cottage with broken bed,dirty bed linen, no running watter and awfully odouring toillets. We´ve never met Makamme. The only staff was recruited from 3-4 school and teenage boys with almost no knowledge of English. It was obvious that we couldn´t expect aranging of any trips,which they´re announcing on their website. The place is completely remoted, without cell phone operators available, so you are completely dependent on local staff. You have no possibility to buy beeverages or snack except of drinking watter. Our dinner( terribly undercooked fish and rice ) was prepared by school kids. As we had advanced payment for only one night, we asked for taxi in very next morning and left for the nearby Svahili Divers Lodge.
The only good thing about Verani is the location on charming beach....
Katerina + Robert

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobKat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I visited this place 12 months ago, and paid in advance for full board. There was no running water as the supply that feeds the rooms was not working.
The boys working there topped up my shower tank with water that I later found was from an open tank of standing water used to feed the cattle in the adjacent field.
I put up with this for 2 days and told the staff that if there was no running water on the third day I would have to leave. On the third day there was still no running water to my room, so I had to leave.

Bear in mind at this place you are totally isolated, with no roads or near bye village, and with no transport available I had to leave on foot.

In spite of many emails from Makame promising a refund I am still waiting. (copies of emails available on request)

DO NOT TRUST THIS MAN MAKAME, HE CLAIMS TO BE A BUSINESSMAN YET DOES NOT KEEP HIS WORD - I HAVE BEEN MORE THAN REASONABLE AND PATIENT - FOR 12 MONTHS.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
2  Thank TJ567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews