We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When beauty comes from land, sea, sky and people...”
Review of Emerald Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Emerald Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Pemba Island B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“When beauty comes from land, sea, sky and people...”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

If we look at what Wikipedia says about beauty “Beauty is a characteristic of a person, animal, place, object, or idea that provides a perceptual experience of pleasure or satisfaction....”.. the concept of beauty in Pemba is what you experience when looking at the rich greens of ten types of mangoes in plenty, and many hundreds of clove trees…when you swim in the shallow crystal and turquoise waters or snorkel magnificently unspoilt coral reefs, or have some of the best diving opportunities you ever had in your life:)…when staring at the myriads, hundreds and thousands of stars in the night.. and the only light at the night comes from them.. what a show from our beautiful Pemba.. and last but not least … the beauty of people from Chokocho village.. looking at their eyes.. you feel hugged.. and your heart is messed up with love.. peace, harmony.. friendship.. I have experienced all of these five months ago.. while I was staying at the Emerald Bay Resort. I spent ten days there.. but felt I needed more.. and I am going back there in August again and cannot wait… I feel at home at the Emerald Bay Resort. Staff is welcoming you at the airport.. and when you arrive at the Emerald Bay Resort you find friends to relax.. get out of the stress and live Pemba beauties. Moreover the food at the Emerald Bay Resort is gorgeous.. you can taste all local recipes.. prepared with daily-catches.. I love fish and for only few extra dollars we had a very tasty lobster… and I cannot forget the cooking lesson to prepare the local bread.. the cook was so nice to show us how he would prepare bread.. I will tell you more once I will be back in September.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ossuranna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raffaele s, Owner at Emerald Bay Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Many thanks for your feedback our sincere thanks on behalf of all our team and a warm welcome again! Karibu Tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    6
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Rooms are big and perfectly clean. the cook will ask you during your whole stay what you'd like to eat and is adorable. However the excursions which are listed as "free" on their website aren't really...

the hotel not having a beach, a boat will take you out to the sand bank (by low tide) and another private beach which is lovely. This will be the free excursion ...after that you'd have to pay a lot for poor service: boat breaking down a lot, guide not knowing a lot on those excursions and poor (inexistant) information given troughout the day (during those excursions).

Good memories though: after 3h of rain on the boat (no cover...we were soaked) we saw about 20 daulphins (amazing) ...dives were great too (an amazing and huge "rose garden" at 20meters)

One more thing: be aware of protuguese jellyfishes during low tide around sand bank: they heart (but won't kiill u, the pain goes away after 15min)!

Room Tip: be aware that there's nothing around to do ...have a card game with you or a good book
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raffaele s, Owner at Emerald Bay Resort, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Many thanks for the compliments to the chef and our rooms. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As for the excursions i have understood you have not been lucky with the weather and this was the main cause of your problems, very sorry for that. It is not true we advertise differently from what we sell at our hotel, please see below what is included in our price...it is exactly what you have done during your stay. all the excursions outside the bay (kwata, misali, shamiani) are listed in the website with the prices. it is good to read well before writing a complaint. Excursions by boat are expensive all over the world if somebody does not want to pay any extra he can stick with the sand bank, panza and jombe island. many thanks for staying with us.

Rates include

- Accommodation on Full Board Basis
- Tea, Coffee at all times, Bottled water at meals
- One Excursion per day to the sand banks or Islands Panzi or Jombe
- Snorkeling

Rates exclude

- Soft Drinks, Alcohol, Juices
- Bottled Water outside the meals
- Any extra excursions
- Airport Transfers—oneway $50 per vehicle

Emerald Bay Excursion Costs

- Shamiani Trip $40pp
- Misali Trip $55pp
- Kwata Trip $35pp
- Mkoani Port $40pp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We got a booking with Emerald Bay on the day of our arrival in Pemba. We were picked up from the airport and driven through villages and plantations to the resort. After a warm welcome we were shown to a simple but otherwise nice and spotless room. Meals are served on the roof, with a view (through the mangroves) of the bay.
If you are after expanses of white beach and opulence, this is not the place for you. Instead, come for the peace and great service in this fairly new resort. The beds are comfy and everything in the bathroom was clean and in working order. The food is Western-style, copious, and often overly salty. The vegetarian offerings are limited. There is a bar. There is no internet or WiFi.

We took a day trip to Misali island, which was beautiful, and almost deserted. On the island are lounges and thatched umbrellas, and the snorkelling is quite good. The boat used for outings is fairly old. We found out afterwards that there were life jackets aboard, but these were not offered, despite quite a rough trip home, and some of our fellow passengers were poor swimmers (and one of them was 5 years old).

There is no beach in front of the resort, just a clearing in the mangroves where the locals launch their boats. You can get a free daily trip to a sandbank for a swim, but there is no shelter there. The resort is planning to install a pool soon.

On our second night we decided we would like to leave for Zanzibar the next day. The staff organised plane tickets for us for the following morning and nothing was too much trouble. We had an easy transfer back to the airport.

Overall, a lovely escape from the mainland, although perhaps a little pricey.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoba, Argentina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We met Ahmed at Pemba port. He took us to this wonderful place, in a little village, Chokocho...The sunset was coming into us, and the full moon could be seen on the sky. Excellent dinner on the top roof, under the sky full of stars. The three of us, were delighted by the staff politeness and excellent service.
Nobody should miss the opportunity to visit this cosy hotel. Clean, tidy, greatly decorated. A place to feel yourself safe and cared for.
Go, and relax there. You will never regret it!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaF194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raffaele s, Proprietario at Emerald Bay Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Sincerely thank you for your stay at our resort!
We hope to spend many other unforgettable days together
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Right from being picked up from the airport by Ahmed who works at Emerald Bay, our stay here was simply unforgettable. Ahmed's constant smile and good humour instantly helped us feel welcome - he helpfully answered our questions about Pemba, it's culture, history and politics, and gave us an impromptu mini spice tour of our own on the way to Emerald Bay.

The resort is small (a good thing) and beautifully designed. It is incredibly peaceful - surrounded by fertile farmland, you can feel close to nature here and when darkness falls, it almost feels like you are the only people on the whole island - there is literally nothing all around. Again, a very good thing!

The food was fantastic - beautiful, freshly baked bread everyday, and fresh seafood and sometimes meats. The staff are all so helpful, speak good English, and always smiling. The resident manager, Mohamed, is a beautiful, gentle being and again, always there to help or answer any questions. They are also great at helping to decide what trips to make (to closeby islands for snorkelling for example) and helping you plan your day the evening before. There is a complimentary boat trip included each day to the sandback - only at lowtide can this incredible natural spectacle be experienced. The seas around Emerald Bay, and also around the other islands we visited (Misali and Shamiani Islands) are the most stunning seas I have ever seen in my life. Simply breathtaking.

We had been on Nungwi Beach for two weeks in Zanzibar and then came to Emerald Bay for a week. The difference between the two is massive - whereas Zanzibar is used to tourism and Westerners, Pemba is not. To me, Pemba is a place to be peaceful, still and quiet. If you are looking for bars, clubs, and all western mod-cons, best stick to Zanzibar.

My request to anyone going is to please respect the local culture there - it is important for women to cover their bodies when going anywhere outside of Emerald Bay such as towns or to and from day trips. It is important to understand that tourism is a relatively new concept in Pemba and that you can't go into town wearing a bikini top or showing your belly (as I saw one tourist doing). The locals are fearful of change to their peaceful island and whatever our views of their culture, we must remember that we are guests on their island and must respect their ways.

I would definitely go back to Emerald Bay and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobu-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2012

A different way to think about a sea holiday and not only a sea experience.
The island is beautiful and the time spent was definitely exciting.
Emerald Bay Resort is the best place to melt nature, relax and the unbelievable colours of the Indian Ocean.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pemba Island hotels
5.9 mi away
Pemba Lodge
Pemba Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kiweni (Shamiani)
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pemba Crown Hotel
Pemba Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wete
7 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel Archipelago
Hotel Archipelago
#4 of 6 in Pemba Island
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 mi away
The Aiyana
The Aiyana
#1 of 7 in Pemba Island
109 reviews
35.4 mi away
Gecko Nature Lodge
Gecko Nature Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pemba Island
192 reviews
4.7 mi away
Zanzibar Ocean Panorama Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Bay Resort

Property: Emerald Bay Resort
Address: Chokocho Village, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pemba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Emerald Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing