We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gorgeous place. A peaceful vacation.”
Review of Fundu Lagoon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pemba Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fundu Lagoon
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pemba Island
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A gorgeous place. A peaceful vacation.”
Reviewed 9 December 2006

We just got back from Tanzania. We spent the last four days at Fundu Lagoon and had an amazing time.

Fundu Lagoon is remote and quiet. If you are looking to be entertained by organized trips, bands, and activities, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a beautiful, peaceful place to chill, then this is the place.

We stayed in one of the superior suites which had a private plunge pool (read: small) and lots of outdoor lounging and reading space. It included a sleeping tent and bathroom, thatched upstairs and downstairs reading areas, and steps down to the beach. The accommodations are tents, but they don't have the feel of a tent. Ours was in great condition.

We went diving everyday we were there. The dive equipment is in good shape and the staff was very professional. The reef was in great shape with lots of coral. Fish were plentiful and varied.

Food was good but not outstanding. We ordered off the inclusive alcohol list which included a limited selection of wine and house liquor. Top shelf liquor and premium wine were extra. We were not charged for any mixers, so as long as you ordered a bloody mary with the house liquor there was no charge.

A note on the bugs and rats mentioned in some of the other reviews: We saw no rats. There are bush babies running around the camp. They are squirrel size primates that look a little like rodents and could be confused for rats. There are huge harmless millipedes all over. We never found one in our tent. The tent was sprayed for bugs every night. We found this true of everywhere we stayed in Africa, which were all high-end resorts (Greystoke Mahale and Selous Safari Camp).

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank SethC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    37
    9
    11
    6
See reviews for
30
235
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2006

My wife and and I spent the second week of our honeymoon at Fundu and were generally disappointed with our experience. I'll start with the fine points since there are few...we stayed in one of the superior suites and found the accomodations to be just fine. The rooms are, as one of the other reviews mentions, canvas tents...but that doesn't really do them justice. We found them to be relatively clean and spacious. We had consistent hot water, but I heard from other guests that they used their icey showers as leverage at time of check out. Second highlight...I thought the food was great...well prepared with good service. Moving on..if you are serious about ANY one of the activites that Fundu offers, in other words...if you are an avid fisherman, diver, snorkeler, hiker, swimmer, kayaker, or sailor....do not even consider Fundu as your destination. My wife and I are both avid fisherman and although Fundu claims fishing as one of their activities...take our word for it...it is not. They have a couple of previously incorrectly rigged trolling rods that they troll off the back of the improperly rigged catamaran. If you have never fished in your life and never plan on going again...then fine...but otherwise..forget it. Also, despite the fact that Fundu is located 10 miles from the Pemba channel which is one of the best billfishing destinations in the world...there are no charters avail in Pemba. Without getting into it...the other activities are far from junior varsity level. A few other noteworthy points...we fortunately found out that the reason there were no bugs within our mosquito netting was because when they come in to turn down your bed....THEY COVER THE SHEETS and pillow cases you are about to lay your face on with....RAID. On the point of the centipedes...they are all over the place, but they are harmless and we never saw them in our tent. Lastly...with a few exceptions....i found that the staff, even the managerial staff, had miserable attitudes. One example: i asked the asst. manager on our second to last day if I could use their internet connection for 5 mins to check my flights and she told me that it was inconvenient for her at that time and as I turned around to leave, she gave me a nice big eye roll. My wife wants to add: the very first night, when we were walked to our room for the 1st time in fact, you asked the asst manager about the butler service or ability to have dinner/lunch etc in our room which is mentioned in the brochure and she looked at you like you had 3 heads. Anyway...I overheard one of the other guests refer to Fundu as a Hobby Hotel and in reflection...that's exactly what it is...the proprietors own and oversee the daily operations of this hotel as a hobby and are not experienced nor fully committed to making it as great as it can be.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Activites
  • Tips/Secrets — Keep looking...
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank NYCJMS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2006

My husband and I have just returned from a week at Fundu Lagoon and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It is indeed remote, and it did take a day to get there, but it's a beautiful and peaceful resort, and it's obvious that there's a real effort by the hotel management to support the local people and villages, and to put something back into the local community. Inevitably this closeness to the local population does mean that local people walk along the beach and use it to gather seafood, but this is indeed their island and we always found the local people to be very friendly - they'd smile and say hello (or 'jambo') but certainly wouldn't try to sell us anything or make us feel uncomfortable in any way. The beach outside the huts isn't the best I've ever been to, and it is tidal, but it's an interesting beach to explore - some rocks and mangroves and lots of sea life. Also, the hotel does free twice daily trips to Misali Island which does have a more traditional 'powder white' beach for sun lovers.

We stayed in one of the new superior suites, (so can't comment on the older tents), and had a huge tent plus large plunge pool and decking area, as well as a separate area to sit during the day. The new swimming pool is spectacular and pretty empty most of the day so you've got your pick of the sunbeds and a wonderful view of the lagoon from the infinity pool. Yes, there are bugs, (mostly large ants and millipedes outside the tent, neither of which species seemed remotely interested in us), though we did find a couple of spiders and other bugs inside the tent. However, tents were sprayed for insects every evening and we saw very few mosquitos (and certainly no rats!). We were also very impressed with the food - three choices for every meal, and fresh, light and healthy ingredients with an emphasis on fish and vegetables. All of the restaurant staff were charming and friendly.

We also did some diving whilst we were there - we were the only divers that week so had the dive boat, dive guides, and dive sites all to ourselves - a rare treat. We were very impressed with the safety standards and quality of the equipment we borrowed, and both dive guides were very accommodating in taking us to the kind of sites that we were interested in. The coral was in very good condition and we saw lots of reef fish - Wowowo dive site with Filbert was a particular highlight.

There were some very minor things that could be improved - there are frequent power cuts so a good torch should be provided for each tent, a hairdryer would also have been nice, (though of course I did survive very well without one), 'private' as well as 'group' tables should be available at every meal to give guests a choice, (though they were at most to be fair). However, these are very minor points for improvement and overall we had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing week - diving, eating, reading, talking - all those simple and relaxing things. We were made to feel very welcome by everyone, and have lots of good memories of our time there, watching the sun go down from the beach bar and eating roasted cashew nuts! Hope this is helpful to those considering Fundu Lagoon.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank MGMidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2006

I'm a bit bemused by some of the other reviews on this site. Sure, fundu lagoon isn't the kind of five star luxury with polished marble reception areas or gold plated lavatory fittings, but then who in their right mind would want that in a place of such outstanding natural beauty? I felt that fundu achieved exactly the right balance of getting you close to the vibrant nature that surrounds you with the creature comforts you'd expect from a luxury resort situated in such a remote part of the world. It's probably the most relaxing part of the word i've been to - it felt a million miles away from anywhere. But i was never bored, in fact i came home exhausted! Up at dawn to go fishing, diving at lunchtime and sunset cruise in the evening. i imagine if you were bored and listless at fundu then you're probably better off at disneyland.

  • Stayed March 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gastrocuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2006

This place could have been the set for survivor. If its isolation you are looking for then this is heavan....We booked 5 nights at Fundu as part of our honeymoon.....and to be honest we made a mistake....2 nights would have been fine. The resort lacks atmosphere, character and charm.....this may have something to do with the fact that many of the guests are on honeymoon and dont wish to interact with other people or something to do with the way the resort is organised. There is zero entertainment....no phones, no computers, no TV, no live music, a few boardgames and outdated books. The accomodation is barefoot luxury with a few thorns.....if you dont like jungle noises, sight of lizards, crabs, then this place is not for you. The food was bland and not very interesting....all in all...for the price and the difficulty getting there....its just not worth it - there are plenty of other high end resorts that offer much better value for money.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Tents with access to all the animals the forest could offer
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont go unless you like seclusion
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank LuxuryTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemba Island
12.6 mi away
Pemba Lodge
Pemba Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kiweni (Shamiani)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pemba Crown Hotel
Pemba Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#2 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.0 mi away
The Aiyana
The Aiyana
#1 of 8 in Pemba Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
9.9 mi away
Emerald Bay Resort
Emerald Bay Resort
#2 of 8 in Pemba Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hifadhi Hotel
Hifadhi Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pemba Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fundu Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fundu Lagoon

Property: Fundu Lagoon
Address: Wambaa Peninsula, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pemba Island
Hotel Class:5 star — Fundu Lagoon 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Fundu Lagoon Pemba Island
Fundu Lagoon Hotel Pemba Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing