We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place for honeymoon!”
Review of The Manta Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pemba Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Manta Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pemba Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2008

My wife Linda and I spent our honeymoon at the newly renovated Manta Resort. We were looking for some place remote, private, sun sets and just the ideal paradise experience. And a friend of ours suggested Pemba and The Manta.

We bought the honeymoon package and arrived at the resort after a one and a half hour drive, last thirty minutes very bumpy through the Ngezi rain forest. Not realizing how remote this place really is, we were not expecting the feeling of exploring unknown territory. Feeling a little jaded after our journey getting the there, the welcoming sparkling wine and the view was out of this world.
After spending the first day exploring the area we discovered that the resort even had a spa, something we missed when looking at the website. There seemed to be a buzz going around that we were on honeymoon, and even the therapist in the spa came and suggested some special attention for Linda

Having read previous comments on tripadvisor about the food being simple with very little choice, we were happy to find that the new managers had made sure there the food was well made and always a choice of 3 main courses. I must say that if you’re a fish lover the dinner is all you can wish for.
We were given a private beach dinner, as part of our honeymoon package, and the seafood platter that was given to us was really amazing.

Diving is a big attraction on Pemba, and in the evenings we were all swapping underwater photos from the day’s dives. Tana, our dive master, really knows every reef and the right times to dive them. We caught some brilliant visibility and really understood that Pemba has to be one of the best dive sites I have ever seen. We aren’t very experienced divers but the comments from the very well travelled divers diving with us, made us realize that we were being spoilt :)

For me, what has to be the best part of our honeymoon on Pemba was the swimming through some of the lagoons in the clear water which made Linda and I feel that we were on the set of the movie “Blue Lagoon”.

Everything done by the staff to make us feel special was really appreciated, the local staff may not be the fastest service staff you will ever meet, but their smiles and they friendly attitudes make you forgive that sometimes it can take 5 min to get your coffee in the morning. Smiling seems to be part of the cultural integrity of the people of Pemba. It was impossible to forget Iddi’s and Shabani’s charm, humor and smiles down at the beach lounge. Thank to all the staff for making our honeymoon so special and memorable.

Ps: ask Shabani the bartender to say Tana – Tana when he shakes a Monsoon cocktail, we promise you it is something you will never forget

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FenderBender99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2008

We stayed at Manta Reef Lodge for 7 nights as part of our honeymoon.

The good:
- Amazing view. 180 degrees of view overlooking the sea from the restaurant area. Positioned west so you can see the a perfect sunset every evening. Seriously, that view gets an 11/10. We were gob smacked when we arrived.

- Beach: Nice beach; kept clean. However there is a lot of seaweed and sea urchins in the shallow waters. At low tide, swimming is not really possible. If you just want to sunbathe it's fine, but if you want to get it the water you might want to look for somewhere else.


Avg:
- Food: It was average at best. Breakfast is very limited. Mostly cereals and fruits. They have a bbq once a week which is pretty nice (although we were lucky and stayed at the hotel during the shareholder's meeting so we had bbq a few times). Lunch was a letdown with many of the items on the menu not available for almost a whole week (simple stuff like cheeseburgers). For a 5* hotel, it's 3* food at best.

-Diving was a bit of a letdown. It's very expensive to dive unless you get a package (7 nights + 15 dives = 995 euros per person). Equipement rental is extra; although all the gear was brand new & good quality. Dive quality was variable. Visibility switched a lot. We were told that this is due to the weather changing at that time of the year (mid oct).

-Service: Management are very helpful. But the staff seems to be undertrained. Don't expect 5* service.

Overall ok and can be good value if you book the 7 nights + 15 dives package. Nothing to get too excited about though.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Larimani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at Manta lodge. Pemba itself is a beautiful island - it's a stunning hour and a half drive from the airport through tiny villages, clove plantations and incredibly intensively cultivated land. The lodge itself is right at the tip of the island on a lovely beach. It's got a new, enthusiastic, and very friendly Danish manager, who's installed solar panels for all the rooms, and is making an effort to work with the local village to share some of the benefits of tourism.

In addition to the original seafront rooms (which are huge and have all been revamped) there are a couple of rows of rooms in the gardens which are cheaper and looked very nice and had terraces with views through to the sea.

The view from the outside restaurant tables and the pool down along the coast is fantastic, and we had no problems at all with availability of food. The lunch menu was reasonably priced and the evening meal, which was a set menu, was good (even the kids liked everything) A few things needed looking at, rather tatty sunbeds on the beach, not much shade round the pool - but a fair bit of work was going on while we were there so i suspect it's all in hand. The new dive centre had just opened and the hotel has just chartered a stunning huge teak sailing dhow - the Sanjeeda - which will be used for diving charters. We spent a couple of days on it while the new crew were getting the hang of it and it really is lovely - silk cushions, great food and cabins that look like a sultan should be lounging in them with a few vestal virgins. Oh how the other half lives...

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rosaposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank naohide1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pemba Island hotels
40 mi away
Pemba Lodge
Pemba Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kiweni (Shamiani)
95 reviews
25.7 mi away
Hotel Archipelago
Hotel Archipelago
#4 of 6 in Pemba Island
24 reviews
0 mi away
Pemba Crown Hotel
Pemba Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wete
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Aiyana
The Aiyana
#1 of 7 in Pemba Island
132 reviews
2.8 mi away
Gecko Nature Lodge
Gecko Nature Lodge
#1 of 4 in Pemba Island
203 reviews
33.5 mi away
Zanzibar Ocean Panorama Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manta Resort

Address: Box 32, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pemba Island
Price Range: £160 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Manta Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elevated and crafted along an idyllic island beach, The Manta Resort offers privacy, romance, adventure, and diving on East Africa's finest island sanctuary. Pemba Island for real. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Manta Hotel Pemba Island
Manta Hotel Pemba Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing