We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A whole new meaning to tenting!”
Review of The Nile Porch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jinja
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Nile Porch
Ranked #6 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Jinja
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Arriving in the dark was intriguing and fun because waking up in the morning to the splendor of the Nile at your feet, the scent of lillies wafting through your tent flaps and monkeys swinging from the trees cannot be topped. You feel like you are on a safari but have the comfort of a 5 star hotel. The free insect repellant was welcome and appreciated. Stunning views! Because we arrived in the dark, the signage could have been a little better, but we phoned ahead and got instructions and they waited up for us. The accomodations were clean, beautiful and scenic. The beds comfy, the towels were adequate and the mosquito netting plentiful. I would return again a million times over!!!

Room Tip: All tents have killer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcisobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

Booked in for 5 days over Christmas, 2011. Service and staff were fantastic. Food was also very good (especially on Christmas day). (Damian's Yorkshire puddlings were a hit!)

Lovely to have the pool, which was very clean with plenty of seating around it; and views over River Nile. Added benefit was the River Spa next door, which was also very good and reasonably priced. We will definitely return.

If you like animals, then you will appreciate the pet dogs and wild moneys and lizards all around!

We had a family room (as opposed to the tents, which looked great): fantastic layout and space. Everything was great, although it would benefit from updating (e.g. new mozzie nets), especially the bathroom, which was functional but had no mirror or cupboards and could do with a repaint. It could also benefit from additional lighting (e.g. lamps) as the room was quite dark.

The resort does have a power generator (currently important in Uganda)!

Room Tip: If you want the views over the River Nile, choose the tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markthriscutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Stayed here in February 2011. Everything was fantastic. The tents (which are really more like cabins and are permanent) sit high up right on the bank of the Nile; the views, especially the sunsets, are spectacular. As other reviewers have mentioned, it's very easy to lose track of time while laying in your hammock overlooking the river. The rafting group Nile River Explorers (which I would also highly recommend) operates out of a building steps away from the hotel, making arranging a rafting trip very convenient. We also arranged a bungee jumping excursion at Nile High Bungee. We had several meals at the restaurant, The Black Lantern which was really very good. If you're a meat eater, the ribs are not to be missed. All in all, this is a great hotel in an amazing location - I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDr6182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We spent the weekend at the Nile Porch and thoroughly enjoyed it!
The bandas are beautifully decorated and the view from the hammock on the Nile is simply fantastic! Not to mention the bathroom with a view....
The food at the restaurant is one of the best we've had in Uganda, certainly to be reckoned with!
We loved our stay and will definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adc_ug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

interesting tented bandas overlooking nile. restaurant is o.k like everywhere in uganda the coffee is terrible sludge. adequate stopover point in a very unattractive town

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Dirty rooms, dirty bedding.. blood stains on the net curtains.. lights were turned off at 10.00 pm and we were not even informed! at least they could have warned us and put candles in the room. the zip of the tent doesnt even close fully so you get all sorts of inscets entering the room. Definately not worth $95 a night! There are loud drunkards walkin past the bed room all night making it impossible to get any sleep.. our friend was hurt during the rafting trip, the hotel didnt even have a first aid box!!

The only good thing about the place is the view.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Absolutely redicouls fantastic view. You get a cabin with a view of the river nile 60 meters below. Each cabin has a hammock just 1 meter from the 60 meter drop down to the Nile. When you go there you will spend hours and hours just lying and watching the Nile flow by.
Price. 75 USD. Dirt cheap for such a luxury view. I have only seen or heard of such a view in hotels that cost 2-5 the same price.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
Thank BjarkeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jinja hotels
1.9 mi away
Jinja Nile Resort
Jinja Nile Resort
#2 of 10 in Jinja
153 reviews
3.7 mi away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Brisk Hotel Triangle
Brisk Hotel Triangle
#5 of 10 in Jinja
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Wildwaters Lodge
Wildwaters Lodge
#1 of 31 in Jinja
231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holland Park
Holland Park
#7 of 31 in Jinja
149 reviews
4 mi away
Source of the Smile Hotel & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nile Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nile Porch

Address: Bujagali, Jinja, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Jinja
Also Known As:
The Nile Porch Hotel Jinja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing