We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Paradise on the Nile
Nearby Hotels
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$32
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$44
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Orbitz.com
View Deal
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
8
21
12
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
21
12
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2013

The hotel is an Oasis at Jinja.
Although I have not tested many other hotels in the area my experience from many hotels in Uganda, I must say that Hotel Paradise stands out in a positive way. I work with Alpha & Omega Tours and Travel a local tours operator and we have always sent and referred teams from overseas to this hotel....they have all loved and very much recommended the place. I have spent a few nights here as well.

Spending time at all common areas (reception, cafes, and restaurant) is very relaxing and enjoying. The outer areas and the Nile River side of the hotel are also loveable and the rooms are well spaced, comfortable and clean.
Room service fast and pleasant, breakfast served in a pleasant environment with all a person needs in the morning.
Most of all though, I love the attitude of the staff in every department of the hotel. A warm greeting, wonderful smile, great conversation and service to match.

In general I was very satisfied, staying there three days in a business trip.
Naturally this hotel is very expensive for what they offer as all similar hotels in Africa.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jesse T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed here for one night. It was a nice enough hotel. The rooms were fine but shower pressure definitely needs some work! The staff were not as friendly as we had expected from the sign regarding the legendary hospitality of the place - should it read 'infamous hospitality'? Probably not, it was one person and we might have caught them on a very bad day. There is a really nice bar area overlooking the Nile and they have a swimming pool. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillerOBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Whilst not perhaps a 'paradise' on the Nile, this hotel is a perfectly satisfactory place to stay for a few nights. It is located in a quiet residential suburb of Jinja, not too far from the centre or indeed the source of the Nile. It suffers from being on several adjacent sites, a main building, an annex and a riverside garden with pool, but I guess that is only really a problem if it rains very hard. The rooms we had were satisfactory, though beginning to show their age, but they have a decent bed, a working bathroom and even a TV, so what more do you want? My only real gripes were that the staff were initially reluctant to add an extra mattress for a third child and also that the check-out process when paying by credit card was long and complicated (why did they need to take a photocopy of my passport?). But on the plus side, they were kind enough to call me after we had checked out to inform us that we had left a T-shirt behind in one of the rooms. It's not every hotel that would do that.

Room Tip: Choose the main building if you don't want to have to walk across the road for breakfast.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leonetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed a few nights here and thought it was a pretty good choice. The location is great for getting in and out of town without any hassles. The staff are all very friendly and keen to assist you with anything you might need. Although the rooms are not fantastic by western standards, for East Africa they're on a par with other similar places. They're clean, serviced daily, there's DSTV available as well as free wi-fi, and a lovely view over the Nile, plus hot water always available which is what you want after a long hot day. The swimming pool is a huge plus for the hotel and it's nice to sit at the poolside bar in the evening for a drink or some food. Breakfast is buffet and very good, although we discovered that going earlier is better, especially if you know there are any large groups staying in the hotel at the same time. Overall a good stay and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsyjessmess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed one night here in November 2011, and it was clean, quiet and comfortable. There was a clean bathroom with a hot shower, two nice clean beds with mosquito nets, and a nice breakfast buffet in the morning. The restaurant was also a nice place to relax and have a soda and some simple food.

I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelistaDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews