We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Ambiance”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jinja Nile Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jinja Nile Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Jinja
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Ambiance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Although we did not spend a night here (after reading past reviews), this place is very beautiful, the rooms look clean and the ambiance is just lovely. we spent an afternoon swimming and just walking around. you can have your drinks in the pool with the swim-in bar. but beware there are lots of monkeys around this area if you choose to sit outside and could grab your food!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyeyune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    46
    34
    13
    22
See reviews for
30
23
3
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have been traveling in Uganda for the last 4 days and were excited to come here and relax at this "resort" for 2 days. Based on the price we were paying, $250 USD, we thought it would be around a 3-4 star. Boy were we surprised. The resort looks like it was built in the late 60's, has a great view of the Nile, a nice pool, and two bars. Even though they say they have 5 restaurants-they all serve from the same menu.
The staff, like all places in Africa, are extremely friendly and accommodating. However, we had to ask numerous time to get our safe fixed, fix our clogged shower, and even ask to be moved. This place is huge and we were one of 10 guests the entire time. We asked to me moved to a room w/ AC, but they stated that room rate would be $500USD! Really? This is not the Wynn Las Vegas.

Positive side is the drinks and food were cheep and the massage was $8.

Be prepared to have many gnats and bugs around at night.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Nile have a great view. NO AC, hot hot hot, and plenty of bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jinja hotels

Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I was really excited about this place. And i'm easy to please... I don't think I have ever written a negative review on TripAdvisor and I use it all the time! But we have been here only 3 hours... and so far, shower overflowed, safe doesn't work (despite several tries to fix it), the fans aren't making it cool and our room is FULL of bugs and lizards.... totally bummed!! They said they will try to fix it all tomorrow.... The food was good, but they haven't moved us to a cool room with a working safe and shower, despite the request.... Stay away! They could have fixed this by making it right!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tdunnadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

The hotel itself and the rooms look lovely from a distance but on check in its clear it is in need of a serious renovation. Fresh paint would go along way along with updated furniture and fixtures, it could be renovated beautifully to suit it's colonial design.
Service at check in was rude, and apart from 1-2 management it didn't get better. We spent Christmas Day there so staff were busy but adequate preparation should have been taken to cater for this and politeness and helpfulness did not exist, they made it clear they didn't want to be there, possibly a sign they were not treated well by upper management or owners. No pride or care was taken in their work, uniforms or jobs. Drinks would take 20-30 minutes, we were unable to order dinner pool side and told we could order inside, which after a manager having to yell at the staff member in front of us we were served at 10.30 pm. Buffet breakfast and lunch was very bland and disappointing, desserts ran out, floors and table cloths filthy.
On Christmas Day they allowed anyone to use the very small pool, so it was over run with Indian men and non guests, loud music played all day and night and a disgusting mess was left at the end with wet towels, glasses and plates of food and this was still there the next morning and the pool water was disgustingly dirty and murky.
The rooms could be lovely, but feel very tired. Television didn't work and bathroom was filthy, towels dirty and full of bugs, mouse droppings found in the wardrobe and no hot water. After bringing the cleanliness of the bathroom to there attention, the cleaner came to inspect and argued that it was clean and then rudely left. The bathroom walls had stains all over them, shower tile grout was full of mould.
I would never stay here again, well overpriced, we have stayed at better hotels for less and they had exceptional service with clean and hygienic facilities.
.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFisher2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Best place in town! Don't expect a working TV or internet in your room, but then again consider where you are...I would definitively stay here again. Fantastic view of the Nile. The highlight is the great staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jukka-San
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Situated on the bank of the river Nile, the view from this hotel is very impressive and tranquil.

The main building which house the (impressive) reception area, dining rooms, conference hall and gym is separate from the rooms, which are scattered along the river bank, two aside each other. Not all rooms have a clear view of the river though, that cost $20 day extra.

The rooms are very spacious with a small lounge area and patio to relax. The furniture is quite old and dark but in good condition. Although there are no A/C’s in the rooms, they do have fans which does not help a lot on warm humid evenings.

The bed, pillows, linen and mosquito net is clean and in good condition.

There is a mini fridge, free Coffee/Tea, a save and a TV in the room although the TV reception and channel selection is pathetic. The Wi-Fi service is very reliable, fast and free.

The rooms tend to be very dark at night due to poor lighting which makes working or reading at night very difficult. The isolation between the rooms are exceptionally poor which makes it possible to hear each and every noise that the neighbor makes – not charming at all – one night I had a drunken rowdy couple next door that kept going till 2:30am which did not impress me at all.

The bathrooms consist of a shower, washbasin and toilet. In the room that I stayed (C3) the bathroom walls were dirty, the toilet seat is past it’s use by date and whenever I took a shower the bathroom and bedroom floor was flooded due to poor drainage.

I always had hot water which was great, even in the most expensive hotels in Africa this could be a problem.

The bathroom towels were all past their use by dates as well and most of them had marks on and were not soft, as they should be – not a pleasure to use.

Housekeeping is not what one would expect in hotel like this, I had to ask 3 times to have a light changed, the top shelve in the wardrobe had some mouse droppings, – it’s still there I presume – the bathroom walls were never cleaned and the shower issue was not attended to as well.

Breakfast is very plain and simple with a very limited selection. Nothing to look forward too!

The dinner menu is also very limited but the meals that I ordered were good and tasteful, better than the food in the highly rated Flavours restaurant in town. The view is also much better with the Nile, lovely green vegetation and the pool below.

The hotel caters for conferences and there is also a well-equipped gym on the premises.
Overall impression? A lovely hotel with a lot of potential, the rooms need some attention and housekeeping needs to be taken care off. At $180 -$200 a night a bit expensive though but there is not much else to choose from in Jinja.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a neighbor - you don't need that! You can hear EVERYTHING that happens ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob312613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We were sleeping in Jinja and went for a swim to the Nile Resort. Really quiet (no one around), clean pool and we got some towels for the 6000 UGX each. Staff was pretty friendly, nice views on the Nile river an they didn't care that we brought our own drinks and food!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakkeveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jinja hotels
1.9 mi away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Brisk Hotel Triangle
Brisk Hotel Triangle
#4 of 7 in Jinja
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.2 mi away
Source Of The Smile Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Wildwaters Lodge
Wildwaters Lodge
#1 of 27 in Jinja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
3.6 mi away
Gately on Nile
Gately on Nile
#6 of 33 in Jinja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.1 mi away
Signature Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinja Nile Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinja Nile Resort

Property: Jinja Nile Resort
Address: Jinja, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Jinja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jinja Nile Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Jinja Nile Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jinja Nile Hotel Jinja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing