We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure Relaxation on the Nile” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holland Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holland Park
Ranked #6 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Jinja
Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pure Relaxation on the Nile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Holland Park was amazing. We've stayed at a few places around Jinja and up towards Bujagali, and without doubt, Holland Park is the place we'd reccomend to friends.

It's unbelievably tranquil, just right for a quick getaway from Kampala! I HATE giving five-star reviews for anything, as I always think that nothing's completely perfect, but try as I might, I can't think of a legitimate reason to deduct a point from Holland Park.

The owners, Wim and Monique, couldn't do enough for us, and were completely cool about us bringing our newly rescued dog along, and even introduced him to their own four placid and very well-behaved dogs.

There really is no down-side, the bandas stunning: well-equiped and very beautifully furnished. Just remember to bring enough food and drink for your stay and you'll be glad you came....

Room Tip: Although we stayed in one of the Bandas, we have been told that the tent is even more impressive, pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThwaitesChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    4
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
33
53
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Lagos, Ni
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Wow what a wonderful place. The owners are so friendly and helpful, the house is well build and extremely well equipped. The house and bedding were neat and clean. I also have to mention the shower, great water pressure and great hot water. We took the birding tour by boat with the host Wim, he was extremely patient and knowledgeable we saw, Open bill storks, nesting fish eagles 5 different types of kingfisher and the Somali bee eater. He also found us a colony of palm nut vultures at rest and the Nile monitor lizzard. Nothing was too much trouble and he is friends with other resort owners in the area so is able to offer an amazing range of activities. The beds are fitted with " well fitting mosquito nets" and there is great air flow through open windows. Solar power and Solar heating make this environmentally friendly have a must visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goes, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I visited Holland Park twice. The place is really great, like a park, green, clean and a fantastic view over the Nile. The houses are beautiful with European quality, electricity, nice hot showers and 'gezellig'. The energy is green, hot water and electricity by the sun. The owners, Wim and Monique are friendly and will help you.

Matt

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthieu h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

A fantastic place to stay with the Dutchies Wim and Monique. If you want to sit by the Nile and soak up the atmosphere or take a boat ride out to go fishing and try your luck with the Nile Perch its your choice. There are plenty of activities if you want, just ask and they can be arranged. Jinja is only a short distance away and a good safe place so you are not isolated if you fancy a little of the night life or if you want to pick up one of the local tours. We have stayed there three times now over the last few years and unfortunately wont be back this year but we look forward to our return its like home from home.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

This wonderful place, run by Wim and Monique, is perfect for chilling out or taking advantage of the many activities on offer -- you choose! The chalets themselves are of a very high standard - your own piece of Africa where you can feel completely at home for the duration of your stay. Can't wait to repeat the experience!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

There is nothing as lovely as a sundowner on the verander of your own peaceful bungalow overlooking the nile and watching the spectacular sunsets. The hosts Wim and Monique are warm and friendly and so helpfull with things to see and do. Holland Park is close enough to Jinja to head out on safaris to game parks, it's a great base to holiday from, and after a few weeks treking around game parks, it's great to come back to, to relax and recharge. There are plenty of activities along the nile, quade bike riding, white water rafting, horse riding etc, that it's easy to base yourself there and enjoy all the area has to offer. if you are traveling on your own, you feel very safe and secure there, and very well cared for. We are lookiing forward to our next trip..Sherry and Keith from Queensland Australia

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

What can I say? It's obvious from the other reviews that this is a great place. Just back from my 2nd visit. Wim & Monique who run the place make everything easy for you and can book any trips and activities for you. Just tell them what you want and they'll sort it. The cottages are perfect for 2 or 3 people and they've resisted the temptation to add more so the place is so quiet it's like having your own house on the Nile for a couple of days.
A perfect base for a trip to Jinja - simple as that.
Stephen B

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenBKampala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jinja hotels
1.7 mi away
Jinja Nile Resort
Jinja Nile Resort
#1 of 7 in Jinja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.5 mi away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
Brisk Hotel Triangle
Brisk Hotel Triangle
#4 of 7 in Jinja
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Wildwaters Lodge
Wildwaters Lodge
#1 of 25 in Jinja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
3.8 mi away
Source Of The Smile Hotel
5.2 mi away
Gately on Nile
Gately on Nile
#6 of 32 in Jinja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Park

Property: Holland Park
Address: Kayunga Road | P.O. Box 486, Jinja, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Jinja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holland Park offers self catering accommodation on the Western banks of the Nile, 7 kilometers from Jinja. Alex and Ana have 5 cottages and a luxurious chalet each with an equipped kitchen and a private barbeque (sustainable charcoal provided). And a new swimming pool. You only have to bring your own food and drinks. Other options are: order food from our small restaurant or order take-aways. Holland Park is situated in a 10 acre pristine garden with an abundance of bird life, which you can also observe during a boat ride with Alex. Holland Park is an affordable destination for people who want to cater for themselves and have privacy during their getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Jovago.com so you can book your Holland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing