We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite place in Uganda”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Holland Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holland Park
Ranked #6 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Jinja
Kampala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favourite place in Uganda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Having lived in Uganda for about 15 years, I can say that Holland Park is by far the best place to stay in Jinja. Better value can not be found.

No where else will you be welcomed with such amazing hospitality, the owners, Wim and Monique are awesome people with an amazing story to tell. We've stayed with them about 6 times so far and I'm sure that we will stay with them many, many more times and not ever be disappointed.

Holland Park being situated so close to Kampala makes it the perfect option for a quick and relaxing weekend and in my opinion the fact that it is self catering makes for the perfect getaway as you can eat exactly what you want and be sure of the outcome! Monique is always willing to help if you've left something behind too, like the Vodka!!

Room Tip: The second of the "Original" Cottages has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank etsdup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    4
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
33
53
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

My wife Linda and I visited Holland Park for the first time for three nights in July. What a fantastic experience! We stayed in the "Honeymoon" suite which is a fantastic safari tent under a roof. It has a great en-suite shower and we enjoyed ourselves tremendously!

The hospitality from Wim and Monique's side was just amazing and we left form friends and resolved to stay in contact with them going into the future. If at all possible, we will definitely go back for the serenity, beauty and friendship.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dee_Dog_1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Holland Park was amazing. We've stayed at a few places around Jinja and up towards Bujagali, and without doubt, Holland Park is the place we'd reccomend to friends.

It's unbelievably tranquil, just right for a quick getaway from Kampala! I HATE giving five-star reviews for anything, as I always think that nothing's completely perfect, but try as I might, I can't think of a legitimate reason to deduct a point from Holland Park.

The owners, Wim and Monique, couldn't do enough for us, and were completely cool about us bringing our newly rescued dog along, and even introduced him to their own four placid and very well-behaved dogs.

There really is no down-side, the bandas stunning: well-equiped and very beautifully furnished. Just remember to bring enough food and drink for your stay and you'll be glad you came....

Room Tip: Although we stayed in one of the Bandas, we have been told that the tent is even more impressive, pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThwaitesChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Lagos, Ni
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Wow what a wonderful place. The owners are so friendly and helpful, the house is well build and extremely well equipped. The house and bedding were neat and clean. I also have to mention the shower, great water pressure and great hot water. We took the birding tour by boat with the host Wim, he was extremely patient and knowledgeable we saw, Open bill storks, nesting fish eagles 5 different types of kingfisher and the Somali bee eater. He also found us a colony of palm nut vultures at rest and the Nile monitor lizzard. Nothing was too much trouble and he is friends with other resort owners in the area so is able to offer an amazing range of activities. The beds are fitted with " well fitting mosquito nets" and there is great air flow through open windows. Solar power and Solar heating make this environmentally friendly have a must visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goes, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I visited Holland Park twice. The place is really great, like a park, green, clean and a fantastic view over the Nile. The houses are beautiful with European quality, electricity, nice hot showers and 'gezellig'. The energy is green, hot water and electricity by the sun. The owners, Wim and Monique are friendly and will help you.

Matt

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthieu h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

A fantastic place to stay with the Dutchies Wim and Monique. If you want to sit by the Nile and soak up the atmosphere or take a boat ride out to go fishing and try your luck with the Nile Perch its your choice. There are plenty of activities if you want, just ask and they can be arranged. Jinja is only a short distance away and a good safe place so you are not isolated if you fancy a little of the night life or if you want to pick up one of the local tours. We have stayed there three times now over the last few years and unfortunately wont be back this year but we look forward to our return its like home from home.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

This wonderful place, run by Wim and Monique, is perfect for chilling out or taking advantage of the many activities on offer -- you choose! The chalets themselves are of a very high standard - your own piece of Africa where you can feel completely at home for the duration of your stay. Can't wait to repeat the experience!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jinja hotels
1.7 mi away
Jinja Nile Resort
Jinja Nile Resort
#2 of 7 in Jinja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
3.5 mi away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
11.1 mi away
Wildwaters Lodge
Wildwaters Lodge
#1 of 27 in Jinja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Source Of The Smile Hotel
5.2 mi away
Gately on Nile
Gately on Nile
#6 of 33 in Jinja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
5.1 mi away
Surjio's Guest House
Surjio's Guest House
#3 of 33 in Jinja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Park

Property: Holland Park
Address: Kayunga Road | P.O. Box 486, Jinja, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Jinja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holland Park offers self catering accommodation on the Western banks of the Nile, 7 kilometers from Jinja. Alex and Ana have 5 cottages and a luxurious chalet each with an equipped kitchen and a private barbeque (sustainable charcoal provided). And a new swimming pool. You only have to bring your own food and drinks. Other options are: order food from our small restaurant or order take-aways. Holland Park is situated in a 10 acre pristine garden with an abundance of bird life, which you can also observe during a boat ride with Alex. Holland Park is an affordable destination for people who want to cater for themselves and have privacy during their getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Jovago.com so you can book your Holland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing