We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent stay”
Review of Holland Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holland Park
Ranked #6 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Jinja
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exellent stay”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

rustic atmosphere, superb houses with lovely nice owners.I can highley recommended Holland Park as an excellent base to use wether you're touring/overnighting or there on business.You will enjoy your awesome time!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoinettevandemeent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    4
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
33
53
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Holland Park currently consists of two beautiful cottages on an extensive estate with a spectacular view of the Nile – one that’s far superior to the other riverside accommodation available in Jinja. We’ve been back 4 times now and have just booked another stay.

The location is perfect – right next door to Nile Horseback Safaris, for those who enjoy riding, and away from the hustle and bustle of Jinja town.

The cottages are self-catering but this is more of a plus than a minus, as both are kitted out with barbecues (supplied with Holland Park’s own homemade charcoal) and the kitchens are fully kitted out. If you’d prefer not to cook you can organise to have some of the best Indian food in Uganda delivered straight to the door – just ask Monique for the number.

Wim and Monique are extremely accommodating and will go to any length to make your stay more comfortable – they’re happy to accommodate campers, and even let us bring our dog!

Without doubt the best accommodation in Jinja - couldn’t recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zuleikadobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We live in Uganda and love to pass every now and then a calm weekend in the beautiful and hospitable environment Monique and Wim have created on the breath taking borders of the Nile.

An ideal place also to visit with family and friends who have their first Africa experience.
Outdoor, but with high quality facilities.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrie8859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at Holland Park for a couple of days on our way back to Kampala and absolutely loved it!
The accommodation is clean, the house is self contained, well decorated and in an amazing setting over looking the Nile, very peaceful (...this was also by far the best shower we had in our 2 weeks!) Wim and Monique are friendly and helpful without being intrusive. We went on a bird watching cruise - it was tailored to us and we saw a large variety of birds at very close proximity. Would recommend doing this as well.
It's also great value for money - highly recommended and would definitely go there again! It was great!
Helen and Chris

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamapala
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My husband and I love staying at Holland Park. It is a very peaceful and relaxing place. What we love most is the self catering option. The owners are very friendly and it's such an easy escape from Kampala city life.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_giraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

A wonderful place, two hours away from Kampala, perfect for a week-end escape. We stayed in a bungalow overlooking the Nile watching the birds and the wide Ugandan sky. Wim is knowledgeable about the local fauna. He took us on the river for an hour ride to see a variety of kingfishers, pelicans, weavers, fish eagles and even ann unusual crested crane stuck on an island by the storm. Bungalows are spread on a vast lawn, cosy, tastefully decorated and super-confortable. Bring your food because there is no restaurant around, but the kitchen is well-furnished, complete with BBQ. Only 5 bungalows so far: booking is recommended :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
252 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My stay at Holland Park was all too short. This is a place to come for at least a couple days: bring picnic food, and relax in a gorgeous setting by the Nile.
I was in the luxury tent. "Glamping" is what the owners call it...so wonderful!! A beatufiul room with cooking area and cute outdooor-feeling shower. Friends were in one of the cottages up the hill. It was new, modern, great kitchen and porch-- beds are upstairs in a loft.
The owners, Wim and Monique, are terrific and helpful. Wim will take guests on a birding boat trip, if requested.
Note that there is no restaurant on site. Many guests are ex-pats from Kampala who visit for the weekend and bring food to cook. From Holland Park it is about a twenty minute partly bumpy drive to Main St Jinja. If you want to eat out, it should be at lunch, during the day. At dinner, the roads are dark and it seems a long way to go out to eat. Whenyou see the kitcehn,s you'll see why preparing food Chez Holland Park is the best option. Eat out on your terrace and enjoy the peace and quiet!!

Room Tip: I had the luxury tent by the water; friends were in one of the cottages up the hill. Both were fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calinurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jinja hotels
1.7 mi away
Jinja Nile Resort
Jinja Nile Resort
#3 of 8 in Jinja
146 reviews
3.5 mi away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
11.1 mi away
Wildwaters Lodge
Wildwaters Lodge
#1 of 27 in Jinja
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Source Of The Smile Hotel - Luxury Guesthouse
5.2 mi away
Gately on Nile
Gately on Nile
#6 of 34 in Jinja
94 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tulina Riverside Treat
Tulina Riverside Treat
#14 of 27 in Jinja
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Park

Property: Holland Park
Address: Kayunga Road | P.O. Box 486, Jinja, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Jinja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holland Park offers self catering accommodation on the Western banks of the Nile, 7 kilometers from Jinja. Alex and Ana have 5 cottages and a luxurious chalet each with an equipped kitchen and a private barbeque (sustainable charcoal provided). And a new swimming pool. You only have to bring your own food and drinks. Other options are: order food from our small restaurant or order take-aways. Holland Park is situated in a 10 acre pristine garden with an abundance of bird life, which you can also observe during a boat ride with Alex. Holland Park is an affordable destination for people who want to cater for themselves and have privacy during their getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Holland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing