We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Place to Relax”
Review of Holland Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holland Park
Ranked #7 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Jinja
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I've stayed at Holland Park several times now, on each occasion at the end of a really frenetic period of work. It's a marvellous place to relax and recharge before getting back to the rigours of everyday life. The accommodation is superb, the environment immaculate and peaceful. Wim & Monique and their staff are unobtrusive and yet attentive, and nothing appears too much trouble for them. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulV529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

So you'll read all the excellent reviews and think "No way its that good." and you would be wrong. This place is beyond excellent. My girlfriend and I stayed for three nights, four days at Holland Park from March 21, 2013 and we both agree that it is the best place we have ever stayed. Africa, US, UK, anywhere. I coordinated with Monique via email beforehand for reservations and coordination for other activities while we would be there and she was incredibly friendly and helpful. Her and Wim (Husband) run a great place in Jinja. We stayed at one of their self-catering cottages, which sits right on the bank of the Nile for excellent views. The cottage was perfect if you are looking for privacy and freedom (to cook, lounge, and relax). The kitchen had everything you needed minus the food, which you can bring yourself or make runs into town for. Holland Park can even arrange to have small items delivered or like with us, arrange for transportation into town. Oh, back to the cottage, it even has a grill out front you can use. The cottage rooms are just awesome, simple yet very well furnished with super comfy chairs and great beds (with mosquito nets). Seriously, I would live in the cottage long term if I could. Wim and Monique (and their small staff) do a perfect job of greeting you upon arrival, showing you around quickly and then leaving you alone to enjoy your vacation. They have the perfect mindset if you're looking to be left on your own for a good time. However, they are never far away and whenever we needed anything they responded quickly and with a great sense of humor. We sat and talked to them for awhile on multiple occasions during our stay and they truly are nice folks to hang around with. There are plenty of activities that can be arranged from Holland Park to other places in Jinja, such as ATV rides (great time), kayaking (they picked us up from Holland Park's dock no less, great time), and horse riding at Nile Horseback Safaris (right down the road, and great beyond words) to name a few. Wim and Monique are knowledgeable on them all and again were willing to help with everything. Don't forget though, the best part about Holland Park is that you don't need to do anything to enjoy it. That first sunrise you see across the Nile will have you throwing away your watch and phone and just letting the time pass you by in pure happiness. You can be like us, read all the reviews and think "No way its that good" but trust us and do like we did, go and see for yourself. I promise you won't be disappointed. We weren't and we'll be coming back to visit again. Guaranteed, especially once that pool is up and running.

Room Tip: We picked a cottage, but from the location of the rest of the buildings and tents, you can't go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I just want to thank Wim & Monique, the owners of Holland Park for their warm welcome when I stayed at Holland Park. It felt as if I was visiting old friends! The 2 bedroom cottage I stayed in was absolutely perfect. Clean, light & with beautiful decor - a combination of Dutch & African style. This is the best place I have stayed in during 3 weeks in Uganda and I would highly recommend it if you're looking for a bit of tranquil luxury at a surprisingly affordable price, and most reasonably priced luxury accomodation in the area. Waking up to spectacular views as it is actually on the banks of the river Nile is a memory that will stay with me forever, as will the kindness of Wim & Monique. I would go back time and time again and yet I am not in the habit of returning to the same place twice normally!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Our group of 4 had a wonderful team retreat at Holland Park. Monique and Wim have created the perfect spot on the incredibly scenic banks of the Nile for quiet time, reflection and rest. We stayed in the luxury tent and the two bedroom cottage- both were tastefully styled and built, clean, in great shape and comfortable. The cottage had two stories and beautiful rustic architecture. The tent had unbelievable views and a verandah perfect for meeting in the shade with dozens of types of birds swooping by. Weather was perfect with the cool breezes off the river. We loved the "extras" like the super comfy hammocks, trampoline, birding books, Scrabble, and well stocked kitchen gear. We also LOVED the sweet big dogs that kept us company. Holland Park will be even more perfect with the new pool finished in a couple weeks!

Room Tip: The cottage had two stories and beautiful rustic architecture. The tent had unbelievable views and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed in one of the cottages at Holland Park in Jinja and from beginning to end, it was a delightful stay. We were a group of friends, and we took the two cottages that were side by side - spent the weekend reading, cooking, and relaxing in the hammocks provided. The views are spectacular, and the facility is perfectly self-contained. Has everything you could need, from a French press for coffee, to a grill for bbq'ing, and everything you might need in the kitchen. We arranged to go kayaking the next morning for a few hours, and 'Kayak The Nile' (recommended by the owners) came right to the camp and picked us up in the morning. Was a lovely and relaxing weekend.

The owners really go the extra mile to make sure your stay is comfortable and that you have everything you need. At the last minute our car battery was drained and the owner came and helped us troubleshoot the car to see if it was the starter or the battery - ended up giving us a jump with his own car battery, and helped us get on our way.

I will definitely come back - it was a great spot with friends, and I would definitely consider it for a romantic weekend getaway as well.

Make sure to bring your own food - not much onsite.

Tip: the hot and cold water taps are reversed in the showers. I took 2 cold showers before discovering that there is hot water, but that I just needed to switch the taps.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALG-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The cottage that we stayed in was beautiful, and the view was too. Staying here was like staying in Dr Doolitle's garden, we had monkeys (2 species) hundreds of birds and even some very friendly dogs for company. The view of the Nile is mesmorising, especially at sunrise (from 6.45 onwards). The owners are very welcoming and helpful too

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This was the second time i've stayed at Holland Park & it was even better than the first.The environment is absolutely stunning and the accomodation is simply superb. It's the must place to stay in Jinja! Will be back again & can't wait.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimmy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jinja hotels
1.7 mi away
Jinja Nile Resort
Jinja Nile Resort
#2 of 10 in Jinja
154 reviews
3.6 mi away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Brisk Hotel Triangle
Brisk Hotel Triangle
#5 of 10 in Jinja
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Wildwaters Lodge
Wildwaters Lodge
#1 of 31 in Jinja
233 reviews
5.2 mi away
Surjio's Guest House
Surjio's Guest House
#4 of 36 in Jinja
170 reviews
3.9 mi away
Source of the Smile Hotel & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Park

Address: Kayunga Road | P.O. Box 486, Jinja, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Jinja
Price Range: £56 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holland Park offers self catering accommodation on the Western banks of the Nile, 7 kilometers from Jinja. Alex and Ana have 5 cottages and a luxurious chalet each with an equipped kitchen and a private barbeque (sustainable charcoal provided). And a new swimming pool. You only have to bring your own food and drinks. Other options are: order food from our small restaurant or order take-aways. Holland Park is situated in a 10 acre pristine garden with an abundance of bird life, which you can also observe during a boat ride with Alex. Holland Park is an affordable destination for people who want to cater for themselves and have privacy during their getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing