We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MEMORABLE STAY AT THE SUNSET”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset International Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Jinja
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We found the Sunset beyond our expectations and the family has insisted on return visit so as to be pampered again.
The place is welcoming, the rooms are kept clean and breakfast is fabulous. The surrounding is quite good and the hotel is within walking distance to Jinja town and the source of lake Victoria which makes it easier for sightseeing tours.
We found the staff available to attend to the needs of visitors.
The hotel however need to inform visitors in advance that swimming pools is only available for paying visitors at the adjacent Paradise Hotel.
During our stay the internet connectivity was poor and this can inconvenience visitors who want to catch up with work.
Otherwise I give a thumbs up to the management.

Room Tip: The room with the jacuzzi is quite good although after booking it I found it had been allocated to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GORDON O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

The general manager was not helpful in resolving my stolen blouse issue and didn't address it until the last morning as we were trying to check out, even though we reported it missing the morning of the day before. Her reasoning was that she couldn't check my bags to be sure I didn't have it packed!!! Stating that 'many people claim to have lost items, then find them later'. I informed her that I would write a review here, for others to see. The room was 'adequate' and compares to a US 3 star, probably. The staff was very friendly, and the location is great, for our purpose. The food was tasty, but not consistent...huge menu, but many items were 'not here today'. The waitstaff was very helpful, and after having the Wellington Steak the first night, which was like leather wrapped in a not-quite-done doughy bisquit, from then on I ordered ''poached fish fillet in a bowl' every night, it was different every night, but quite good...much like a fish stew.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeresawCareMministri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This hotel is comfortable, clean, safe. Nothing fancy but the food is decent, the price is good and the location is excellent for Jinja. It overlooks the Nile River from the top of the hill. Friendly staff. Fifteen minute walk to the centre of the city. Ten minute walk to the Source of the Nile.
A strange little collection of hallways and stairs to the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres aux étages supérieurs, côté Nil, ont une vue superbe sur le fleuve
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Samsam1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wesp73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank madredifamiglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kamers zijn prima
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joke d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jinja hotels
0.3 mi away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Brisk Hotel Triangle
Brisk Hotel Triangle
#5 of 8 in Jinja
42 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jinja Nile Resort
Jinja Nile Resort
#2 of 8 in Jinja
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Source of the Smile Hotel & Guesthouse
1.5 mi away
Surjio's Guest House
Surjio's Guest House
#4 of 37 in Jinja
170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Al-Nisaa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset International Hotel

Address: 17 Kira Road, Jinja, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Jinja
Price Range: £43 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Sunset International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing