We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend for camping/easy living”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Explorers River Camp
Ranked #4 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Jinja
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend for camping/easy living”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

What a beautiful and lovely camp site. We were in awe upon arrival. The view of the Nile is so special here, especially when enjoyed with a slushy on the patio overlooking the river. Don’t miss out on the open air showers near the water. The facilities are clean, modern, and well taken care of. HOT HOT showers, power, and even a hair dryer in the women’s bathroom. The food is delicious and extremely reasonable. We loved the wildlife surrounding the area. The staff is ever so friendly and helpful. Try kayak the nile as well for tandem kayaking. One of the best experiences ever for me and my husband. The staff will also postmark and send your postcard for you for no additional fee above the cost of the stamp and postcard. A lovely service for those that still like to send postcards. The cruise along the Nile was a treat as well. We wish the team all the success!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie C, General Manager at Explorers River Camp, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi Taya K.

Thanks for the great review, we are pleased you and your husband so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We agree, our camps location at Bujagali is undoubtedly one of the most scenic locations on the Nile.

Cheers
Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    32
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
20
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glenbrook, NSW
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This park could well be described as "a camp site inside a bar" 
 the late closing hours of the bar and the encouragement of patrons to party on is a serious disadvantage of this otherwise attractive, clean and well situated camping park. It has beautiful views over the river. They organised a great evening river cruise and had lots of opportunities for rafting.  We didnt go but many in our group did and reported great experiences. The bar and eating areas are very pleasant and the staff were very helpful. Unfortunately both nights of our stay were very disturbed by raucous noise from others in the bar. - many of whom were not campers or cabin guests but  in for the revelry.  On enquiry with the staff as to the frequency of this I was told every second weekend.  We would not return if there were events planned there. We did not sleep on one night and had little on the other. Such a shame!

Helpful?
Thank JED52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie C, General Manager at Explorers River Camp, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hi JED52,

We apologise for your 'appalling sleep'. Explorers River Camp has always had a reputation of being a party venue and in many cases it is the adrenaline of a days ratting that fuels the party, but we do have a strict policy that the bar at the camp shuts at 01:00 am. There are however other bars in the area that we have no control over and which sometimes stay open till the early hours particularly on weekends.

Cheers
Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

My girlfriend and I arrived to a very warm welcome, and we were fortunately able to upgrade to ensuite accomodation for all 6 nights of our stay due to a cancellation.
The camp boasts gorgeous views of the nile, and a lovely bar which serves decent, cheap food.
The camp is the ideal place to stay if you are intending to go rafting, quadbiking, etc (which I highly recommend). One is able to book all activities at the reception, which is manned by very friendly and competent staff.
Overall, we had a fantastic time and we would not hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie C, General Manager at Explorers River Camp, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi Daniel T,

We are pleased you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay at Explorers River Camp and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are appreciated.

Cheers
Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Our group of 46 people (mostly young people from the US based in different locations around Africa) stayed here for 4 nights in early March. We had a few group meals provided by the camp, which were excellent (and mostly on schedule). The accomodations are pretty basic but the view was gorgeous and our crew took advantage of the kayaking, SUP, swimming and many of them took advantage of the white water rafting trips (but this was not a part of our organized event). The bar can be boisterous at night, but the party doesn't go extremely late and a good set of earplugs will keep the noise at bay. The staff could not have been more kind, helpful, informative and friendly--they are really what make this place special. We hope to return next year to see Nash, Jacques, Celia, Jimmy and Robert again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie C, General Manager at Explorers River Camp, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi Stephanie L,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate your comments and I will make sure your thanks are passed on to all those you mentioned. Your group is more than welcome any time.

Cheers
Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Chile
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights after gorilla trekking. The location is amazing and the view is stunning. We stayed in a private double with ensuite which was pretty reasonable. Staff are excellent and very helpful. We did mountain biking with Andrew as our guide - he was great and mountain biking is a great way to see the area (bikes are a little rough though). Bar is a great way to hang out and chill and just enjoy the view. We definitely recommend to stay here! Also, the lady from the local village selling her hand-made jewellery at the campsite was lovely :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prash87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie C, General Manager at Explorers River Camp, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi Prash87,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Explorers River Camp. A couple of days can easily be spent doing one of the activities in the area and it is such a great place to unwind.

Cheers
Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

What can I say, it's a backpackers campsite don't expect the Ritz but do expect an awesome party! The showers with a view are awesome (and normally warm) after a hard day on the river and useful for some after dark shenanigans. The tables in the bar are great for dancing on; the Zappa is brilliant for setting on fire and sticking to your chest; the views are spectacular; the staff are lovely; the kayak guides are drunkards; the lake is spot on for some skinny dipping and the coffee is not THAT bad in the morning. Whatever you do don't challenge the big tattooed Safa to an arm wrestle, you'll loose and he'll gloat! And look out for The Naked Ninja......nobody knows who he is! If you're lucky the Mountain Club of Uganda will come down and show you what a real party is.

Room Tip: The tents with a view are pretty damn good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie C, General Manager at Explorers River Camp, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hi dpksmith,

Not sure whether to thank you for this review or not :-).

Explorers River Camp is certainly known for the occasional party and we are pleased that you enjoyed the one that occurred during you stay.

We cannot however guarantee that there will be dancing on the tables and naked ninja's every night.

Cheers
Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I travelled here to stay for 1 night with two friends as a break from volunteering in Kampala, we originally book a four bed dorm but chose to upgrade to a double room at the last minute, the dorms were fine but for the sake of £2 extra each we could lock our room and sleep in a double bed for the night and have a little balcony to sit out on...the room also had a bunk so actually sleeps 4 people! Tha bathrooms are clean and have powerful HOT showers...much needed after washing in cold water for nearly a week previously! The view from the bar is amazing and we enjoyed a few drinks and some food whilst watching the sunset. We explored our way down to the 'swimming jetty' and swam in the Nile and no harm came to us, we also met a few guys down there (whilst dropping some people off) who ran a boat cruise for $15pp with beer included, try and arrange something like this rather than pay $45 when booked via the hostel itself! We also hired kayaks from the hostel at $20 ph which was really good fun. Would definitely recommend staying a few nights here, good accom, food atmosphere and plenty of things to do :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie C, General Manager at Explorers River Camp, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hi Emma L,

Thanks for the review - we are please you enjoyed your stay at Explorers River Camp.

We appreciate that you saved some money by taking a cruise on a local boat but we feel that the two cruises are not really compatible. If there are only two of you, then a small boat is probably your best option, but the 'Nile Explorer' is a two storey pontoon boat that takes up to 40 people and a great way to meet fellow travellers. The $45 is inclusive of food and drinks and is discounted to $25 if you book a raft cruise combo.

Cheers
Leslie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jinja hotels
2.0 mi away
Jinja Nile Resort
Jinja Nile Resort
#2 of 7 in Jinja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nile Village Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Source Of The Smile Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holland Park
Holland Park
#6 of 27 in Jinja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
10.9 mi away
Wildwaters Lodge
Wildwaters Lodge
#1 of 27 in Jinja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
5.6 mi away
Gately on Nile
Gately on Nile
#6 of 33 in Jinja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorers River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorers River Camp

Property: Explorers River Camp
Address: Bujagali, Jinja 2155, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Jinja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic views of the Nile, a well stocked bar and excellent meals have made this site one of East Africa’s most popular places to stay. Whether you are camping, staying in dormitories or rooms, our bar deck overlooking the river is the perfect place to enjoy a cold beer and amazing sunsets. The trees above boast a multitude of tropical bird life and the ‘riverside showers’ alone have become famous for the incredible scenery they overlook. Lush terraces offer secluded safari tents with stunning views of the River Nile. Secure and cozy with fresh linen at your disposal, they have become extremely popular. Numbers are limited so it is strongly advised you book well in advance.In addition to our terraced safari tens we now offer standard safari tents in the main camping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Explorers River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing