We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
25
22
10
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
22
10
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2017

-lovely location near the sea. We booked a room with balcony at the sea side and had a very nice sea view.
-staff is very friendly
-quiet hotel
-the architecture : the hotel was built in 1965 and designed by the architect Ante Rožić, in a specific Adriatic style. The interior was designed by a Croatian architect and decorated by Croation artists. It results in a very unique atmosphere. At first sight, some people might call it ‘dated’, but if you give it a chance, you will soon notice how much more beautiful it is than the ‘cheaply renovated’ interior of some of the other hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fiona037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KresoCo, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Maestral, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear fiona037,

Thank you for your amazing feedback. We are glad you liked our hotel, staff and the location. Hopefully we see each other next year. A beautiful room is waiting for you.

Kind regards,
Ana Medić, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

I have nothing positive to say about this place. The hotel is extremely dated, furniture is old and ratty. They claim to be "retro" but it is a far cry from "retro cool". The hotel was built in the 60s and has literally not been touched since. From the start, we were not made to feel welcome. Upon arrival we were not shown to our rooms or helped with our luggage. No map of the area was provided and facilities not explained. We had booked a Sea View Room 3 months prior as we wanted our stay in Brela to be special and memorable as we were celebrating our 2 year anniversary. Due to "technical difficulties" we were given a Park View Room. The room had a view of the parking lot. And from what I could see all the Sea View Rooms were occupied so we were left extremely disappointed. Room had no shower, only a bath. When I asked to change rooms to one with a shower I was told all rooms were like that. Whether that is true or not I have no idea. The restaurant area was like stepping into an episode of Love Boat, I have never seen anything like it. Hotel staff were not friendly and unhelpful which made for an uncomfortable stay. In summary, I will not be staying at this hotel ever again and will never recommend this to others. There are loads of other places right on the beach which are a hundred times better.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank wenben83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KresoCo, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Maestral, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear wbenkotic,

I’m sorry you feel this way about our hotel. It has been renovated several times since its construction. Bluesun Hotel Maestral is actually one of the finest examples of modernist hotel architecture in Croatia, studied by architects and students of architecture both locally and internationally.
I honestly appreciate your opinion the same way I appreciate the many positive reviews we receive from our guests. Thanks again for your time and effort.

Best regards
Ana Medić
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

What I didn't liked:
- a lot of noise from the industrial A/C or ventilation machine placed near the hotel; we were forced to sleep with the windows closed, but the noise was still present
- very old furniture and windows, some 30-40 years old, in need of repair
- barely working A/C unit, blowing the air over the bed
- cigarette smell coming from nearby rooms
- no accesible sockets near the bed (for charging the phone or laptop)
- no A/C on the hallways or lobby - they keep a lot of windows opened all day to compensate
- the A/C units in the restaurant were stopped
- you must use the same fixed table at breakfast during the entire stay
- fixed selection for breakfast menu
- nobody informs you at arrival about hotel facilities (swimming pool, bar, minigolf etc.)
- the hotel dosen't have a reserved area on the beach, so you have to go early to hunt for a free spot, as the beach gets very crowded after 10:00 o'clock; the sunlouges can be rented, but they are quite expensive
- crowded parking place, improvised alongside the road leading to the hotel; there are less parking places than hotel rooms
- the hotel is close but not right on the beach - you have to climb a lot of stairs through the garden to get to the hotel from the beach

What I liked:
- nice classical hotel close to the beach, surrounded by trees and a nice garden
- clean room and bathroom
- nicely decorated room and lobby
- large lobby and restaurant
- beutifull beach in front of the hotel (small pebbles, shaded by pinetrees, very clean water)

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the industrial A/C or ventilation units, located at the other end, opposite to the entrance/reception.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tudor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KresoCo, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Maestral, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Tudor T,

Thank you equally for all the kind words and for highlighting the potentials to improve.
Always a pleasure to read such a detailed guest review.
Have a great rest of the year and I hope to see you again at the Bluesun Hotel Maestral.

All the best,
Ana Medić
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We where there 14 days and had the most fantastic holiday. Combined sunny day at the pool/beach with nice excursions and hiking in the mountain.
The hotel staff where very nice, clean room with a spectacular view and great food.
The only thing we lacked was a kettle to make coffe and the in the room.
We would like to return to Maestral some times. :-)

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TessFransson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Maestral, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Dear TessFransson,

thank you for such a positive feedback and for sharing your fantastic experience with us. We are happy to announce that there will be changes in the future, so we are looking forward to host you again. Thank you for the highest rate and for giving us your trust.

Best regards
Ana Medic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel is clean,, it's like bring back my childhood memories ( still old style), I mean like the elevator, furnitures, etc...

The bed, it's difficult for us to sleep in,, didn't feel comfortable, unless you are really exhausted..

Breakfast choices not to good, everything is so-so..

But, the service were prety nice... The view is outstanding, luckily they have the beach... More than that,,, the room rate were same like 5 star hotel we've been in previous week...

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Wirdah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Maestral, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Dear Wirdah H,

thank you for your review. We are sorry that hotel didn't meet your expectations. This is a retro hotel, where some of the most loyal guests come for over 30 years, and it has been a status symbol of the 1960s and 1970s.

Hotel is famous for having murals and paintings of some of the most famous Croatian painters. Nevertheless, thank you for recognizing the efforts and quality of our staff and location. We hope your overall vacation went well.

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us and we hope you will visit one of our other Bluesun hotels in Brela.

Best regards,
Ana Medic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews