We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great house, charming innkeepers”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lansing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Federal House B & B
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lansing
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great house, charming innkeepers”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here three nights while attending my 50th Cornell reunion. Despite being some eight or nine miles north of campus, the property was convenient for us and provided a welcome escape from reunion hustle and bustle.

The house is spacious, beautifully furnished and very comfortable. We occupied the Lincoln Suite, a large bedroom with adjacent bath in the front of the house.

Donna couldn't have been a better host (we met Mike,but most of the time he was off at his day job). Although not a native, she has become knowledgeable about the area in general and the house in particular. It has an interesting history as other reviews make clear. Breakfasts on the morning-sun illuminated side porch were wonderful and varied.

Room Tip: The Lincoln Suite was the only room we saw. It has a southern exposure, so was bright and sunny dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m20j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandDonna175, Owner at The Federal House B & B, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Glad you were able to enjoy your 50th reunion and return to the Ithaca area after so long.
We're delighted to share our knowledge of The Ithaca area and all it has to offer, even though it's relatively new to us.

We hope you'll visit again when your travels bring you to Ithaca once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Your hosts, Michael and Donna are very knowledgeable about the area and make wonderful recommendations for dining and sightseeing and were a pure joy to have conversations with. We stayed in the William Seward Suite and found it to be very clean and spacious. Our breakfasts were fresh and delicious each morning and Donna was very accommodating. If your stay affords you the opportunity, you can experience so many different things staying at the Federal House. Its location is a short drive to wine tasting, boating, swimming, hiking in the most beautiful parks I've ever seen, visit the local Farm Market, visit Cornell and many other fantastic sights. If you just want to relax and throw yourself into a good book, walk on over to Ludlowville Falls, throw down a blanket and enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777Michael_Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandDonna175, Owner at The Federal House B & B, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We appreciate your wonderful review. We are constantly trying to improve our guest's experience and make their stay a memorable one.

Feedback from our customers is extremely constructive, as there's always a positive take away. And of course, it's always great to hear kind words. Thanks again for your kind words, and come back again if you're in our neck of the woods!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demarest, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

History majors (I'm one) will love the Federal House. William Seward visited the house often before going on to become Lincoln's secretary of State, U.S. senator, and governor of New York. There are hints that the mantle of the fireplace was made by none other than Brigham Young, the Mormon leader. The house is within earshot of Ludlowville Falls, which powered a grist mill in the early years of the United States. So much history and excitement for a house that is now a quiet refuge in a sleepy hamlet! Because it's in the Salmon Creek gorge, the house is protected from the blasting winds that come across Cayuga Lake and up the eastern slope. Donna was a charming hostess during our two-night visit. Michael was off the whole time tending his young grapevines. As for being 10 minutes from Ithaca? Make that 15 or so.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandDonna175, Owner at The Federal House B & B, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our B & B. We pride ourselves in offering a relaxing atmosphere in our tiny little hamlet. We've worked very hard at maintaining the historic feeling of our home, while providing modern conveniences. Breakfast on our porch, air conditioning, as well as all of the comforts of home.

We're glad you enjoyed coming back to Ithaca as a Cornell alum! We hope to see you again while your son attends Cornell.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Up in the area for an anniversary weekend we decided to stay at the Federal House B&B for 2 nights. Actually our 6 th visit here and second under the new owners Donna and Michael. This is a great smaller B&B with 4 rooms. It is situated a short 10 minute drive to Ithaca. We like to stay here outside of Ithaca where it is peaceful and quiet but still close enough to everything. It is located a short one minute walk to a nice waterfall and park. You can hear the waterfall from our bedroom and that was really awesome. Our room and the entire place was immaculate. The bed was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. It has AC but you don't really need it at least not this past weekend. Our room had a recent renovation to the bathroom and it really was nice with the new shower. Donna is a great host and really helps make your stay pleasant. Nice breakfasts and all guests eat at the same table which allows for great conversation. Coffee and munchies in the PM is a nice touch. What can we say we love this B&B. You will too. Thanks Donna for another wonderful stay. See you soon.

Room Tip: All room are great. We especially like the Lincoln Room which has it's own stairway and own cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeke905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandDonna175, Owner at The Federal House B & B, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you Rich and Karen for your kind words. You are both seasoned B & B guests who make our job an easy one! Hope to see you again on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed two nights in this charming Federal style B & B, set in gorgeous surroundings. Donna and Michael were gracious hosts, making sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast was wholesome, healthy & delicious. The whole place is immaculately clean, beautifully decorated and very well appointed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yosale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandDonna175, Owner at The Federal House B & B, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We always appreciate great reviews! Glad you enjoyed your stay, and please visit again if your travels find you in the Ithaca area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Set about 10 minute outside of Ithaca, the Federal House is a tasteful, extremely comfortable B&B. We stayed in the Lincoln Suite, which had original detail, a four-poster bed, and a gas fireplace. Despite being nearly 200 years old, the house is impeccably decorated and had completely modern fixtures. Breakfast was delicious both mornings, with a homemade quiche followed up by next-level waffles. Donna and Mike, the owners, were very accommodating with our late arrival (but be sure to email in advance). Perfect for a weekend trip. Would recommend highly!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopkins87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandDonna175, Owner at The Federal House B & B, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Staying at a B & B is a unique experience unlike staying in a huge hotel.

We're glad you had a good time, and thanks so much for your consideration. You both make our jobs easy!

All the best to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Donna and Mike run a great B&B, great location, room and breakfast - looked after us very well and gave us great local advice.

Love and sound and view of the village park and falls 75 yards away.

Lansing is a quiet village but close to everything in the area.

Will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandDonna175, Owner at The Federal House B & B, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Glad we met your expectations.
And thanks for rearranging your schedule to accommodate our 2 night minimum.

Hope to see you again if your travels take you to the Finger Lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lansing
5.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
8.0 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
5.7 mi away
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
#15 of 22 in Ithaca
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
3.1 mi away
Inn at Taughannock
Inn at Taughannock
#5 of 9 in Trumansburg
83 reviews
10.7 mi away
La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Federal House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Federal House B & B

Property: The Federal House B & B
Address: 175 Ludlowville Rd, Lansing, NY 14882-9051
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Lansing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Federal House is a historic Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the Finger Lakes near wine trails, Cornell and Ithaca College.A little something for everyone. Steps to Salmon Creek and Ludlowville Falls. Minutes from downtown Ithaca, the setting provides the romance, peacefulness, and charm for a memorable stay. Four guest rooms all with private baths, AC, wireless internet include two suites with fireplaces and flat screen TV. Fireplace in some rooms .Delicious breakfasts featuring locally fresh ingredients from nearby farms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Federal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing