We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a quick 1 night stay... maybe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Latham
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK for a quick 1 night stay... maybe”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed at this location for a business trip in the past week.

Pros:
- Convenient to get to, near the airport
- Has a restaurant next to the hotel
- Rooms are big, had a double and it was one of the larger hotel rooms I have been in a while
- Free wireless in the rooms
- They gave a welcome bag including water, snacks and slippers

Cons:
- Air conditioner slammed on and off all night. I adjusted it several times but it kept coming on and would not regulate the room. I complained in the morning and they said they would look at it... the woman in front of me also complained... see a trend?
- Toilet flush is LOUD
- Roud noise is LOUD
- Not a big offering of amenities in the bathroom.
- Breakfast... not free... and the people are RUDE. Sat down as there was a menu, finally went up to the counter and they said they would get our order so we waited... and waited... and waited. Finally they came over and said you have to come up to give your order, but they would make an exception. We ordered. A short blonde woman (40ish) came over and in a rude manner said that we are lucky that our order was taken and that we have to order at the counter. She was VERY pushy, rude and frankly ruined the stay more than the noisy air conditioner.
- Do not order the "smoothie" as it is more like a milk shake... it was AWFUL and for $5.....


Overall, ok for a FAST stay, but I wouldn't hang around there too long.

Room Tip: Get a room AWAY from the road... the road noise is very loud. Ask to be on the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineTravelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear MaineTravelah,

We appreciate you taking time to share you experience with future guest. Thank you for reviewing what you liked about your stay and where improvements need to be made. I have made the maintenance department aware of the issue with your AC unit. The beginning of the season is always a challenge, as the cooling unit has not been used in 6 months. The bathroom amenities are Aveda Spa products and standard at any Hotel Indigo. Should you stay with us again in the future, please call ahead, we can supply you with anything additional you may need. The experience at the Golden Bean Cafe, independent cafe in the hotel, has been passed along to the Manager so they can make improvements on guest experience. We hope to see you the next time you travel to the area.
Kind Regards, Jennifer B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    155
    54
    20
    10
See reviews for
85
93
30
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middletown
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed here while on business in May. The rooms were spacious, very clean and accommodating. I was surprised to see wood floors in a hotel room! The bed was super comfortable, I actually got a good nights sleep every night (which is not typical for me). The fitness center is small, and there isn't much variety in terms of equipment but that was fine for me (I just used the treadmill). I have heard great things about the restaurant but did not eat there during my stay. The staff were very nice and accommodating. The location is close to the airport, I-87 and Wolf Rd which has many options for shopping and dining. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Andrea P, Thank you! Our team really appreciates your kind words and the great rating. Thank you for selecting our hotel while traveling in the area. The only thing better than our team is the location. I have shared your kind words with the rest of the team. The Blu Stone Bistro is great and the food is the best in the area. We look forward to having you stay with us again when in the area. Kind Regards, Jennifer B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Generic place. . . all somewhat low end. Pleasant, free and fast shuttle service to and from the airport. A man at the front desk who could barely be bothered at check in. A different guy the following morning was nice. Had a late very lunch so we didn't eat there but food looked OK. Indifferent bar service (took a bottle up of wine up to our room) with a fairly chaotic feel and loud iffy band playing. Ok, I guess.
The room was about as low end as I want to go. Loud air system, gross laminate floors that (while clean I think) just inherently felt sticky, stained (but clean, I hope) polycotton sheets (see photo). Man at the lobby coffee stand was very pleasant and made an ok latte. Fox News on both TVs in the lobby. Not my thing. Sister took the shuttle to airport for a 6:15 AM flight.

I took a $20 cab ride to the train station and had to endure 20 minutes of unbelievable racist, anti-Black and anti-Hispanic ranting from the cab driver (518-456-TAXI) who complained the entire ride about how these people" ruined Miami and Albany. I didn't feel like engaging or would have told him to drop dead. A bad start to the day. Not Hotel Indigo's fault but yecch. Amtrak station? Fox News again.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevator and hallway dividing doors. Sound from halls was loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan10536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Susan10536,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel Indigo Albany Latham. We appreciate you sharing your experience with hotel member and other travelers. I have spoken with the housekeeping staff to make sure that they know where improvements need to be made. Your comment on the independent Bistro connected to the hotel has been given to Blu Stone Bistro management. We take all our guest comments and concerns as a clear indication of how we can improve in different areas to continue to provide excellent service. Thank you for selecting our hotel while traveling in the area. We do hope to see you the next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards, Jennifer B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Caring employees. Greeted as a special guest. Upscale feel throughout the property. Room was spacious and beautifully done. Nice on premise restaurant. No need to leave the property. All of my needs were met. I have only stayed at two hotel Indigos. I am impressed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Russ H,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to see our guests taking the time to share their experience. I have shared your comments with the my team. We look forward to your next stay when traveling to the area. Kind Regards, Jennifer B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

While visiting family in Albany, we decided to try another hotel. This was our first time at a Hotel Indigo so we didn't have too many expectations. The room rate was reasonable for a weekend, and we found the room to be quite nice. The hotel is modern in its decor, but still comfortable with pops of color that lend itself to a more boutique style hotel. The room was also clean and very spacious.

Only complaint is that our room's a/c did not work. We ran the fan all night but the room did not get any cooler. If it was the middle of summer, we would have asked for it to be fixed or that we move to another room, but we managed to sleep in spite of the temp. We learned in the morning that the windows did open (not the case in many hotels) so we could have opened those but would have likely had a noise problem instead.

We ate breakfast in the lobby lounge in the morning. The staff was friendly enough, but seemed a little frazzled and unprepared.

We would stay here again, and from other reviews, I am now even more interested in trying the Blue Bistro (even if we end up at another hotel instead).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorers377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Explorers377, Thank you for your kind words and great star rating. We have a great hotel and an experience that only our hotel can offer guest who travel to the area. Each Hotel Indigo colors are different. Our colors and decor reflect our neighborhood. I am very sorry to hear about your experience with the room AC unit. As we switch season the AC's require some tuning up from the very long and cold winter. I have let the maintenance department know there are still a few that require some attention. The Blu Stone Bistro is a fabulous 4 star bistro that will not disappoint. We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you travel to the area. Kind Regards, Jennifer B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was our first time at this facility. We stayed for our wedding night because we used their conference room - Blue Stone Bistro - for our wedding dinner.
The staff was very nice and the room was comfortable and with ample space.

What we truly enjoyed was the Blue Stone Bistro. From the moment we engaged their services, we knew we would be more than pleased. The food was outstanding, the service was professional and friendly, the room was gorgeous and all our guests left satisfied and had nothing but compliments about it.

Both my husband and I highly recommend it to anyone opting for a small wedding gathering. You will not regret it. Cost effective and money well spent.

The Indigo Hotel blocked a few rooms for our guests and the cost was more than reasonable.
We were very happy with our choice of venue and service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Librada P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, Manager at Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Librada P, Thank you for sharing your experience of your reception and guest room block at our hotel and bistro. I am very happy to hear that your wedding dinner was a huge success. Our meeting/reception space is not like your typical hotel. All the members of our team take pride in their work and go above any beyond for our guest to have the best Hotel Indigo experience possible. We do hope that you select our hotel/bistro when having an event in the future. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, NH
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Indigo. We decided to go with a king suite and simply loved the room. It was comfortable, clean, and the service was friendly and nice.

The hotel was close to all the sites we wanted to see in Albany, as well as great restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SethandAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear SethandAnn, It is nice to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and loved your room selection. We have a great team and your review reinforces that. We want all our guests to feel comfortable and at home. Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to review your recent stay. We do hope that you choose to stay with us when traveling to the area. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Latham
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
0.1 mi away
The Desmond Hotel Albany
3.6 mi away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham

Property: Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham
Address: 254 Wolf Road, Latham, NY 12110-4805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Latham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Latham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Latham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Affordable Luxury at the New Hotel Indigo in Albany, New York The Hotel Indigo Albany - Latham is a sophisticated, Full-service hotel near the Albany International Airport (ALB), providing a complimentary shuttle to the airport. Our boutique hotel in Latham, NY is ideal for travelers who desire an oasis to escape from the ordinary, but value the traditional hospitality & services of a standard hotel. Our luxury Albany, NY accommodations offer convenient access to area attractions such as the Saratoga Race Course, Joe Bruno Stadium and the Times Union Center in downtown Albany. Our hotel is near premiere shopping spots including the Colonie Center Mall & upscale, downtown shopping on Pearl, Broadway and Lark Streets. Situated just north of Albany, our upscale hotel in Latham, NY offers close proximity to corporations in the Wolf Road Business District as well as Rensselaer Polytech, GE, the Albany Medical Center and various government offices. We also offer 1,200 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, free high-speed, Wi-Fi Internet access and well-appointed rooms with modern decor that are an oasis for the business traveler to Albany. While lodging at our pet friendly hotel in Albany, we hope you take advantage of our 24-hour fitness center and sauna, Golden Bean coffee shop, and our Blu Stone Bistro and Bar. For the best in luxury Albany accommodations, choose the new Hotel Indigo in beautiful Albany, NY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Latham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing