We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Latham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Doing a huge college tour through PA and NY this week and have stayed at many different hotels throughout our trip.
Booked this hotel through Hotwire, and was so, so pleasantly surprised. My husband and I had adjoining rooms with my two teenagers. We had a king, my children had two queens, and we all raved about the beds and how well we slept. Rooms had everything we needed. The included breakfast was Superior to most other hotels. Nicely laid out, real plates and silverware and linen napkins. Eggs were perfect, not too dry and not too runny. Along with sausage, perfect pancakes, bagels, yogurts, fruit, cereal, etc. really nothing missing, and a nice server clearing plates and being very attentive.
We had dinner at the tavern next door, part of the restaurant. What a nice evening. Cozy, warm lighting, wonderful service, fireplace...the food was delicious!!! My husband had just about the best onion soup we have ever tasted. All of our meals were very tasty. Well worth it, and very convenient.
And last but not least.... from check in to check out, every staff member we encountered was just so friendly and nice. Including the manager in the morning whom invited us back if we are in the area again. If my daughter ends up going to college in the area, I would not hesitate for a second staying here again.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank liktrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I share all reviews and feedback from our guests with the entire staff and they join me in thanking you for your kind words and positive feedback. Our goal is to create a memorable experience, and offer a clean, friendly environment to all our guests. To hear we achieved that goal serves as encouragement to all of our staff. It is my hope that your stay with us has helped in making a decision on a college and upstate New York would be the choice. The team of Clarion at The Century House looks forward to your return visit!
Kind Regards
Nancy Martori-Cole
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

Picked up by hotel manager at the airport. Good start. Hotel has old fashioned feel and look, but mostly in a good way. Great king room, with fridge and microwave. Free WiFi. Great furniture and fixtures, very comfortable bed and bedding. TV on the small side but adequate. Limited channel availability. Used room service from the restaurant downstairs. Service was excellent, food was average. Free breakfast was excellent in a classy room. Only down side for the stay was very thin walls in the room which I could hear every word said by my neighbors.

Room Tip: No elevators so stay on ground floor if you can't walk up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZMelzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank your for review of your recent stay with us, we really appreciate you taking the time to write it! It was a pleasure meeting you. I really enjoyed our conversation regarding our participation with the Regional Food Bank of Northeastern NY and how our guests help provide a meal for someone in need by staying or enjoying a meal in our restaurant. We have just surpassed 450,000 meals thru our Enjoy One Share One Program and it is with help..
Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Best Regards
Nancy Martori-Cole
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We were traveling for Thanksgiving and had a reservation at the adjoining Century House restaurant for our Thanksgiving meal. We liked the decor and atmosphere of the hotel. Our room was quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was very good and we greatly appreciated the hotel staff allowing us a late checkout of 3 PM. The only thing that we didn't like was the double bed instead of a queen.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Traveling2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for your review of your Thanksgiving stay with us. Our goal is to create a memorable experience. Having a comfortable atmosphere and reliable service is fundamental to our business. I am always happy to hear that someone not only stayed with us but also enjoyed a meal at The Century House Restaurant. By staying and enjoying a meal with us, we have in your honor, provided meals thru the Regional Food Bank of Northeastern NY and our Enjoy One Share One Program to someone in need in our community.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Best Regards,
Nancy Martori-Cole
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Courteous staffer picked me up at (late-arriving) train for free trip to the hotel. Excellent dinner in quaint associated restaurant. Clean, comfortable room. Unique and wonderful 1/2 mile nature trail, on which I worked up an appetite for a good breakfast. The manager honored a (mistaken) commitment made to transport me gratis from hotel to my Albany mtg. Nancy arranged to pay for a cab, but due to a sudden snowstorm, it never came. So she drove me herself through a declared Albany snow emergency!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiergirlBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

What a great review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write it! Our goal is to create a memorable experience, and offer a clean, safe, and friendly environment to all of our guests. I was happy you were able to take advantage of all our property has to offer, restaurant and our 1/2 mile nature trail.We know you have many choices and we appreciate you choosing us, Thank you again for your review, please visit us again soon!
Kind Regards
Nancy Martori-Cole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Regular Clarion that is "dressed up" as it's connected to a nice restaurant.

Antiques in the lobby that is in back and turn of the century prints throughout. Hotel staff was a bit goofy, but generally nice. Had to physically check to see if room had been cleaned. No bell service/help with bags which is difficult getting them up the stairs to the entrance. Coffee and cookies available all day in the lobby. Breakfast is very good, waitstaff is outstanding.

Rooms are nice, pillow top mattress, big screen tv with comfortable easy chair. Cable tv service was a little spotty and wifi was a little slow. Bed has square, not standard pillows. Hairs on one of the pillows and sheets were wrinkled. Nice desk and spacious room.

Overall a pretty nice stay expect for the shower head that is "Seinfeld" low-flow. Would not stay here again solely because of this. I could not shave my legs during my stay because there was simply was not enough water, could barely rinse my hair. Towels were on the small side and the only toiletries are generic shampoo, conditioner and lotion. Had to make a run for body wash. Stayed on the first floor and could hear people walking upstairs.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor! Ask about your shower head!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yyyzzz111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us.
I am sorry for the experience you had with the water pressure in the shower. We very much appreciate and value your feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Kind Regards
Nancy Martori-Cole
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The room was clean and tasteful. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. We dined one evening at the restaurant and were very impressed - food very nicely prepared, servers were attentive and professional. There's a 1/2-mile walking trail behind the parking lot for joggers, as well as a fitness room with weights and treadmills. The Tues/Thurs free wine and cheese "happy hour" was a nice and classy touch. Overall, we found this an excellent place to stay in the Albany area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highland210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are also pleased you were able to explore our entire property and to take part in our Manager's reception which takes place every Tuesday and Thursday in our Lobby. This is one of the ways we thank our guests for staying with us and helping give back to the community thru our Enjoy One Share One Program which provides a meal for someone in need, as we partner with The Northeast Regional Food Bank.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Kind Regards
Nancy Martori-Cole
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Easy to get to. Nice rooms and amenities. Wifi was adequate and free. Complimentary breakfast was adequate. My only gripe was the lack of outlets in the room to plug in the laptops, cell phones and other gadgets. Had to use the bathroom for some extra outlets. Otherwise recommend for a good night's sleep for very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon772009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M, Manager at The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank your for your review of your recent stay. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Best Regards
Nancy Martori-Cole
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Latham
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Airport
3.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Albany-Latham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Latham Albany Airport
1.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Latham Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 997 New Loudon Road, (Route 9), Latham, NY 12110 (Formerly Clarion Hotel at the Century House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Latham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Latham
#4 Business Hotel in Latham
Price Range: £68 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Latham
Clarion Hotel The Century
Latham Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing