We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Karavalli

Karavalli
Ranked #8 of 146 Restaurants in Latham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Albany, New York, United States
1 review
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Delicious Indian food and probably only good restaurant in Albany to serve good Indian food. I have been here with Family and Friends and every one love this place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Praveen_Prasanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    41
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Please donate for Karavalli. They need it to improve their service. Pathetic to say the least !!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is my first ever review and I m writing it just to highlight the first impression that I got when I call this restaurant. I called in and asked for the menu and I was told in a rude voice that they "have lot of items on the buffet and all the item names cannot be told over phone". I totally understand that, but I guess the tone that he was speaking to me came from their perception that they have several patrons and 1-2 such rude shoo offs won't make any difference.

Well I was planning to visit Karavalli since few of my friends have been raving about it, but certainly not now.

Deepak

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants where I had authentic Indian food”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Had lunch Saturday. It was a buffet. There were so many varieties of items that could not even try all of them. All the items were tasty. I specially loved the South indian delicacies. will be there again soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sourav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Endwell, New York, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Excellent vegan options. Chana Saag is excellent. Vegetable speciality is great. They will make any dish to order.


Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best buffet you've never tried.”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The Indian dishes here are quite good, but the star is the Lunch Buffet, especially on weekends.

I have tried seven (7) different Indian/Pakistani buffets.

This is the only one that "makes my mouth water" just thinking about it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZenMaster_Flash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Karavalli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing