We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin camping”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laurens
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gilbert Lake State Park
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This was a first time camping trip for my wife and pre teen daughter so I booked a 4 night stay in the only cabin available the week before Labor Day weekend. The check in went somewhat smoothly (Desk person forgot to give me the cabin key) and with park map in hand found our cabin.The cabin consisted of a entry kitchen (small 4 burner gas stove,sink[cold water only], apartment size fridge, storage pantry, 1 electrical outlet [we charged all our electronic devices on it],overhead light bulb and plastic trash pail. The "living room" consists of a fireplace [no damper] with screen, 6foot table with 2 benches and 2 chairs, chair and metal framed single bed w/double mattress [an extra frame was stored in the porch] and a single ceiling bulb. The two small bedrooms consisted of #1 had 2 single beds and a dresser and #2 had a full size bed and a night stand with each having a ceiling light [no electrical outlets]. The bedrooms have screened windows with shades. Then there is the screened in porch separated by glass doors from the living room that had a exterior screen door[slide bolt lock] that had a 2 person wooden bench seat and a chair plus the kicker[at least for us] was the toilet in a stall[ tp was supplied] located on the porch (my wife didn't think it was as funny as I did). Keep in mind we were in an unrenovated cabin so I can't speak for the ones that were updated. Outside we had a picnic table and benches with a firepit that had a metal grill that covered half if you were to use it. We also brought our dog [first for him also to be away from home with the family]. The grounds were clean and well kept (kudos to the maintenance crew as there were very few trash receptacles through out the park). We had taken our showers at one of the campsite shower/restrooms(mens was fairly clean,women's {according to my wife] wasn't so clean with hair on the walls and drains and this was mid afternoon). Hot water was limited but sufficient as the water was dispensed in 45 second bursts through the showerhead after pressing a button. The lake ( water 65 degrees) was beautiful as was the beach which also had a picnic area . Lifeguards were on the beach and on a floating dock where people could dive into the 14 foot deep water. The water was divided into three sections, as the water got deeper, by line buoys. There is a concession ( typical beach food and ice cream plus beach toys and bait for the fishermen out there) area with tables. There are restrooms with showers and a small museum featuring photos,tools and stuffed animals[no, not the carnival kind,LOL] from the area. Kayaks and rowboat rentals (cheap) were available. They had a movie night at one of the pavilions (Tangled) at which viewers were given bottled water and popcorn (my wife and daughter gave it a thumbs up even though they've seen the movie before). There were trails throughout the park which were clearly marked. Keep in mind for you first timers there is no wifi,no tv or radio and no cell service or very, very limited. We (OK ,I had fun) had fun as far as a first time "camping" experience but my daughter who is attached to her ipod ,thought it was boring as the water was too cold for her to go swimming but after a 1 1/2 mile hike with me and the pooch she was done with that..... but if you are looking for a nice relaxing outdoorsy type of experience I recommend this park.

Room Tip: bring bed linens/pillows, ask about the renovated cabins and locations in relation to beach and show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank liguy631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Gilbert Lake State Park is a very picturesque park near Oneonta. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the grounds were very clean. Cabins were nice. Some have been newly renovated. They only have cold running water and a toilet in the cabin but there are shower facilities that have hot running water. They are also kept pretty clean. The lake is also very clean. Lifeguards are on duty. Great for kids! Renting boats is very inexpensive. It's $5 an hour for row boats and $10 for kayaks. Bait and tackle available for fishing. Concession stand has many available food items and snacks for a very reasonable price. Nice hiking trails too. Overall it was a good time for someone who isn't used to camping!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GinaNY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We camped here at site 52 in a fifth wheel from 7/25-7/29. The sites don't have a lot of privacy but this was an end spot so there was more privacy than most spots. The open grassy area across the road was great for the kids to play and the road was well-maintained so it was great for bikes and scooters! The lake was BEAUTIFUL! We fished and swam - did drive to it because that would have been quite a hike with all of our stuff! Deer were everywhere! Fellow campers (though there were few) were very friendly. Staff was quite helpful. Surrounding area is very scenic and we drove to Cooperstown for a day trip (about 30 minutes). Kids didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Familyvacationmom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My fiance and I camped here for July 4th weekend (4 days). It was our first time camping by ourselves since usually we bring friends along. We didn't have high hopes because the reviews were iffy and we booked online three days prior when EVERY other campground was full. We were SO pleasantly surprised!

The grounds are beautiful -- everything was very clean including the bathrooms. We were on site 179 which with the recent heavy rain had developed a small creek. Staff was very accomodating and let us move to the next site over which was dry. The sites were easy to back a trailer in and weren't too small for us (typically with friends we just book extra sites for room anyway). We were on the farthest loop from the lake in a lovely stand of pine. We had so much fun just biking around, the campground is HUGE! It had a swingset and horseshoes at every loop, volleyball nets, a disc golf course, a large open field for parties, bathroom/showers and a dumpster at every loop, and an easily accessible dump site with water access to fill the trailer. While the beach was far, we enjoyed riding bikes to it and taking the truck when we wanted to get there a little faster. Parking was available next to the water for boaters to unload the boats; you then had to drive up and park in the regular lot but it wasn't a big deal. Trails are everywhere and the camp was not crowded-feeling at all! I will say the hilltop campsites appeared to be the worst, they were basically just marked off in a field. We enjoyed fireworks in Oneonta (a short drive) and got to see some exotic pets on Saturday and they had facepainting for children. A concession stand was open late along with the beach which was open later than some other parks are. All in all, we loved it! We will definitely be bringing friends again.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a drive to the beach pick anything in the loops farthest from it, all of these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate47929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We booked our site from Online..........when we arrived the girl checking us in was not friendly or helpful....we needed to ask how to get to the site......where the water was and where to dump. When we arrived at our site 52.........IT WAS SO TINY!!!! No place to enjoy our site at all! There are only 12 sites with electric... all the sites are on top of each other.........beach was great but so far away and the parking for the beach was a distance away as well. We have kayaks and wanted to put them in the water but had to carry them way to far to put them in. We will NEVER camp there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Don't stay in 017 very old not update at all,dirty bathroom,writeing on all the room walls ,back pouch door does not lock,so you sleep with it open.no hot water .black ants beds are old.room can not be lock.poor clean.make sure that you ask them am I get a cabin that is update.before you pay.

Room Tip: make sure you find out if the cabin is up date,also make sure you have a full tank of gas before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Because we procrastinated, we could not find campsites in any of the parks we usually frequent. Now I know why this park had plenty of available sites. The sites are extremely small and there is no privacy whatsoever. There are plenty of trees but no undergrowth to separate one site from the next. The only way you know where your site begins and ends in a white line painted on the road. Once we had our pop-up and screen house in place, we had trouble getting our car parked so that it did not stick out into the road. We were annoyed every night by an RV running a generator from 6-9pm. That meant hearing it all through dinner and also when sitting by the campfire. We took a ride through the cabin section and that looked much nicer. The lake itself is very pretty and the bathrooms were fairly well maintained. However, we will never go back. We live in a very populated area and go camping to get away from crowds.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank NYsassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gilbert Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilbert Lake State Park

Address: 18 CCC Rd, Laurens, NY 13796-1206
Region: United States > New York > Laurens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Laurens
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Gilbert Lake State Park Hotel Laurens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing