We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Overlook Mansion
Ranked #1 of 4 Little Falls B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My wife and I had a reunion at the Overlook along with 8 friends and relatives and we basically had the whole place to ourselves. Jim, the innkeeper was always available but otherwise we didn't see any staff. Though a little worn on the outside, the mansion is beautifully fixed up on the inside with a lot of attention on details of the bedrooms and bathrooms. I was particularly taken with the gleaming tilework in the shared bath. The star of the show, though, is the view, which commands the postcard-perfect town of Little Falls on the banks of the Mohawk River. If you appreciate the history of this area, it's even better, as you can imagine yourself as DH Burrell, watching over his empire back when Little Falls exported cheese around the world. When we were there, we could only look out the many enormous windows, but we hope to return when it's warmer so we can sit out on the porches.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

We needed a place to stay in order to take care of some family business, and we found this is a very welcoming haven. The accommodations were comfortable and beautiful and the inkeeper was incredibly warm and gracious. The restaurant recommendation for dinner was spot-on. We can't wait to return over the summer as the inn is in a great place for active outdoor activities and day trips - rock climbing 5 minutes away, or driving a little further to visit the many wonderful areas of the Adirondacks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

One of the best experiences we have had. Jim, the inkeeper was awesome. The rooms were very clean. The food was fresh and tasty. The view spectacular. Wish we didn't have to leave! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms were incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My husband was looking for a special place to stay when we were on a road trip through the east coast visiting cities and towns we have heard of but never been. When he found this place on hotels.com he showed me the pictures and it looked nice. When we got there the pictures didn't do it justice. Fantastic view, historic mansion, and loads of charm. And Jim the innkeeper is the best! Friendly, knowledgeable, and great conversation.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My husband suprised me for my 30 th birthday and when I got there it was breath taking! The Staff are amazing ! They have the most beautiful veiw, all of the wood, brick, fireplaces and flooring is all original the way it should be. The bed we slept on was one of the most comfortable we have slept on . The only downfall about this review is that we can't give the overlook mansion and the wonderful staff more than five stars. The breakfast was fast and made all fresh. The veiw was amazing from our balcony suite and we can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joshe_19833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

After reading reviews we were expecting something special and we were not disappointed. One of the most memorable B & B's we have ever stayed at - and we have seen a few! Although it was just a stopover between Boston and Niagara, both the town of Little Falls NY and the Overlook Mansion exceeded our expectations. Very charming and lots of character in this late 19th century house. Room was very spacious, comfortably warm and with great attention to detail. We were concerned before arriving that the bathroom was not an en-suite in our room, but there was no problem with access and it had modern amenities with an old fashioned interior design - which we loved. Jim the host was more than helpful with our queries and cooked up a fine hot breakfast. We have already recommended this place to family and friends and it is an ideal weekender from Boston / NYC.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have an en-suite. If its really important to you, please double check before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muffymuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

What an awesome place to stay in New York! We choose to stay here for our National Baseball Hall of Fame trip for my husband's birthday, and couldn't have picked a better place! Bed was so comfy, the whole place was incredibly clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. All around outstanding. Enjoyed our stay very much! Thanks so much.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask the guys at desk for restaurant recommendations. We ate at PK's and was soooo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotographerVikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Falls
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Little Falls
Travelodge Little Falls
#1 of 1 in Little Falls
248 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
753 reviews
18.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
24.3 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 16 in Cooperstown
887 reviews
7.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Overlook Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Overlook Mansion

Address: 55 Douglas St, Little Falls, NY 13365-1211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Little Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Little Falls
Price Range: £104 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Overlook Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a hill overlooking the city of Little Falls in Herkimer County,is the historic Overlook Mansion.Built in 1889, the Overlook Mansion was designed in Richardsonian Romanesque style by architect Archimedes Russell for inventor David H. Burrell.The Overlook Mansion has 3 stories containing 26 rooms. A large porch offers a spectacular, breathtaking view, day and night, of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Overlook Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing