We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a special unique experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Overlook Mansion
Ranked #1 of 4 Little Falls B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A step back in time, all for the better. Excellent views. Exceptional personal service in a non-pretentious or over-bearing way.

The place is rich with history and should be an historic landmark. If it's haunted, I didn't find it to be a problem!

Room Tip: Call ahead and speak to Jim. He'll take care of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

My husband and I stayed with you last night. Our visit was exceptional. The architecture is amazing. The room was comfortable. The host made us feel very welcome. Great breakfast by the way! There is no traffic. My husband says it was one of the most relaxing places he has ever been. We recommend that you let the host give you a tour. He is very easy to talk with and has a wealth of knowledge about the mansion that he is willing to share. We will definitely stay here again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely but we choose the Turret room because it has a little enclosed porch tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Loved the house,the view in the morning, the woodwork is spectacular, the rooms stylish and comfortable. Cant say enough about the house and Jim ( our inn keep, cook, and caretaker) he would give you the world to make your stay enjoyable.

Breakfast was out of this world, Jim can do wonders in the kitchen.

Took my parents there and when my dad was asked how his visit was, his answer...AWESOME, I have never heard my dad use that word to decribe any trip, and he's 75!

Looking forward to going back in the fall to see the colors, or maybe the masquerade ball, but im definitely going back!

Room Tip: There all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My wife and I had a reunion at the Overlook along with 8 friends and relatives and we basically had the whole place to ourselves. Jim, the innkeeper was always available but otherwise we didn't see any staff. Though a little worn on the outside, the mansion is beautifully fixed up on the inside with a lot of attention on details of the bedrooms and bathrooms. I was particularly taken with the gleaming tilework in the shared bath. The star of the show, though, is the view, which commands the postcard-perfect town of Little Falls on the banks of the Mohawk River. If you appreciate the history of this area, it's even better, as you can imagine yourself as DH Burrell, watching over his empire back when Little Falls exported cheese around the world. When we were there, we could only look out the many enormous windows, but we hope to return when it's warmer so we can sit out on the porches.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We needed a place to stay in order to take care of some family business, and we found this is a very welcoming haven. The accommodations were comfortable and beautiful and the inkeeper was incredibly warm and gracious. The restaurant recommendation for dinner was spot-on. We can't wait to return over the summer as the inn is in a great place for active outdoor activities and day trips - rock climbing 5 minutes away, or driving a little further to visit the many wonderful areas of the Adirondacks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

One of the best experiences we have had. Jim, the inkeeper was awesome. The rooms were very clean. The food was fresh and tasty. The view spectacular. Wish we didn't have to leave! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms were incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My husband was looking for a special place to stay when we were on a road trip through the east coast visiting cities and towns we have heard of but never been. When he found this place on hotels.com he showed me the pictures and it looked nice. When we got there the pictures didn't do it justice. Fantastic view, historic mansion, and loads of charm. And Jim the innkeeper is the best! Friendly, knowledgeable, and great conversation.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Falls
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Little Falls
Travelodge Little Falls
#1 of 1 in Little Falls
250 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
756 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
16.2 mi away
The Lake House
The Lake House
#4 of 4 in Richfield Springs
169 reviews
24.5 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Overlook Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Overlook Mansion

Address: 55 Douglas St, Little Falls, NY 13365-1211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Little Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Little Falls
Price Range: £103 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Overlook Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a hill overlooking the city of Little Falls in Herkimer County,is the historic Overlook Mansion.Built in 1889, the Overlook Mansion was designed in Richardsonian Romanesque style by architect Archimedes Russell for inventor David H. Burrell.The Overlook Mansion has 3 stories containing 26 rooms. A large porch offers a spectacular, breathtaking view, day and night, of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Overlook Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing