We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, OK food”

Il Bacco Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Little Neck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Monroe Township, NJ
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Service, OK food”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I went to this restaurant to celebrate the 96th birthday of a friends mother. It was totally unplanned. They were so incredibly accommodating. Valet parking was terrific especially since the birthday girl is extremely physically challenged. They sat us at the nearest table to the bar so she didn't have to walk far and whisked away the walker so we could all be comfortable. They don't rush you and are very nice. That being said I wish the food was a little better. Calamari was bland and not crispy. Two of our party said their shrimp were over cooked. I had the bronzini special which was good but not great. I added a fourth star simply because of the fantastic service especially by the valets who were so patient getting my friends mom back in the car.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RockOn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    37
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
252 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Il Bacco- the food, ambiance, service...That's Amore!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Il Bacco is a gorgeous, family friendly luxe restaurant in Douglaston. Joe the owner, and GM
Mauritzio are super attentive to their "guests" needs! This restaurant because of its layout and design has 3 floors including rooftop dining and dancing when the weather is warm. Small and Large parties are a specialty of the house, and it is not unusual for weddings, political meetings,
anniversaries and sporting events all are handled beautifully in this gorgeous venue.
Highly recommended for people and children of all ages who like fun, great food, and a fab atmosphere. Love it, each and every time I am there..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Don't bother going to Manhattan for an excellent Italian meal”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We went on a Thursday night. We were early and the valet parked our car. You can park on the street at 7 - so at 7 the restaurant became very lively and full but a very pleasant clientele. There is definitely a group of regulars but they are very welcoming.

The service can't be beat, even when one if us had dietary restrictions.

The food was excellent!

Great place for dinner, romantic or just friends.

Can't wait for warm weather - the rooftop tables and bar will be like a trip to Italy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VBCinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Gem in Little Neck”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We went on a Saturday evening, four of us and were seated within 10 minutes [no reservations for parties less than 6]. The servers have been there for a long time and were very helpful in explaining the menu and the daily specials [they even repeated them!]. We never felt rushed. The food would come and presented with little flourish. Food would seamlessly come and go. Conversations were easy and overall very pleasant experience. The food was great! Baked clams came out hot and delicious! We all had the same special...lobster [1 1/2lb] with shrimp in a scrumptious sauce for a very reasonable $25.95. The food came out hot and the lobster cut up. Coffee, cappuccino, and dessert rounded out this excellent meal. There is also valet parking or street parking.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
252 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“An Exquisite Taste of Italy- Il Bacco”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I reviewed Il Bacco a few years ago before they moved to their current magnificent new venue.
At that time I was impressed with the food and service but less than impressed with the the older venue.
I can only say that I was "blown away by the absolutely stunning "new" 3 story building that Il Bacco now occupies. Il Bacco now has three beautiful floors for elegant/fun dining, catering and roof top dining and dancing. Gorgeous woods, a luxe elevator with a view of northern boulevard, and a fabulous open air roof deck are simply fantastic. What has always made Il Bacco Special is the warmth and charm of Joe the owner and Mauritzio the GM. They combine charm, energy and charisma.
The food at Il Bacco is traditional Italian in large portions and served by a highly professional wait staff. Loved the bruschetta, crabcakes, and assorted pastas as well as the caesar salad, veal chop and fabulous desserts. Dining at Il Bacco is like taking a magical trip to Italy!
Highly recommended for dining and catering.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Bacco Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Great Neck, Long Island
 
Great Neck, Long Island
 

Been to Il Bacco Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing